Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast

Thread: John Joe O'Toole

2,796 Posts
    Was he in the U21 squad against Estonia?

Actually, anyone know what the starting XI and squad was for that game? It wasn't in the match thread.

Republic of Ireland Under-21 v Estonia:

Shane Redmond

Scott Davies

Brendan Moloney

Michael Spillane

Ian Bermingham

Stephen Gleeson

Owen Garvan (capt.)

James McCarthy

Alan Judge

Cillian Sheridan

Jay O’Shea

214 Posts
    I remember when there was talk of him going to join Newcastle last January. It's sad if these stories are true i.e. gets wasted 4 nights a week but he is still young and maybe Boothroyd can sort him out. Colchester might be the wake up call he needs.

the lad obviously never texted ron burgundy

Heard that he turned his back on a lot of the gaelic lads he used play with and go to school with as well so id say there is truth in what they are saying. But the friends of friends stuff i wouldn't pay too much heed to. Also that burgundy fella sounds like a tw@t going on a forum telling people what his "friends" have been telling him.

To be fair if I lived in Watford I would be on the lash all the time as its so close to Luton
    In Trap we trust

And because hornet lives there too

386 Posts
    Sad to hear.

After several breaches of Club discipline (involving drinking) Brendan Rodgers dropped him from the first team squad. After Rodgers left we hoped JJ would get another chance under Malky Mackay, but it seems he let himself down again, and Malky confirmed at a Fan's Forum I attended last week he would not feature under his management due to his "poor attitude and lack of professionalism"

Maybe Aidy Boothroyd can sort him out because he is undoubtedly a lad with great talent
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

John Joe ruptured a cruciate ligament on Tuesday and is likely to be out for up to 9 months. Terrible injury to have for a young player. He's been an ever present for Colchester who have been near the top of League One all year.

BBC Sport O'Toole ruled out until 2011
    Criticism is prejudice made plausible

228 Posts
    Sorry to hear about that. Hopefully he'll make a swift and full recovery. That kind of injury is scary, but with the advancements in surgery and physiotherapy, more and more players are coming back well from it.

3,498 Posts
    JJ made his first appearance of the season on Tuesday, came off the bench against Bristol Rovers following his cruciate injury last April
    Interview with him after his appearance: http://www.gazette-news.co.uk/sport/...gry_for_games/
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 06/03/2011 at 4:37 PM.

207 Posts
    Still only 22. He had the makings of a top class midfielder at one point. Is that ex-Spurs lad still at Colchester?

Mark yeates

114 Posts
    Yeates is at Sheffield United

Re O'Toole - few things as disappointing as talent wasted.

2,796 Posts
    He's at Sheff United now I think.

358 Posts
    Lads,
    O' Toole has the quality, it's his lifestyle and attitude that are the issue. Such a long time out of the game could help or hinder his game. He might appreciate more the talent he has, or he might have spent the last year on the p###. Hopefully it's the latter, only time will tell.

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gastric View Post
    Lads,
    O' Toole has the quality, it's his lifestyle and attitude that are the issue. Such a long time out of the game could help or hinder his game. He might appreciate more the talent he has, or he might have spent the last year on the p###. Hopefully it's the latter, only time will tell.
    Ya, hopefully he spent the last year on the p### and got it out of his system.

358 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    Ya, hopefully he spent the last year on the p### and got it out of his system.
    And I'm a d##khead who needs to edit his posts!

3,498 Posts

3,498 Posts
    named in the League Two team of the year

Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast