Thread: Pubs for Saturday

Pubs for Saturday

considering the ko time for saturdays game, i reckon considerable beers will be had prior to the game.
    i myself will be heading down south by bus about lunchtime.
    going to give the fanfest a miss as location unsuitable for me. for the last games i hit the red parrot but wasnt much craic about. ended up in some local in summerhill after the slovakia game and had a good time. dunno the name of it, but is near the canal on the town side of the street.
    any suggestions for good venues in the vicinity of drumcondra?
    fancy a few songs to get in the mood for the game...

Quote Originally Posted by aidz1 View Post
    going to give the fanfest a miss as location unsuitable for me.
    why is it unsuitable? I'll be going to connolly station and plan to get a taxi up (as its only a couple of minutes away by taxi ).

Tbh since moving to croker ive abolutely hated it for prematch! Its absolute sh!te! Cant even have a can in peace with teh amount of guards crawling across the area - cant wait to get back to lansdowne and out of that biggot stadium!!
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Angry

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo View Post
    why is it unsuitable? I'll be going to connolly station and plan to get a taxi up (as its only a couple of minutes away by taxi ).

Tbh since moving to croker ive abolutely hated it for prematch! Its absolute sh!te! Cant even have a can in peace with teh amount of guards crawling across the area - cant wait to get back to lansdowne and out of that biggot stadium!!
    Biggot stadium!! im sure your a man who knows his history..
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Meeting Places for Home Matches

Great idea of soccerc for Ireland Germany Fan Fest. I will try to make it to it and meet with the Germans; the fans and the German people really treated us well last year in Stuttgart.

I think one of the reasons that there is a better atmosphere with Irish fans at away matches is that there are usually places such as squares etc to meet in the cities before matches - recent matches such as Stuttgart, Bratislava and Prague come to mind very easily but they have been in other cities.

Unfortunately there are no such places in Dublin where Irish fans can get together and generate a bit of pre match atmosphere which usually on the away matches carries on on the way to the stadiums and into the ground. There was no such place when Lansdowne Road was in use and none with Croker now. There's no place for away fans to get together either.

Can you imagine if, as away fans , the Irish supporters came to Dublin and there was no place for a meet up . All we have to go to are pubs spread out over a large area and with small groups making their way to the ground.
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Can someone tell me what exactly the FanFest is, and where it's on. There's 6 of us travelling up and wouldn't mind meeting up for drinks with ze Germans. And showing them a good sing song or two.

Quote Originally Posted by AidoM View Post
    Can you imagine if, as away fans , the Irish supporters came to Dublin and there was no place for a meet up . All we have to go to are pubs spread out over a large area and with small groups making their way to the ground.

I would have thought that Temple bar would be the place that fans would meet up. You have a square, albeit small, right in the middle of Temple Bar with a multitude of pubs all within staggering distance of each other. If the Irish were the 'away' fans in Dublin there's no doubt we would all congregate there.
    There'll be snow on that one.

Quote Originally Posted by Reddladd View Post
    I would have thought that Temple bar would be the place that fans would meet up. You have a square, albeit small, right in the middle of Temple Bar with a multitude of pubs all within staggering distance of each other. If the Irish were the 'away' fans in Dublin there's no doubt we would all congregate there.
    Can't imagine 3-5,000 fans congregating in Temple Bar Square there wouldn't be room to swing your leg at a football there
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

This country was not rich enough years ago to build big squares. I blame the British on this.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    Biggot stadium!! im sure your a man who knows his history..
    Did i offend ye dear

Parklife see the following thread for info on the fansfest http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=71176
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    This country was not rich enough years ago to build big squares. I blame the British on this.
    Dublin would be brutal for away fans. No central meeting point and bad public transport. Certainly not a money thing as regards squares though, more a cultural thing and, while I'm in favour of blaming them for everything from the famine to the dodgy pint I had last Saturday, you cant blame the Brits. They were generally the only ones to build squares in towns in Ireland ie Westport,Birr etc.
    <insert witty remark>

Kickabout in Stephens Green then. If we don't have squares we can do a park!

reder
    How many Germans are travelling? The fanfest is a great idea. Baggot St and Jury had a good buzz about them on matchday. CP area has been pathetic for pre-match drinks. Cant wait to get away from the place.

CP area has been pathetic for pre-match drinks. Cant wait to get away from the place.
    Dont let your anti all things GAA and croke park get in the way. Pre match pints up round that way are way better, ye have loads all so close to eachother and the stadium....

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Dont let your anti all things GAA and croke park get in the way. Pre match pints up round that way are way better, ye have loads all so close to eachother and the stadium....
    Much better than rubbing shoulders with those D4 oiks with their Pimms and their Chardonnay!
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

I miss cans at the spar shop near lansdowne

jurys croker is grand and handy for the game, good beer garden aswell
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    jurys croker is grand and handy for the game, good beer garden aswell
    A tad bit expensive though, if I recall correctly.

Quote Originally Posted by KildareRed View Post
    I miss cans at the spar shop near lansdowne
    And bottles of fat frogs!
    happy days!
    low lie the fields of Bishopstown......

Quote Originally Posted by Reddladd View Post

1988, The Plaza outside the Cathedral in Cologne. The Friday before we played Holland and the Danes were revving up for their match with Italy that night. Couple of thousand Paddies and Danes belting it out

"jawohl, jawohl, jawohl, we'll drink the alcohol. We couldn't drink the vaser so we'll drink the alcohol, jawohl, jawohl, jawohl." At it for hours and on the tram to their game that night.

Just thought I'd throw that in. I'm sure all of us who've travelled will know what we're missing in Dublin pre match.
    "Look at them. They're all out of step except my son Johnny"
    Mrs. Delaney

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo View Post

Isn't it awful. You can't sit on your bench and drink your 1euro can of Dutch gold in peace. That pesky bigoted stadium. The bain of your life.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.