Thread: Saipan On Setanta!

Auschwitz is pretty tough but I found Dachau as bad. Maybe its because that was my first time to visit the site of a concentration camp. Auschwitz 1 was originally set up as a concentration camp but Auschwitz II or Birkenau as its also know was a death camp and nothing else. That is bleak and isolated and that got me too. The most chilling aspect of the whole experience for me was the amount of hair they still have. I think the tangiable evidence of human life really got to me there
    In Trap we trust

The thing that always got to me looking at pictures of Auschwitz was the rail lines running into it. There's something especially horrific about that level of planning and mechanisation involved in killing people.

Saipan? What happened there?
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Keep up, there was a battle there in WW2.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    The thing that always got to me looking at pictures of Auschwitz was the rail lines running into it. There's something especially horrific about that level of planning and mechanisation involved in killing people.
    The Train lines were always there long before it was decided to be a death camp. A lot of the decisions made were were step by step rather than a grand plan from the start. Still totally disgusting and evil.
    In Trap we trust

Boys boys boys, slightly moving off the point methinks, the history threads are in the other Topics section
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

1,914 Posts
    Dachau gives you a chill even when observed from the air in the airplanes approach to Munich airport.

How did we shift from Saipan to Genocide. Do we have to make that extreme comparison to put Saipan in some perspective
    Survivalist psychology, 'oh i'm lucky I only lost 2 fingers the guy next to me lost his arm'.
    Now we know those were happy days, we were still in a World Cup.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    Keep up, there was a battle there in WW2.
    Oh. Ok.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post

How did we shift from Saipan to Genocide. Do we have to make that extreme comparison to put Saipan in some perspective.
    I blame Keane for the whole lot. And I reckon he had something to do with the Killing Fields in Cambodia

Mick is not blameless either. Allegedly, he told George Bush to invade Iraq.
    My Life story now available on DVD

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    782 Posts
    Yep, and Big Jack told the Germans to put the Poles under pressure.

Drunkphy said it was a good war but not a great war.

Mourinho told Hitler he was the special one.

Roy Keane said that at the end of the day all credit to the atomic bomb.

Giles said it was a war of two halves.

Jammie Rednapp said the Italians were good shot stoppers.

George Hamilton said as the Germans reached Dunkirk that it looks as if the Axis have this sewn up.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    George Hamilton said as the Germans reached Dunkirk that it looks as if the Axis have this sewn up.
    classic

2,696 Posts
    Ditto.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post

yep, i just laughed out loud in the office and got a few looks!

did anyone see it, i missed the programme!! will it be repeated?
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Quote Originally Posted by SUB of the day View Post
    Sunday September 30 on Setanta......
    Not been on yet.

Read an article previewing it in the Indo at the weekend.

The Manager of the hotel that the team were based at first figured out that there was trouble ahead when his son was out on the training pitch within ear shot of Roy Keane and Alan Kelly.

Apparently the young lad inquired of his dad "What's a feckin ******?"
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Watched it last night.

Thought it was Ok. It was done with a fair amount of humour and it actually captured quite well the feeling that was around at the time.

However, there was nothing in it that hadn't come out before and i don't think it will change many views.
    My Life story now available on DVD

20 Posts
    I watched it myself as well. I thought it was quite good. funny as well. nothin new but sure what else was there to say? have to laugh. I thought I would be looking at it thinking " jaysus we were all a bit mad back then" while instead I was thinking when I saw that press conferance..."Macarthy you f*ckin moron!!!!!!" still...what we would give for a WC scandal now eh?

It was awful. A couple of idiot fans spouting the same crap we've heard a million times. As soon as Marian Finnucane appeared on the screen I switched over.

To digress, that Stalingrad programme on RTE 2 was also ****e. Three programmes that jumped around all over the place and basically gave no logical information about the course of the battle. And Cathal O'Shannon is a tosser of the highest order.

what was the story with those animations? f**king annoying and absolutely pointless. Apart from that it was a decent enough watch.
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus