Thread: Tonight's game

Happy or what .
    It took Longford to score before we could get into gear as we just seemed lost in the first half and we would have had no complaints if we were behind at half time Murphy and Keane were our best players in the first 45 . Yer man Mooney took his goal so well but again we were caught out to square at the back but great to go back up the pitch and score the pen , i really didn't think we would score with the so who's going to take it routine but i would say the keeper was lucky he got out of the way as the pen would have taken his head off . Now a couple of people have said Keane for captain and i 100% agree with that . Now after our second and them going down to 10 men and with United wasting time in the corners ( one of main things i hate any side doing ) i started to think not again as our last time we played them in Terryland in April they got out of jail when scoring with ten men and got a draw but not this time all that was left was for Barry to race clear with a two on one Derek in the middle and he some how over cooked the pass but it was all over by then and we have got the points , oohhh happy days .

Positive = Murphy, Keane, O'Hall & Russler

If i had to be negative then O'Brien had a very poor game summed up when he did manage to cross the ball in the first half with everyone up in the area the ball sailed over everyone .

Also i have to say so dissapointed with Baker and Rudders as they look like they are only there for the money and nothing else
    Last edited by Claret Murph; 07/10/2007 at 6:23 AM.

Agree with everyone on here bout the first half. Poor imo. Mooney took his 18th goal of the season well, a striker on fire. Defo a peno and had full confidence in Keane to put it away and he sure did. Happy out now, good win and good second half performance. Good to see Murphs playing well again, lets hope he keeps it up.
    The future's bright......maroon and white

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

thanks very much to the galway guys for their hospitality and kindness before and after the game. It was great craic great seein guisa saignon and galway gal again! it was depressin having to face the galway fans after the game in foxes but what can you do? just stand proud and dont get too dishartened!

as for the match the match was ours to win ! giving away the penalty was the turning point in the game sullivan was stupid for wot he did!

thanks very much for the compliments on our support. we have really sorted out our vocal support home and away this season. i know now that we are going to get relegated but this is our hardcore support and this support will be there next season even in the first division. if only those six points can be given back to us by the fai...

very impressed with the attendance at the match! i wish ye all the best luck in full time soccer!

a crucial 3 points that we probably wouldnt have gotten near, if the penalty wasnt given - what was the longford man thinking - glynn going nowhere - happy days!
    more water!

75 Posts
    Cheers its only 4/5 years ago that we seemed destined for the abyss so take heart get the supporters involved and keep the faith.i would much prefer an expanded premier division with more provincial clubs than a 10 team Pale dominated 10 team but then again were only fans.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Great attendance too. 2935 is a great at this stage of the season. The PA system can still not be heard in the old stand or maybe tis just the noise from the drums. It would be great to have the Legends parade around the ground Or at least in the centre circle so every one can see them.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Attendance was great alright and they've stayed steadily high all season despite the bad results at home. Well done to all involved.

A nice new stand like that can pay for itself if it attracts in more casual fans who like their comforts.

Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean View Post
    Great attendance too. 2935 is a great at this stage of the season.
    Talking about potential attendances, the mouth waters at the prospect of a United team flying high in the premier division if 3,000 people are turning up for a relegation battle!
    It's a great reflection on how the club is perceived in Galway now.
    It would also seem to justify an investment in quality players/coaches that the board might be pondering over
    "I'd rather have a full bottle in front of me than a full frontal labotomy."
    Fred Allen.

It is important that home fixtures in Terryland Park remain accessible (price-wise) to the Galway football public. Our pricing and promotion policy has been very successful in 2007.

Not since Derry City in the 1980s has such a lowly placed club attracted such numbers to its home matches. Some EL supporters may think that I am exaggerating - I defy anyone to name a club in the last 20 years that has had a consistent 2,000 + average while positioned 10th in the Premier Divsion table.

Considering that we haven't won a senior trophy in over ten years and haven't appeared in European competition in 16 years, our home support has been excellent this year.

If we had a team challenging in thet top half of the league we would average 4000 most games with 5000+ for the big games.

Once that happens we'll be one of the biggest Clubs in the Country.Other minnows like Limerick might dispute this because of their usual agenda but i very much doubt(as PD said) any other club in the Country would get 3000 on a Friday night in October for a relegation battle versus Longford with only one win in 11 months at home prior to that game.
    Last edited by Conor H; 08/10/2007 at 7:30 PM.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean View Post
    It would be great to have the Legends parade around the ground Or at least in the centre circle so every one can see them.
    Thought the same myself, it's a great idea to honor GUFC Legends but they should have them walk out to the centre circle so people notice whats happening. Most people in the old stand hardly noticed Mull getting presented something along with some local kids who also got a presentation for something

Well done to the Longford lads, Keep the head up Martinio we'll try our best to help ye out with Waterford and Bray
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

75 Posts
    Tonys reaction to friday nights game herehttp://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/news-features/cousins-that-win-was-needed.html
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    If we had a team challenging in thet top half of the league we would average 4000 most games with 5000+ for the big games.

Once that happens we'll be one of the biggest Clubs in the Country.Other minnows like Limerick might dispute this because of their usual agenda but i very much doubt(as PD said) any other club in the Country would get 3000 on a Friday night in October for a relegation battle versus Longford with only one win in 11 moonths at home prior to that game.
    Who am I to defend Limerick but in the 1980s, Limerick City FC and Limerick United FC were the undoubted kingpins of Irish football. I recall 4000+ in Rathbane and the Markets Field. The potential is there but soccer is currently way down in the pecking order behind rugby and hurling in Limerick.

That said Conor, I wholeheartedly agree with you about the potential of Galway United. GUFC has defied the odds in attracting crowds. There were 7000 in Terryland for the first game under lights in 1993 (?) against Cork, That memorable result put Galway United top of the Premier Division, albeit only for 24 hours!
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Tonys reaction to friday nights game herehttp://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/news-features/cousins-that-win-was-needed.html
    HERE IT IS.......

From www.galwayunitedfc.ie :

The reaction of Tony Cousins after Richie Winter blew the full-time whistle after 93 minutes last Friday night showed there was obvious relief as well as contentment with the victory over Longford. Cousins turned to the new stand and clinched his fist, reminiscent of his goal scoring days in League of Ireland football.
    After going behind to a superbly taken Dave Mooney strike, the majority of the home supporters in the near 3,000 crowd most have feared the worst. United did not collapse and stuck to their game plan and were back in the game shortly after, courtesy of a penalty. United then dominated and deservedly took the lead with Wes Charles again grabbing another headed goal from a set piece. After the game Tony Cousins was delighted with the performance on the night of his team.
    "The lads played well and I felt we deserved the win. After going a goal down we did not panic as there was still a long way to go in the game. When we equalised we created plenty of chances and took one of those chances that turned out to be the winning goal.
    "I have to give credit to John Lester and John Fitzgerald at the back. Both players were struck down with illness before the game and after the game both were completely exhausted. There was a doubt as to whether they would play but they wanted to play, they gave everything on the night and were up for the challenge," Cousins said.
    When United were awarded the penalty there seemed to be some confusion with who was to take it. With such a crucial period of the game about to unfold a nervous crowd looked on as Alan Keane stood up to the spot. Keane made no mistake and gave Shay Kelly little chance with an emphatic penalty.
    "Derek Glynn was going to take the penalty but from my days as a striker I felt that he should not take it on this occasion as there was a chance missed in the first half by him. If Derek had converted his chance in the first half then I would be confident that he could knock home the penalty with his eyes closed. With strikers it is down to confidence during a game and I instructed Derek O'Brien to get Alan to take the spot kick. Alan was practising them in training so I had no problems with giving him the responsibility," Cousins added.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

The League needs a strong Limerick side and hopefully in a few years we'll have one.

But their current set up of a shody ground,shocking attendances,crap team,little direction or ambition and their dying hatred of us makes them minnows of the highest order.

Europe's Big Club.

1,552 Posts
    Actually Limerick are probably in a healthier state than for years. They have plans for their ground, a better team than before and have attracted a lot more fans this year than previously. For a reformed club they've made great progress in little time, and deserve a lot of credit I feel. They even have their own superstore sure Compared to their situation in their previous incarnation they're light years ahead, even if they have a long way to go.

Attendance v Wexford 348.
    Playing in Hogan Park.
    Manager wanted to join Athlone.
    Mid table medriocisy again.

Anyways this isn't anything to do with Limerick.

On topic i thought it was interesting how TC went on about Glynn's confidence.Bold move with the penalty but a good one in fairness-wonder how that will do his confidence?

Europe's Big Club.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    On topic i thought it was interesting how TC went on about Glynn's confidence.Bold move with the penalty but a good one in fairness-wonder how that will do his confidence?
    Ya was surpirised he came out and said something like that even if he is right. I said on the night that we were no where near guaranteed to score that peno having missed a few so was pretty happy to see Keane shaping up for it. TC is a legendary striker in this league and when it comes to a decision like that who can question him. Dont know about it bein a bold decision seen as Keano had been practicing them in training. At least he wasnt afraid to change things.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

the penalty didnt look as stonewall from the angle on tv3 last night - thougth it was a cert in the new stand

but i could easily see why it wouldnt have been given aswell

we were lucky to get it - as united went on from there!
    more water!

Mr Winter has refereed us 3 times this year.

Eash time he's given a penalty.

v Longford in April(Miss) 1-1 FT.
    v Derry in Brandywell(Still in the air)-Both missed by Murphy 0-0 FT.
    v Longford(Goal) 2-1 FT.

If we had scored those 2 peno's that would have been an extra 4 points.That would put us ahead of UCD and we'd be 8 ahead of Waterford.....and all but safe.

Europe's Big Club.