As there's a thread going on Bratislava, how about a few tales from Prague. The Hare Krisna's coming into the square on Wed a few hours before the match was an absolute classic. About 200/300 well oiled footie fans joining in with their singing & chanting had me in stiches !!!! And the guy doing the tour-guide impression with his brolly held up in the air was another good laugh.
All in all, a great town to visit - I doubt we ever had to pay more than €1.60 for a beer. So much nicer than the kip we had been in a couple of days earlier ...
On the match day we were in the square having a few beers watching the football been kicked around ( the cheap plastic ones ) then someone kicked a real one , I said to one of the lads that a fancy a good old boot of that one and moments later the ball knocked a can of beer out of my hand and squished the can flat on the ground . I think the look on my face seemed to crack everyone around me up .
That reminds me hornet I will have to sharpen my knife as I will be ready to do battle with you again on this forum . I can't see as how you think I am the one to give you stick . Bye the way we copped out and just hung around in Luton airport , nice meeting you and say hello to humps for me .![]()
yeah That Was 'Rasher' from navan doing the tourguide impression with the brolly. Yeah the Hare Krisna's was classic, as was the time about 30 lads jumped on the little two seater bicycle cab. Some craic with the footballs as aswell...the czech women are much friendlier as well than the slovaks, they were well tolerant ans easier to chat up.
'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch
Thought Prague was a great city and had a great time. The one thing is the taxi drivers, got charged one night about 800 for a spin over the bridge but was ****ed and 800 was on meter so i paid it. i presume he drove me all over the place, next night i agreed fee with driver for same distance. 200. My mate was asked for 600 one night and told driver hed walk back to hotel. Driver took him home for 200.
I had a much nicer time in pargue. did anybody else visit the magic ten storey (at least i thought there was!) nightclub? cheesy disco level is classic
Camac Ultras North Terrace Section
According to Lopez we all missed out on the greatest spectacle in Prague which was a dancing gypsy goat and according to Bluebeard, having Czech on yer MP3 player is well kinky!![]()
The Hairy Christian parade was mental! Very funny, we have a videoclip somewhere!
A good trip was had by Babysis and myself despite 2 ar$eholes giving us grief within the space of 10 mins, people getting cage rage and people falling asleep on the job![]()
Now when we got off the train we had the same problem of trying to find a taxi , now we were offered the price range for the same trip of 1000 , 600 , 450 , & 400. I got so feed up with it all I took the metro for 20 Kn and then never so much as looked at a taxi for the rest of the trip .![]()
That level was brilliant, loved the lit dancefloor! Was in that place on each of the 4 nights we were there, right till closing, and had a ball. However, getting tear-gassed by the bouncers on the Wednesday night when we were singing songs instead of leaving wasn't pleasant. Could have been ugly, especially as everyone was trying to squeeze out of one open door...
Square was great craic altogether. Felt a bit guilty after joining in the Hare Krishnan parade - I hope it wasn't the equivalent of a drunk staggering into Midnight Mass!
Did they take it in good enough humour?
Any link to the Hare Krishna videos?
Prague = Pain In Arse
Tours were boring and tedious, taxi drivers were a nightmare, hard to get a decent meal, no food in certain restaurants at night, closed "24h" hotels, would only change Euro for Crowns, locals with erratic English at best, and if it wasn't for the Charles Bridge and Wenceslas Square, it would have been a total disaster.
In short, a place for drunks, couples, and nymphos. In other words, a dump.
If anyone is in Prague again. Go to a great bar for food and drink. It is passed Caffreys heading out of the Old Town Square and ignore the first junction and its just on your left. Great steak and great food. THe name of the Bar begins with a K. Our food there was fantastic and cost feck all too. Again I did not get a taxi in Prague as I walked everywhere. Had lots of nice meals here as I knew the place too. Stayed in apartments so they were never closed and could drink till all hours and that place I was talking about served food until three.
In Trap we trust