Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Stephen Ireland pulls out of squad

Quote Originally Posted by Claret Murph View Post
    Shame really , I would have been right behind him and I am sure thousands would have been the same .
    That's exactly the point Claret.......he's now put himself in a position to be slaughtered by any Irish fan ( who feels that way inclined ) every time he sets foot on the pitch.!...........stupid boy!........not you, but him!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

130 Posts
    What the hell is wrong with this guy? Surely there has to be more to this than meets the eye?
    He's an embarrassment to the team and the country

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    "We together have left no stone unturned in our efforts to convince him he has so much to offer his country and that international football will greatly benefit his long term career.

That's the bit I'd be worried about. It sounds as if he doesn't want to play unfortunately if they are trying to convince him that he has a lot to offer.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

Just a thought....you don't think Stephen Ireland is "SCRAM" who posted a thread on Fan's Forum "BOYCOTT remaining games"....?
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Alex Bruce, Ireland's natural replacement, called up instead.

I guess Liam Miller is on standby as centre-back!

I can't tell if you're joking or not Stutts because that is something that Stan would do and has done plenty of times. It's a bit sad really when you think about it!
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

To me it seems like it might be a falling out with Stan. Can't see any other reason why he wouldn't play.

Quote Originally Posted by mackannovic View Post
    Can't see any other reason why he wouldn't play.
    He has no real interest in international football. Obvious from his underage strops...

this is a disgrace..he is a joker, he is obviously well enough to be playing very well for city..something has to be up, stan must have said something, no one would have abused him
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

36 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse View Post
    I can't tell if you're joking or not Stutts because that is something that Stan would do and has done plenty of times. It's a bit sad really when you think about it!

More like injured keeper Wayne Henderson would be his choice

If he is that fragile i cant see how he can play for us in the future when he probably will recieve a negative reaction. Ah well we are better off without him if he is going to act like this.

Lads this guy really is taking the michael! Thats just plain ridiculous. He's playing great stuff for city at the moment but unfortunately he's one of the stupidest footballers around, the lad's really lucky he's got bag loads of talent otherwise he'd be drawing the dole! Needs to sort his head out - i'll welcome him back eventually but this will only tarnish his reputation, he'll have to build alot of bridges.

yeah maybe but he is our top scorer in this campaign..we could really do with Hunt in this game as well...
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    yeah maybe but he is our top scorer in this campaign..we could really do with Hunt in this game as well...
    You're not still thinking about this campaign, are you?!

Strange one this? Maybe he simply doesn't want to spend time away from his girlfriend! After all if your get f****d this weekend it might as well be by your missus rather than a bunch of big hairy German blokes!

Don't think the fans would have given him a hard time at all but you can be sure they won't be too happy now. He looked like he played really well for City at the weekend too. He's slowly burning his bridges here. A real pity as we need every good player we have. Unfortunately the lad seems to be a few sandwiches short of a picnic.

38 Posts
    It sounds to me like Ireland is a more than a little bit mentally unstable, anyone reckon he hears little voices in his head? Sound to me like he has a severe case of paranoia. Difficult to see how he can re-ignite his International career after this. Only if he comes out in the future and shows that he has sought professional help to overcome his personality disorder and is chomping at the bit to make up for lost time and do well for his country.

2,796 Posts
    He seems like a total and utter eejit alright. What the hell is he worried about?

........and now he's called up Alex Bruce??????????

To be completely honest nothing suprises me anymore with this joke of a campaign. It's like a child picking out the first players he sees in his sticker album that have an Irish flag beside them.

Joey O'Brien
    Alex Bruce
    Jonathon Douglas
    Alan O'Brien

These lads shouldn't be in the squad at all.

Quote Originally Posted by Irish_Praha View Post
    It sounds to me like Ireland is a more than a little bit mentally unstable, anyone reckon he hears little voices in his head? Sound to me like he has a severe case of paranoia. Difficult to see how he can re-ignite his International career after this. Only if he comes out in the future and shows that he has sought professional help to overcome his personality disorder and is chomping at the bit to make up for lost time and do well for his country.
    Yes I believe he is unstable. He has been helped by the club in relation to this before so one part of me says leave him alone. However a bigger part of me says how can he play for Man City during this turbulant time for him. IMHO that should be the end of his international career in that he is letting down his team mates again. He is unreliable and he is always going to be.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Back on topic...
    I remember at the time when Ireland was breaking thru at city and everyone vilified Kerr for falling out with him at underage, and used it as another reason why they thought Kerr wasnt up to international mgt....
    The lad doesnt seem right in the head at all and id say its only bcoz of Eriksson's softly softly approach that he's still at Man City at all. a kick up the backside is what the lad needs.
    "if I close my eyes, its not illegal...."

Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast