Thread: Relegation?

22 Posts
    We need all nine points to have a chance I think.

They need five points from Drogs and Galway at home and Rovers away. Tough on paper but you never know what sort of a mood Drogheda will be in now, or what Rovers will be like on the last day of the season if they're out of the hunt for second place.

What's the craic with Mooney for tomorrow? He didn't look too clever limping off on Friday.

hard to know with mooney at the moment. ever since the interest in mooney escalated mooney is not playin for the team at the moment. he reminds me very much of a certain irish forward...

its still achievable but the bohs match is a tough one to call as bohs are on fire at the moment since they lost the league cup final. all we can do is try to go for three wins and see what happens. first season of the premiership oldham won their last three games and overtook the team below them and they stayed up ... you never know the key is to have no more suspensions and injuries..

3 points agains Bray tomorrow night is a must. What time is kick-off anyone know?

think the kick off is at 7.30 pm but i could be wrong.. there is nothin on the clubs website will know definitely tommorrow..

41 Posts
    Whatever the outcome, i think Alan Matthews and the players have done brilliantly this season. I thought our relegation would have been sealed with about 10 or 12 matches still left to play the way things were going. To keep the season alive this long, not to mention another cup semi, has been some achivement.

will matthews stay on next season?

22 Posts
    I'd be amazed. But then I was amazed that he didn't walk when the deduction came in. Most other managers would.

If he does go, Vinny Perth has my vote.

47 Posts
    To say im nervous is an understatement. Few swift pints and off to the match.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

a very poor game tonight, but 3 points were imperative. and ye got them, well done. ye were under the cosh for the last half hour, although bray only created about 2 real chances. a few half chances aswell, a draw was probably fair, but a good win none the less

Never say die spirit in that team, demonstrated big time in the last 3 games. Still odds very much against us with Bohs away, with 5 wins on the spin, a very big ask. What we'd give to still be in the hunt when Derry come to Town! Really need Drogs and Derry to do us a favour Friday night.

You know what happened the last time we asked Derry for a favour!! Also lads Bray are not out of it. If we win both our games and bray lose both theirs we leapfrog them. Thats why they wanted something from last nights game

Quote Originally Posted by Sonic View Post
    You know what happened the last time we asked Derry for a favour!! Also lads Bray are not out of it. If we win both our games and bray lose both theirs we leapfrog them. Thats why they wanted something from last nights game
    We are most certianly not out of it yet ! anything from last nights game and we would have been pretty much home and dry. Squeeky bum time

we should have taken something from the game but scoring has been a real problem for us all season.

We have 2 tough remaining games.

Drogheda - Away
    Sligo - Home

A win in either of those games would see us safe, i'd be looking at the Sligo game... but football's a funny old game as we all know. Very tense few weeks coming up.

drogs will want to win that one with the cup being presented that night.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Lets hope Dessie gets on to Ritchie about beating Waterford this Friday!!

We just have to keep winning never mind anyone else. A quick look around the other teams forums show's they're all brickin it, whereas we have nothing to lose at this stage.

playoff.......bohs in a cup final.........hmmmmmmmm, we've been here before, i wish !!!!
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    We just have to keep winning never mind anyone else. A quick look around the other teams forums show's they're all brickin it, whereas we have nothing to lose at this stage.
    Wouldn't go that far... that was our only defeat in 6.

Of course you have something to loose... Premier division status, players and probably most importantly, your manager. There's always something to loose

I think Macy means with the season we have had, written off by all and sundry, 6 points deducted, 13 points off the pace, stories of doing a Dublin City etc etc, the fact that with 2 matches to go we still have a chance of staying up is remarkable.

Quote Originally Posted by BrayUnknowns View Post
    Wouldn't go that far... that was our only defeat in 6.
    Wouldn't be wanting to start a run of bad form now...

Quote Originally Posted by BrayUnknowns View Post
    Of course you have something to loose... Premier division status, players and probably most importantly, your manager. There's always something to loose
    Relegation has been on the cards since the points deduction - even if we go down the fight has been a bonus. Sure a significant portion of town fans have been after Matthew's head for feckin years.