Thread: Bohemians 3-0 Sligo Rovers

we cant be too downbeat about it. still a great chance of moving up the table with remaining games, seamie will be a loss though in the run in, but we can stick danny in there,and with the boys back in the middle we should be ok.

on another note, not a fan of rte,usually ****e but a good report on the website all the same. Seems to be a fair reflection on how the game panned out from reading our fans reports. Only cause we were playin in dublan tho!! http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2007/0928/sligo.html

Really really unlucky is hte only way to describe it.

We were in the game so much and that sending off changed it completely.

Absolutely gutted, but that's the nature of football.

Bring on Drogs and fair play to all who were there yesteerday. 90 mins non-stop support.

Quote Originally Posted by clubman View Post
    You poor silly little man obviously the smog in the capital is interferring with your hearing, you should go and get the wax drained from your ears. One thing is for sure though your hearing is in no danger from damage from the noise you lot were making last night. Good job the diggers are moving in on that fine old stadium as the atmosphere you lot generate only deserves to be buried it's so dead.
    Very bitter. Obviously can't take defeat very well.

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    BP You never answered my question !

I want to see the tackle on TV again, it is a contact sport don't forget !
    There is contact and there are lunging late tackles and that was one of the latter. It happened pretty close to my vantage point.
    Last edited by BohsPartisan; 29/09/2007 at 6:53 PM.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

You poor silly little man obviously the smog in the capital is interferring with your hearing, you should go and get the wax drained from your ears. One thing is for sure though your hearing is in no danger from damage from the noise you lot were making last night. Good job the diggers are moving in on that fine old stadium as the atmosphere you lot generate only deserves to be buried it's so dead.
    i actually doubt they could here us. when they sang(once or twice) i could barely hear them and they had about the same amount of people singing. When we sang songs like "shall we sing a song for you" they didnt look over or react in any way.Its kind of like terryland park you cant relly hear other fans singing when they are in the other side of the stand

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Very bitter. Obviously can't take defeat very well.
    Defeat is just the end result, which has to be accepted. The game consists of a full 90 minutes. A game is won or lost, won in your case, by poor or inept referee. For 70 minutes last night your lot were both out played and outsang. Unfortunately you have a real problem accepting this, but hi that's your problem. With the aid of the one in yellow the game turned in your favour. Your pathetic attempt to celebrate and give vocal support to your team was drowned out with a chorus of 'you only sing when you're winning'. The Bohs I have known for neigh 40 years have become a club motivated with riches and the drive for success is fuelled by greed. Selling the home of Irish football is unforgiveable and will come back to haunt ye. Now you sit in the long grass waiting to ambush Sean Connor, the time bomb is ticking and your whole greedy little world will become more and more suspect. As you look out through the haze you find it hard to recognise real football supporters that are driven by nothing but passion for their club. I realise it's something you'll never comprehend so I'll let you have you're pathetic moan. Ye are the Bohs, no one likes ye and that's for sure!

151 Posts
    Good man, Clubman. The neutral view is always welcome.

hes not neutral...but what a feckin post...well done clubman, summed up how a lot of us feel!!!

Defeat is just the end result, which has to be accepted. The game consists of a full 90 minutes. A game is won or lost, won in your case, by poor or inept referee. For 70 minutes last night your lot were both out played and outsang. Unfortunately you have a real problem accepting this, but hi that's your problem. With the aid of the one in yellow the game turned in your favour. Your pathetic attempt to celebrate and give vocal support to your team was drowned out with a chorus of 'you only sing when you're winning'. The Bohs I have known for neigh 40 years have become a club motivated with riches and the drive for success is fuelled by greed. Selling the home of Irish football is unforgiveable and will come back to haunt ye. Now you sit in the long grass waiting to ambush Sean Connor, the time bomb is ticking and your whole greedy little world will become more and more suspect. As you look out through the haze you find it hard to recognise real football supporters that are driven by nothing but passion for their club. I realise it's something you'll never comprehend so I'll let you have you're pathetic moan. Ye are the Bohs, no one likes ye and that's for sure!
    That is a laughable post on many levels. The club being motivated by greed is a ludicrous statement about a club that is owned and run by the fans on a non profit basis. Unless you count ambition to win trophies as greed - if that is the case you shouldn't be involved in sport. The whinging about the refereeing is also a joke. You will see in the highlights as we who were near the incident that the tackle on Joxer was horrendous. As for being "drowned out" by "You only sing when you're winning", I am being honest when I say I didn't even notice you singing it. As I said before all I could hear was your drum. Rovers fan hit the nail on the head when he mentioned the acoustics. It is rare we can hear much of what the opposition fans are singing from our end.
    As for the atmosphere at home this year, I agree its a poor comparison with the noise we used to generate and some of us are looking into improving that. Away has been quite good but recent events with the schoolies taking over block G (they were strangely absent last night) and the cops doing their utmost to harass ordinary fans who are doing nothing but trying to generate atmosphere (the cops were also conspicuous by their absence last night) seems to have driven a lot of people away from the singing section.
    There is no doubt about it that you had the better of the play for the majority of the game (as we did against "shams" recently) but at the end of the day the result is what puts points on the board.
    Now stop crying and get on with the rest of your season.

21 Posts
    Bohs have a **** support was at the '83 cup final and doubt they had 2000 supporters in a crowd of 10,000. Where to they actually generate the support? They are a ****ing joke
    Last edited by gustavo; 30/09/2007 at 11:54 AM.

151 Posts
    Ah, lads, will ye leave the Bohs boys alone. haven't they enough to worry about - they have Connor.

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    they have Connor.
    But he's the greatest manger in the eircom league and probably all time.

He told me so himself.

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    Bohs have a **** support was at the '83 cup final and doubt they had 2000 supporters in a crowd of 10,000. Where to they actually generate the support? They are a ****ing joke
    Seeing as how I was seven at the time I can't comment. All I know is that in my time we've generated some great noise and atmosphere. As avvenalaf says, we've enough to worry about; a cup final and a cup semi in the next month. If thats worry I'll take it!
    Last edited by gustavo; 30/09/2007 at 11:55 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by redrov2005 View Post
    Great performance. The sending off totally changed the game. Ref was swayed by the the reaction of the Bohs players and the crowd but when you dive in like Seamie did its always going to be a tight decision.

A bit like the Mikel sending for Chelsea last Sunday after which most people say it should have been yellow.

Absolute bull****. Te red card was totally merited, it was a shocking tackle and the ref shouldnt have even hesitated with the red card. I was sitting right in front of were the tackle was made.

If it was Bohs player making that tackle on a Sligo player you'd be adamant it was a red card so dont fool yourself
    Last edited by gustavo; 30/09/2007 at 11:56 AM.

Thought Seamie deserved to go, it was a bad tackle. The ref was terrible though
    "he tries his best.... but I was a proper player".

Smile

Look lads, Bohs won a game that was close up to the sending off. TV will show whether it was warranted or not. I do feel the reaction of the Bohs players influenced a very poor ref. Many other officials might have red carded a Bohs player for the reaction but that's life. I think our reaction as Sligo fans is tempered by the fact that this Ref has traeated us poorly in the past. Leaving aside the sending off - it was a clear foul on Raf immediately before the Bohs free & first goal. Plus other 50:50 calls did'nt go our way. But hey that's the game.

I thought the pitch looked great & it was a good game for 70 minutes. It pains me but you guys scored three great goals. But the Sligo fans were great & added to the nite, I doubt many teams bring that number & atmosphere plus give their team that reception after a 3-0 beating. Your stewards were top notch & think understood that we felt hard done by. Lets all congradulate one another as League of Ireland supporters. Great to see the esteem with which all Rovers players held Chrissie Turner - great touch when Faz hauled him up off the ground. But Mansaram let himself down with his antics. Best of luck for rest of season but I will miss Dallymount when she is gone - it is a great place to watch football & we have won some good games there down the years.

Formerly: wild rover
    We have some sort of paranoia about refs.....we over react when decisions usually are right. saying that i didnt think it was a red

Our fans were good but nothing special. Also its no good asking why bohs fans dont sing at home??? You dont hear much from us at home.

Quote Originally Posted by Rory H View Post
    We have some sort of paranoia about refs.....we over react when decisions usually are right. saying that i didnt think it was a red

Our fans were good but nothing special. Also its no good asking why bohs fans dont sing at home??? You dont hear much from us at home.
    The lads in the Jink's Ave stand make more noise for longer than the entire Bohs support in Dailyer.
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

The acoustics don't work when both sets of supporters are so far apart in the one stand. The same thing happens in Belfield. Proud to be a Rovers supporter the other night. Well done to the lads who got the second drum and the megaphone. Think Europe could be out the window for this season, unfortunately.

I went along to this game myself on friday night. Coleman deserved to go, went in dangerously with studs up and jp kelly had to go off injured as a result. Ye were the better team in the first 60 minutes but to be honest it was one of the worst hours of football ive seen in a while. Noisy fans as well fair play to ye, Bohs werent heard all game.

I thought Seamie had to go. To me it looked a terrible tackle and no need for it. There was no danger so far out the pitch.
    I thought the reason we went downhill after that, was the decision to take of Cash. He was outstanding. Cant understand that decision.
    Anyone agree with me that Gary Curran is not up to it. He seams to have no interest.
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.