Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Ireland Germany Fans Fest

Quote Originally Posted by scousedub View Post
    small write up in the Star this morning, should hopefully increase the numbers.

I wouldve thought something like this deserves more coverage than what was in todays star ffs

Anyway a few of us from drogheda defo heading up, so see youse up there !!
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo View Post
    Anyway a few of us from drogheda defo heading up, so see youse up there !!
    You'll be heading in the wrong direction.

fan fest

Absolute great idea and ill be there for sure. Heading along with six mates, including a very good German pal (whos a VFB Stuttgart fan).

At least we can repay the German fans for the amazing welcome we received over there. Will also spread the word to anyone I know thats around town on saturday and going to the game.

Been out to Richmond alot be dont remember the bar, will it be big enough to accommodate everyone. Just worried that this thing takes off and its swamped come Saturday.

Absolute disgrace that the FAI are AGAIN doing nothing that looks like hard work!!!!!
    Last edited by John2626; 08/10/2007 at 12:02 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    No, he wouldn't

The German FA have endorsed the event emailing all their fans who bought tickets for the game with the details.

See this is what a proper FA does, not just happy with raking in the money, they actually try and help out the ordinary fan.
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

72 Posts
    bandwagon jumpers !!

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...k=view&id=2492

No mention of a contribution to the event or charity.

soccerc for the FAI chief exec. job !!

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by co. down green View Post
    No mention of a contribution to the event or charity.
    A number of novelty events for charity are planned. The organisation Headway Ireland has been nominated as the principal beneficiary of any funds raised. The organisation serves those whose lives have been affected by such as brain haemorrhages and strokes.

Richard Sadlier, the former Irish international, has agreed to take part in the money-raising events and Stephen Quinn's No 8 shirt from the recent U21 game against Portugal will be offered for auction.

Paul McGrath has also presented the organisers with a signed shirt and a signed copy of his book for the event.

72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Are the FAI organising or contributing to the charity events?

Quote Originally Posted by co. down green View Post
    Are the FAI organising or contributing to the charity events?
    Yes.....they're sending Stephen Ireland to do a Q & A session, with all proceeds going to Help the Aged!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    Yes.....they're sending Stephen Ireland to do a Q & A session, with all proceeds going to Help the Aged!
    Highly unwelcome and unnecessary comment
    Last edited by soccerc; 10/10/2007 at 1:30 PM.
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

Just an update to confirm the pick up point in Dublin City centre for those wishing to attend the Ireland Germany Fan Fest in McDowell's Inchicore.

The coaches will depart from the Clifton Court Hotel on Eden Quay ( location just off O'Connell Bridge heading east along the river Liffey) starting at 1pm Irish time
    Last edited by soccerc; 10/10/2007 at 1:31 PM.

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

Soccerc not too sure if this was answered already but will the venue be big enough to accommodate so many people? Deffo interested in going but don't fancy queuing half an hour at the bar!

and well done, looks like it'll be a great success...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    Soccerc not too sure if this was answered already but will the venue be big enough to accommodate so many people? Deffo interested in going but don't fancy queuing half an hour at the bar!

and well done, looks like it'll be a great success...
    That is the big imponderable though you won't be waiting half an hour for beer, trust me!

If it is successful space will be tight but the bar staff are very efficient and it is planned to have a temporary bar in the outside smoking area.

When seeking a venue I approached a number of places but they either didn't want to know or expressed an interest yet never got back to me.

Good Luck with it lads. Wont make it meself as Syringicore is a tad out of the way!

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    That is the big imponderable though you won't be waiting half an hour for beer, trust me!

If it is successful space will be tight but the bar staff are very efficient and it is planned to have a temporary bar in the outside smoking area.

When seeking a venue I approached a number of places but they either didn't want to know or expressed an interest yet never got back to me.

Thats fair enough...I may bring my trusty hip-flask just in case!
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    Thats fair enough...I may bring my trusty hip-flask just in case!
    Just in case? It's a necessity at Ireland games, great added to the coffee in Croker

I'll be there + 2...

3,499 Posts
    I will be in attendance, along with at least two, and as many as four others

Angry

Lads are ye all aware that a member of YBIG Forums rang the FAI to ask about this event and they (the FAI) took full credit for organising it and they had nothing whatsoever to do with it???

47 Posts
    Will be going along as well. For a while at least. Great idea and fair play to the people who organised. P.S. **** you FAI.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

Yeah seen they posted it on their website, it looks like they are trying to cling on to it alright!
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast