Thread: Finn harps....what a season

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rams-07 View Post
    I heard that one player is on 1500e per week which is crazy money for 1st division.When you consider that Cobh Ramblers Total wage bill is 2500e per week I think Hendo deserves a lot of credit for what he has done.
    Where you hear that? We have a total wage bill of circa €7000. How many players in the prem are getting that kind of money? It would be great to be able to pay players that kind of money but not a hope. We don't even have a camera man at home games due to budget restraints. With our stadium due to start within the next 3-5 months it would be mad to go spending that kind of money on players in the 1st Division.

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post

Ya but after a chat with few of your fans we found out yere budget is 4 times our one. Suspensions are killing us at the moment, **** refereeing has destroyed us especially in harps last wek. Hes a costly ****er that fella
    Jesus bella I thought ya were a smart enough fella from chattin to ya last week but now, your mad in the head The ref gave ye a peno, not our fault yer fella hadn't the bottle He gave ye most 50-50 decisions but hey, lets blame the ref

When you consider that Cobh Ramblers Total wage bill is 2500e per week
    That's a lie

It's small, but it aint that small

I think Hendo deserves a lot of credit for what he has done
    This on the otherhand is true

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Dont know why it pains you to commment about Scully. Anyway not bothered who wins the first as long as its not dundalk. But wouldnt write them off yet. From a selfish point of view we always love the trip to Harps but since they stupidly put back their games to friday night my preference would be Cobh coming up as they play saturday nights.

That's it! Automatic barring from the next Ballybofey lock-in for you!

And I want my book back

I agree with you totally re: Friday games. Most fans think they're a balls and we've argued our case with the club to no avail. As there was well over 3000 at the game last Friday night they probably feel that they're vindicated so unfortunately it will probably continue next season regardless of what division we're in.

Must say Finn Harps deserve all the credit they are getting.But with the wages that they are paying they would expect to be up there at this time.I heard that one player is on 1500e per week which is crazy money for 1st division.When you consider that Cobh Ramblers Total wage bill is 2500e per week I think Hendo deserves a lot of credit for what he has done.
    Comparing wage bill "informed guesstimates" is a pretty bullsh*t science.

Is it €2500 / €7000 including manager and all coaches.

Is it €2500 / €7000 gross or net.

Its easy to say "your wage bill is 4 times ours" (or 3 times going by the figures quoted) but are yis comparing like with like.

There is no doubt that Cobh have been the surprise packet of the First Division and Rovers in the Premier. Both Henderson and Scully deserve equal measures of praise.

We have been on an amazing run though. To gain 19 points on a team that were 27 games unbeaten is phenomenal. After a really bad start, in our last 19 games is 17 wins, 1 draw, 1 loss and 100% record at home in that run without conceeding a single goal. Think we've conceded four in total and that was on our travels.

And on our wage bill - it is the same as last year and we finished in the bottom half of the table. It is also less than Shels, Dundalk and Athlone's so it isn't really much of an argument.

Quote Originally Posted by fbtn View Post
    That's it! Automatic barring from the next Ballybofey lock-in for you!

And I want my book back

I agree with you totally re: Friday games. Most fans think they're a balls and we've argued our case with the club to no avail. As there was well over 3000 at the game last Friday night they probably feel that they're vindicated so unfortunately it will probably continue next season regardless of what division we're in.
    It's not your book. It's Patsy's!!

Dont know why clubs have this obsession with friday night football. By playing on a saturday night you wouldnt get a decrease in crowds and you would have more away fans. This does not apply to Dublin derbies of course.

238 Posts
    The friday night games are a major talking point up with us, it was actually set by Higsy at the start of the season in order to get into more of a routine, with training and matches.
    The 3100 at the game last weekend included about 6/7 Cobh fans I believe they would have brought a good few more if it was a saturday. But if we get promoted I dont give a rats arse. Ill be there either way.

56 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    The friday night games are a major talking point up with us, it was actually set by Higsy at the start of the season in order to get into more of a routine, with training and matches.
    The 3100 at the game last weekend included about 6/7 Cobh fans I believe they would have brought a good few more if it was a saturday. But if we get promoted I dont give a rats arse. Ill be there either way.
    I think 6/7 is a bit light, while I didn't go I know of at least 30 who did which isn't bad to go the length of the country on a Friday.
    ''and I for one welcome our new insect overlords''

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Jesus bella I thought ya were a smart enough fella from chattin to ya last week but now, your mad in the head The ref gave ye a peno, not our fault yer fella hadn't the bottle He gave ye most 50-50 decisions but hey, lets blame the ref
    Correct he gave us one, what about the blatant second he refused to give, that was more obvious than the first even Fran Gavin said that. And the free kick the linesman gave ye which never was which resulted in a goal. Wouldnt dispute the result, but if your telling me the officials were fair and didnt bottle big decisions like. Thats where having big suport is vital and the crowd ye had friday was amazing for first division. Unreal numbers, big credt to the club there.

Quote Originally Posted by fbtn View Post
    There is no doubt that Cobh have been the surprise packet of the First Division and Rovers in the Premier. Both Henderson and Scully deserve equal measures of praise.

We have been on an amazing run though. To gain 19 points on a team that were 27 games unbeaten is phenomenal. After a really bad start, in our last 19 games is 17 wins, 1 draw, 1 loss and 100% record at home in that run without conceeding a single goal. Think we've conceded four in total and that was on our travels. .
    Agreee with ya there
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

from what we are led to believe here in cobh the wage bill for the whole running of the team is $2500 a week tops its lower sometimes... thats including manager coaches and physio..

players are paid by play basis( this includes the bench)

so our wage bill is the lowest of the league..

excluding wexfords amatures...

have to agree that finn harps season is amazing i remember all of you guys at the start of the season dumpfounded as to why you guys were so ****e!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Don't agree.
    and Drogheda's first title will far outweigh Harps winning the 1st Divison.

Where did you get this news from?

would agree henderson has done a great job.....in the summer wen cobh signed hardly any new players i thouht they would struggle

but he has them playing great stuff......i tink they are the`best team i seen in ballybofey this year!!!!!

annd we had teams like derry ,galway sligo and CELTIC!!!!

FAO Harps supporters - I had thought that Declan Boyle was finished with Harps last season and was surprised to see he has been playing with you again this year. What's the story with that turnaround?
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CharlesThompson View Post
    FAO Harps supporters - I had thought that Declan Boyle was finished with Harps last season and was surprised to see he has been playing with you again this year. What's the story with that turnaround?
    A manager with some sense that knows a good centre back when he sees one!
    Say nothin til ya hear more!

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CharlesThompson View Post
    Didnt play due to our manager last season Deccy has been outstanding with us this season and has scored 7 goals in the league. He prob won't have too many seasons left at this level but, his reading of the game is superb and very little strikers have had the better of him.

1,553 Posts
    very little strikers have had the better of him
    Just as well Conor Gethins plays for us so

Quote Originally Posted by MojoPin View Post
    the wage bill for the whole running of the team is $2500 a week tops
    Wow at current exchange rates that only equates to €1772

Fairplay

Thats rubbish, Cobh wages €2500 per week gross including staff. 20-25 people on €100 gross a week average, not a chance! The entire Cobh team budget less than John O Flynns yearly wages..come of it lads.

Quote Originally Posted by Ronnie View Post
    Thats rubbish, Cobh wages €2500 per week gross including staff. 20-25 people on €100 gross a week average, not a chance! The entire Cobh team budget less than John O Flynns yearly wages..come of it lads.
    Thats why John O'Flynn signed with City when he first came back, unfortunatly unless things change we will never be able to sign one of the best players in the league. Luckily enough for us, McCarthy, Murray, Guthrie, Meade and O'Neill are developing into topp class players.Worthy of any premier team IMO
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979