Thread: Cook going at end of season?

If you read it again you'll see I said it was only a "short-term" idea.
    Sligoman - please don't take that one to heart. I've heard the Westlife gig mentioned loads of time in various conversations this past few years and I wasn't in any way quoteing you when I mentioned it in my post.

two of them have sponsored the youth teams before and got no thanks for it. but maybe they could be approached anyway again

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by clubman View Post
    Yea, lets have an auld knees up hit the razz, enjoy ourselves for the night, make much needed revenue for the club and then we've done our bit. Hand the money over to the auld fogies on the committee and let them get on with the daunting task of running a senior football club.
    UCD and Galway are two clubs that have something similar every year and it's a great way of getting revenue.

Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    who'd be interested in going to some sort of dinner dance style evening when the seasons over, like the night after the bray game, get it well advertised, have raffles and an auction or something on the night, something that the fans can go to and have a bit of craic with the players and people involved with the club
    Something like this is being organized at the minute afaik.
    "he tries his best.... but I was a proper player".

There is so much doom and gloom, and there are plenty of reasons to be depressed about the current state of affairs. But for as long as I can remeber Rovers have always been a season away from going bust, its just the way its always been. But we have survived and percervered and we are now in a strong position. Granted we could easily lose all that has been achieved in a season but I dont believe the situation is that bad. The primary thing we need is more people through the gates, more money through gates and then there is merchandise and an aray of spin offs etc. We cannot market our football as better than on the telly or of a higher standard, but we can market what we have compared to watching it on the telly. Like being part of the atmosphere, watching local lads play for there local team, etc. If we are to succeed we must market our strenghts instead of constantly trying to turn the showgies into a premiership style occasion because we will never come near it.

Top post from Red Arrow
    It's all about money in the end we all need a suger daddy with deep pockets I hope that things don't turn sour in Sligo and you manage to keep Mr Cooke with the club . Yes he has done a good job in a short time as at the start of the season it was laughable at Sligo and a lot of people had them tipped to drop this season . Now up until a month or so ago you could have looked like you may have finished in a Euro spot but it faded .
    Lets hope you can figure out your problems as more clubs in the west in the premier the better .

Smile to pinapple student

you are correct of course my phrasing of my sentences and spacing of paragraphs leaves a lot to be desired. i am not as well educated as you bit then again i am far from the era of computers and computer language but i do my best. i quote from shakespeare CORIOLANUS (DON;T KNOW THE ACT NOR THE SCENE) BUT THIS QUOTE IS VERY RELEVANT TO TODAYS SOCIETY
    "the abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power" hopefully your educated mind will absorb this message and carry it for the rest of your life. because if you follow the content within you will be a very humble person.
    getting back to the cost of running an eircom league club to be in a challeging position it costs about e1m. the big advantage that ucd has like all other colleges that a lot of students are on grants (taxpayers money) and they have first class facilities and coaching. they (ucd ) also get the cream of the crop. please dont get me wrong i dont begrudge students getting grants (as long as they are entitled to them) but overall yee have a huge advantage because yee in effect are backed by the state wheather directly or indirectly funds are always available. and the point is totally proven cause the gates that yee get wouldnt help to run an ice cream shop. so how come yee find it so hard to get big crowds with a population of (how many students) 20000 . my point is if yee struggle it dosent really matter cause there will always be assistance for ucd from the state.

Smile to feo 123

i hear that a big dinner dance event is being organised for end of season and fair play to those who are involved but we need to stretch much further that this at the most it would bring in 20g .we need to pump in 100 g before start of next season. what is possibly needed is a forum to the business community and high net worth individuals. i have attended the last few open forums and to be honest those in attendance including myself wouldnt have the financial clout to what is needed. no disrespect to anybody who was there over the last few years let these people carry on getting funds for the club as some of them are great supporters but the net needs to be spread much wider even across both sides of the pond to get some big fish involved.we should all try and remain positive. i am always of the opinion that if sligo rovers were on top of the league (or in top three) over the course of the season that they would bring in the crowds but we need to promote game in mayo leitrim roscommon ets.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by red arrow View Post
    i am not as well educated as you bit then again i am far from the era of computers and computer language
    Didn't know basic grammar was invented with computers.

Your points on UCD are, sadly, utterly misinformed. I really don't know how we're ever going to get people over this misconception that we're state funded. I almost think people want to believe it as it explains how such a small club can do so well and is easier to accept than the real reason, which is that we're just much better run.

To put it in plain English once again - UCD are not state funded. Our players are not on grants. They are on scholarships, which are paid by the club. Your point is not proven by our gates, because (a) our gates aren't actually a million miles off other eL clubs, (b) gate income makes up only a small fraction of a club's income and (c) our small gates are reflected in our small budget, which is still enough to achieve the success we have had.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    what about getting sponsershp for the name of the stadum? e.g The(company name)showgrounds
    afaik Rovers looked into this, and noone was interested

If not surely sponsorship of the stadium , then surely sponsorship of the new stand , if we are'nt going to name it after someone closely associated with Rovers , defintely shouldnt just be called "the new stand"

Lads the harsh reality is that with the league, its current structure & the modern day costs involved, the County of Sligo can not support a top Premier league outfit. The club needs to be self sufficient to survive in the long term & unfortunately despite the dedication & generosity of some its not.
    The questions we have to ask is are we boxing above our weight?