43 Posts

Kerlon's Showboating

Seen this article

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...ls/7009897.stm

Here is the 'dribble':

What do youse think? Should he or shouldn't he do it in games?
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

i think he should. how is it any different from ronaldo's step overs, or ronaldinho's shimmy and bag of tricks. its a skill, a skill he has perfected which gives him an extra weapon in his arsenal. its rare in this day in age we see many new skills in football, because its generally accepted that the limitations of the physical have been pushed to the limit. Now if footballers are not allowed to express themselves when they do perfect new tricks we are robbed of one the things which makes the game beautiful. i personally hope he continues, its a spectacle, and its beautiful to watch!
    illiteracy and alphabet soup hmm?

Check out some of his other clips on youtube.

The boys a bit special. Only 19.

60 Posts
    The great thing about innovations like this is it leads to innovations in defending, as we can see from the clip

I don't see why not, but I am still lamenting the loss of the donkey drop from football - I coulda been a contendah if it were permitted to continue
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Nice to watch. Different is good in this case although he's opening himself up to a lot of potential pain from frustrated defenders.

The way I see is that the balls in the air and if a defender's going to throw his head at it in an attempt to get it, he's going to cop a few full on in the mush from time to time.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

Still nice to see something different.

Sick of the diving and negative tactics and irish players that couldnt trap a bag of cement.

503 Posts
    Thats the wrong clip.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBXv5...elated&search=

Thats what he did last week!!

...that thug got a 3 month ban and neither himself or the club are showing any remorse. They're actually appealing the decision and believe that Kerlon deserved it!

It can't really be outlawed because he's not breaking any rules - he's just heading the ball, but there's no real way of stopping him fairly when the balls up that height....maybe they should concentrate on getting out to him quicker before he's able to flick it up onto his head!

Cream the **** is what i say, looks class but highly disrespectful, unreal skill, but if it was me a bop as if i was heading it.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

and that is why football in this country is the way it is, too little respect for skill and too much respect for muckers.
    In Trap we trust

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Cream the **** is what i say, looks class but highly disrespectful, unreal skill, but if it was me a bop as if i was heading it.
    Highly disrespectful to whom?

The guy whose response is to kick him in the head?

In the clip I saw, he was advancing towards goal, it wasnt done just to showboat, it was an attacking technique.

His head will be a mess of scars by the time he retires.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Highly disrespectful to whom?

The guy whose response is to kick him in the head?

In the clip I saw, he was advancing towards goal, it wasnt done just to showboat, it was an attacking technique.

His head will be a mess of scars by the time he retires.
    I didnt say kick i sadi bop, , but i love watching skillful players as much as the next fela wouldnt mind the od shoulder trick bu that header thing is only going to result in something like what drogba did, i dont think he should do it, but gotta respect him for having the ability.

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

I thought it was a great way of keeping the ball in play down by the touchline and attacking the opposition from a nothing situation, more power to him and his sort I say

Yeah definately should be allowed to do it. Firstly he is not breaking any rules, and secondly it shows brilliant skill and after all that is what football i mainly about.For those of you who believe he deserves to get taken out of it, all i can say is maybe your watching the wrong sport?
    Cmon County!

I understand where yere coming from lads, its brilliant and exciting to watch but the way theres no fair way to stop him is only going to cause him trouble, and when its near the head its way too dangerous. You could knock some1 out cold.

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    I understand where yere coming from lads, its brilliant and exciting to watch but the way theres no fair way to stop him is only going to cause him trouble, and when its near the head its way too dangerous. You could knock some1 out cold.
    Why is there no fair way to stop him.?

Why not just stand in front of him. its not obstruction as youre not stopping him from getting the ball.

The problem seems to be that defenders get ****ed off and go charging in instead of just standing their ground

So does he just do it to win frees? Obviously he's provoking an unjust reaction, but is that his primary aim?
    Ceci n'est pas une signature