Thread: This should have been a great week

stan is a buffoon, a caricature, almost cartoon like...oh oh spaghettio..............Jaysus lads how did the FAI let it get to this the whole board should be sacked
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

And its only gonna get bloody worse. Even if we lost to Germany im sure Delaney would come on the news and say the irish fans were dancing in the street in support of him. I llok forward to the day that smug cnut is gone.... world class manager my arse

Quote Originally Posted by Cymro View Post
    I would disagree. Germany one or two excellent players and a good squad. You have one or two excellent players, three or four good ones and a largely average squad.
    That's a fair assesment although IMO Odonkor and a few others are also. You seem to have misinterpreted my point slightly Cymro. I said there was no reason why we couldn't be the same as the Germans if we had the right set up. I wasn't trying to say we are as good as them now although player for player from 1-11 we are not a million miles away IMO.

I was trying to say that we should be. It's not all Stan's fault but a large proportion is. The squad don't know whether they are coming or going with him and his squad/team selections consistently defy any logic.

If we had a decent manager and backroom staff to lead the team properly and instill the right attitude then that would be worth a lot of points before a ball was kicked.

We have a home game on Saturday against a very good (but not top class) and well organised German team. Any decent manager would be hammering home to his players all week that he expects nothing less than a win. Getting the players psychologically ready is as important as getting them physically ready.

But I'd be fairly certain that the mindset of the players this week will be "I'll take a point" and that's because of the leadership and system that they are used to.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

36 Posts
    Who gives a feck even if we win (which will mean fai and staunton will have ample waffle now to out themselves in a goodlight)
    Draw - so what we are out anyways and home teams with 70000 can usually get a point especially since the Germans have qualified.
    Lose - "Building" "Building" "Building" kids , 2010 etc .....yea right
    2010 my anus - 4th or 5th in the group wouldnt suprise me or many of the supprters.

161 Posts
    Noely's Guitar did.

Also,

I would disagree. Germany one or two excellent players and a good squad. You have one or two excellent players, three or four good ones and a largely average squad.
    If we had beaten Cyprus and Slovakia away (both achievable with this squad)that would have seen us with 19 points. The Germans have 22. Staunton picked a bizarre team in Cyprus and left out Reid and Hunt against the Slovaks.. So this match would have been to see who topped the group (providing we would have one by more than 1 goal).
    Last edited by Noelys Guitar; 09/10/2007 at 3:42 PM.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    This match should have been to see who tops the group.
    Who leads the group as at Saturday night or who goes on to win the group? The way you wrote it I'd have assumed the latter.

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Who leads the group as at Saturday night or who goes on to win the group? The way you wrote it I'd have assumed the latter.
    Topped the group this coming Saturday. 3 points in Cyprus and a win in Slovakia would have injected real pressure into this game. I would suspect that the majority of people on here would have predicted a win in Cyprus. And the Slovaks have proved to be paper tigers so that should have been another win. And I blame both results on Stan's selection policy.

there is no hiding, stan cost us this campaign by pure incompetence
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

What have any of these players won outside of their own league?
    What have any of the Ireland squad won in any league?

3,500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveyCakes View Post
    What have any of the Ireland squad won in any league?
    Surely you are taking the p**s?

If we had beaten Cyprus and Slovakia away (both achievable with this squad)that would have seen us with 19 points. The Germans have 22. Staunton picked a bizarre team in Cyprus and left out Reid and Hunt against the Slovaks.. So this match would have been to see who topped the group (providing we would have one by more than 1 goal).
    Germany didn't beat Cyprus away, so why would you assume you would? As for Slovakia, they are just unpredictable. Yes they have been poor at times in this group but they've also got some very good results. People point out on here that we beat them 5-2 in Slovakia and cite that as a reason that you should have done the same, but those people forget that Slovakia also beat us 5-1 in Cardiff.

They are dire defensively but are well capable going forward and look dangerous on the attack. Frankly the 5-2 in Trnava flattered us even if the same was true for their win in Cardiff. Over the two games, there really wasn't anything in it.
    "Life is like a hair on a toilet seat. Sooner or later you are bound to get pi$$ed off."

"In this league, a draw is sometimes as good as a win" - Steve Morison

Talking So in a nutshell....

Germany didn't beat Cyprus away, so why would you assume you would? As for Slovakia, they are just unpredictable. Yes they have been poor at times in this group but they've also got some very good results. People point out on here that we beat them 5-2 in Slovakia and cite that as a reason that you should have done the same, but those people forget that Slovakia also beat us 5-1 in Cardiff.

They are dire defensively but are well capable going forward and look dangerous on the attack. Frankly the 5-2 in Trnava flattered us even if the same was true for their win in Cardiff. Over the two games, there really wasn't anything in it.
    What you are saying is, the Welsh and the Slovaks are both ****e.Lets go for two birds with the one stone in Cardiff, TOSHACK STAUNTON OUT OUT OUT!