Thread: Irresistible Force Versus Immovable Object

1,550 Posts

Irresistible Force Versus Immovable Object

Harps- 8 league wins in a row at home without conceding a goal.

Cobh- unbeaten in 27 games, i.e. 3 complete rounds of matches.

One of these formidable records must end on Friday night.

The buildup starts here

nil all draw writen all over it so
    1-0 to the rams after 80 mins
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

1,550 Posts
    nil all draw writen all over it so
    My thoughts exactly!

1-0 to the rams after 80 mins
    And 2-1 Harps at FT

1-1 i reckn, take it now i would. Cant wait.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    1-1 i reckn, take it now i would. Cant wait.
    Bet ye would Difference is, we want to win, maybe it might be a factor with the players too. Theres a possibility the Cobh players are thinking "I'll take a draw on friday night"
    Our lads I know are confident of a win.
    Its going to be a cracker, hopefully ye bring plenty of fans and we can have a good atmosphere at the game.

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Bet ye would Difference is, we want to win, maybe it might be a factor with the players too. Theres a possibility the Cobh players are thinking "I'll take a draw on friday night"
    Its going to be a cracker, hopefully ye bring plenty of fans and we can have a good atmosphere at the game.
    fancy a pint on friday night Heggy

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 6yardpunisha View Post
    fancy a pint on friday night Heggy
    Yup
    Any1 coming up, O'Malleys bar would be the best bet. Good craic in there before and after the game.

the difference is ye have to win and the pressure of going top could affect ye all pressure on harps, we know were capable of beating ye we have already proven it, just have to prove it one more time then well be parting ways for a few years

Yup
    Any1 coming up, O'Malleys bar would be the best bet. Good craic in there before and after the game.
    1st beer on me

But were not going to play for a draw like ye did last night ye were home. Draw will be great result for us, away from home.

Yup
    See you there hopefully, dont expect many more than 10 from cobh. Bar committee.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 6yardpunisha View Post
    1st beer on me
    Happy days

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by don ramo View Post
    the difference is ye have to win and the pressure of going top could affect ye all pressure on harps, we know were capable of beating ye we have already proven it, just have to prove it one more time then well be parting ways for a few years
    No pressure on Harps, Cobh are the ones who blew the 16 point advantage they had over Harps. Look at the last 6 games played:
    Harps won 5 drew 0 lost 1 Points 15
    Cobh won 2 drew 4 lost 0 points 10

so unbeaten and all, we have gained 5 points on ye in just 6 games. Remember, 6 games left and only 2 points of a gap. We have Dundalk and Shels out of the way, ye have both to play.
    Now who do ya reckon is under pressure?

Thumbs up the time has come

we will take three points in finn park....refuse to lose!!!!!

1,550 Posts
    Are ye taking a bus up? Any chance of a lift to the match for two Galway-based Harpsmen?

id take the draw but i think we can win it, in fact i know we can win it as we have beaten them already this season, and in ballybofey. harps arnt a great footballing side, very physical, that will be their game against us this weekend.

people also seem to be forgetting that harps lost 1 nil to athlone town on 1st of this month, so they arnt unbeatable.

if it was about getting the ball down and playing football, ramblers would win this league hands down.

Quote Originally Posted by depor View Post
    id take the draw but i think we can win it, in fact i know we can win it as we have beaten them already this season, and in ballybofey. harps arnt a great footballing side, very physical, that will be their game against us this weekend.

people also seem to be forgetting that harps lost 1 nil to athlone town on 1st of this month, so they arnt unbeatable.

if it was about getting the ball down and playing football, ramblers would win this league hands down.
    What harps have you seen this season???

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by harpstilidie View Post
    What harps have you seen this season???
    Was wonderin the same myself Dan.

And yeah were aren'y unbeatable, but we won all games since. Remember, 3 draws are the same as 2 defeats only thing it preserves is an unbeaten run (in which we still managed to gain 14 points on Cobh)

[if it was about getting the ball down and playing football, ramblers would win this league hands down.[/quote]]

Have to agree rams playing good football,but last time harps came to cobh only a few weeks ago they played some great football,on the ground(as it should be)passing and moving,attacking at every option and it must be said that they are a good footballing team ,physical or not,so has all the ingredients of a great game come friday night..
    Football is more than just a game,it's life..!!

Was wonderin the same myself Dan.

And yeah were aren'y unbeatable, but we won all games since. Remember, 3 draws are the same as 2 defeats only thing it preserves is an unbeaten run (in which we still managed to gain 14 points on Cobh)
    whats the nightlife like in your neck of the woods

lads, let the player do the talking friday night, we are capable of beaten them and i think we can it is posible, plus would be nice to open a 5 point gap for safety reasons (not that well need it), and the pressure is on harps they have come this far, and they cant bottle it now, it would never be forgiven, remember harp are suppose to be here, were not, we have defied everyone and shuffed it back in there faces now let just add a bit of insult to top it off,

c'mon the rams