I'ill be there with 2 others....

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Joxer88 View Post
    Lads are ye all aware that a member of YBIG Forums rang the FAI to ask about this event and they (the FAI) took full credit for organising it and they had nothing whatsoever to do with it???
    Feckers

Quote Originally Posted by Joxer88 View Post
    Lads are ye all aware that a member of YBIG Forums rang the FAI to ask about this event and they (the FAI) took full credit for organising it and they had nothing whatsoever to do with it???
    Allegedly this is the way it went

Justice : " Are the FAI organising this Fan Fest on Saturday ?"

Fran : " We are indeed " ( I sh*t you not)

Justice : " Oh right and how did this come about ? "

FAI : " Well basically the Germans did something similiar for Irish fans so we're trying to do something similiar in terms of organising a fun day out for the family. There'll be DJ's, music, food. All in all a little bit of craic"

Justice : " That sounds great FAI and will there be FAI officials at this event"

FAI : "Ere eh, yeh there should be one or two about" ( basically he wasn't too sure)

Justice : " Can't wait FAI sounds like the FAI are really in touch with the people and stuff......soooo looking forward to this. thanks for your time."

FAI: " No problem" ( in otherwords we have no problem hijacking independently organised events and attaching our name to if it makes me and John D. look good)
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

I have a request for some assistance on Saturday.

Volunteers are required to help out with some aspects or to act as hosts on the coaches.

There is no pay, no thanks and no backslapping so it is unrewarding and will interfere with drinking time.

Any takers?

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

Email from German FA

Received this from the German FA this morning:

Thanks for the information.

Since 1 week all the information, you gave us, are online on our website.

I saw a positive feedback in our discussion forum that many fans want to join the fan-fest.

So I hope you have a successful event!

Have fun,

Happy to report that two seperate groups of German fans, 16 in all, have descended on McDowell's this morning carrying out a recce.

Seems they are impressed and they are now on their second pints.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Joxer88

Feckers

Quote Originally Posted by Green Tribe View Post
    Feckers
    I would say "unbelievable" but it is not unbelievable and typical of how the FAI and many politicains and government bodies operate

The FAI are a shower of unbelieveable w@nkers! Can the papers not pick up on this story?? They like a bit of FAI bashing at the best of times and this is a great story about they attempting to hijack and take credit for an independent fans initiative for charity - ffs like. What fcuking tools
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    Happy to report that two seperate groups of German fans, 16 in all, have descended on McDowell's this morning carrying out a recce.

Seems they are impressed and they are now on their second pints.
    Best of luck with this soccerc. Hope all goes well today. Will try and persuade a few of the lads to head this afternoon!

Quote Originally Posted by Slim Pickings View Post
    Best of luck with this soccerc. Hope all goes well today. Will try and persuade a few of the lads to head this afternoon!

Thanks to those who made an appearance, much appreciated, hope you enjoyed the occasion.

JB

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    Thanks to those who made an appearance, much appreciated, hope you enjoyed the occasion.

JB
    went along for an hour or so. good turnout by the Germans. Got talking to a few of them, they seemed to enjoy it. Fair play to all who organised it

Quote Originally Posted by Saint07 View Post
    went along for an hour or so. good turnout by the Germans. Got talking to a few of them, they seemed to enjoy it. Fair play to all who organised it
    But not so good by the Irish! Was amused to see the biggest tricolour, apert from the one outside McD's was from that great Irish club, Tranmere Rovers?
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

72 Posts
    few pics of the Fanfest at the bottom of the page

http://s187.photobucket.com/albums/x...007/?start=all

the 3rd or 4th pic is very impressive, i wonder what you were taking a photo of there

72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    the 3rd or 4th pic is very impressive, i wonder what you were taking a photo of there
    Paul

I've no idea what you mean

Mail I received from one of the German Fanclub organiser's this morning.

only a short mail for today, because I have to start to munich soon for the tschech game.

It was a great day on saturday and the german fans are absolutly excited. To organize such a big party is always combined with difficulties, so no worry, all the fans came in time to the stadion and it were not so bad to come later, because of the quality of the game.
    IŽm looking forward to the next fan meets in the world cup qualification round :-)
    Thanks a lot again,

i was there for about 3 or 4 hours, feck all irish fans there, full of zee germans, great criac with them, was chattinf to a good few, good spirits between the two sets of fans...
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234