Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Strip Sagas

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Read the thread. We had both our kits with us.
    LIES,PURE LIES!!
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    LIES,PURE LIES!!
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Read the thread. We had both our kits with us.
    Yeah? .... And? ...... So? ...... How is that related to my question?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Yeah? .... And? ...... So? ...... How is that related to my question?
    Bohs brought two wearable kits. Not their fault Buttimer is an eejit.

but its not Buttimers fault Bohs only brought one kit!!

137 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by robbiesdrogs View Post
    how does bohs home kit clash with waterfords then
    It doesn't, it clashed with Buttimer's black top.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

Quote Originally Posted by atfconline View Post
    It doesn't, it clashed with Buttimer's black top.
    If thats the case then the ref should have agreed to wear an optional jersey [Waterford white or one of the green and white hooped jersies]

Are clubs fined for not bringing a wearable kit?
    We did bring a wearable kit. I have seen numerous games this season with a ref wearing black when we wear red and black.

i was there when all this was going on,and it was the clash between the two teams jerseys that was the trouble,not the ref,but i'm sure Buttimer will come up with a new reason anyway,so he wont get any blame.

Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    i was there when all this was going on,and it was the clash between the two teams jerseys that was the trouble,not the ref,but i'm sure Buttimer will come up with a new reason anyway,so he wont get any blame.

This video is from Waterford v Bohs earlier in the season. I fail to see how either Bohs kit clashes with Waterford's home kit.

Last edited by pete; 17/09/2007 at 3:05 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by bohs til i die View Post
    This video is from Waterford v Bohs earlier in the season. I fail to see how either Bohs kit clashes with Waterford's home kit.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w2ExO5AQeB8
    Jaysis, who scored
    Who Cares?!

i still dont understand what was wrong with our blue home one,with Bohs wearing their white away one,strange decision by Buttimer in the first place. Cronin didnt help the situation though!

What did Cronin do?

Quote Originally Posted by bohs til i die View Post
    We did bring a wearable kit. I have seen numerous games this season with a ref wearing black when we wear red and black.
    I have no doubt that ye did, and for the record i think the ref is at fault here. I am not saying Bohs should incur a fine .... i am just asking if away teams get fined for not have a second kit (which wouldn't apply in this case for Bohs as they DID have a second kit) ..... its the ruling i am asking about, and its impact if broken.

I totally agree that it is amature that this happens when its something that could be rectified so easily. The logical solution is for the ref to have three shirts, black yellow and red (with the away team having a second as a given)

How can this actually happen though. Do you just contact the FAI and ask them to implement a rule change along the lines of "all refs should have the three kits for every match?."

I doubt that would actually work, given the reception that some of the correspondence to the FAI gets. I sincerely question does anyone there actually care about a situation like this as it does not directly impact on them. If it were something that was some what of a thorn in the side for them then they would act immediately, any other situation a ruling would be completely protracted.

Should fans contact their eL reps and ask them to put it forward, would this even expedite the situation? Would it do anything to even help it?

Foot.ie!

Good morning people.

For the record Mr. Buttimer had 3 kit colours with him (Black, Blue and Yellow). They are the 3 colours Umbro supply the Eircom League of Ireland match officials with. All match officials have these 3 colours at every game!

Also for the record, Bohemians FC did not have their home kit (Black & Red) with them. They only had one kit which was white jerseys with navy/blue sleeves, white shorts and white socks.
    Waterford wore their home kit of blue jerseys, shorts and socks. The problem on the night was the afore mentioned navy/blue sleeves on Bohemians jerseys. Under lights this poses a problem. Picture the potential scenario; at a corner kick 20 players are in the penalty area, the ball is swung in and arms are up in the air. In a barrage of players one of them deliberately raises his arm to punch it away (not the goalkeeper). The point i am making is that the jerseys must be completely different in accordance with the laws of the game. Blue sleeves on one set of jerseys and navy/blue sleeves on the other was a compromising position and the referee was correct in his decision.

Waterford offered Bohemians their away strip of all white jerseys which Bohemians to their credit agreed to wear. Then the gamesmanship began when waterford apparently withdrew their offer of loaning Bohs their white away jersey and instead offered a green & white hooped shirt which Bohs refused to wear. After kick off time had come and gone Waterford then agreed to loan Bohs their white shirts. If this is correct and i have no reason to believe its not, then i think everyone will agree that this was very childish behaviour from professional adults and all being correct, the incident could have completely been avoided.

Some people may think the referee was fussy on the night but he was technically correct. This is a problem which is creeping into the domestic game where kit manufacturers, clubs and administrators are turning a blind eye to the fact that many kits are clashing and it is in contravention to the laws of the game.
    Now that it has been highlighted twice in as many weeks should signify that it is a problem that needs to be addressed asap.

The real question here should be why one club only had one kit with them when they are required to have 2. It this day and age of professional football it portrays a very unprofessional image. I am not looking for fines or anything like that, all i am saying is that Clubs need to think as professionals. It does not do anything to enhance the image of the league when incidents as amateurish as this raise their heads.

If match officials can be professional enough to turn up with 3 different kit colours then surely clubs can arrive with the required 2.

This is not meant to open a debate on refereeing or anything like that, it is just to make people aware of the facts as people seem to be speculating and others are ill informed. Now that people are aware of the facts they can give a more educated opinion to events if they wish.

30 Posts
    A couple of seasons ago Dublin City had to borrow our away kit when they
    played in Mels. Unfortunately they ripped the necks on all the jerseys!

60 Posts
    God, lads, it's only a small issue that had little bearing on the game. Keep your shirts on!

I believe that my coat is over there
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Quote Originally Posted by Copa Mundial View Post
    Good morning people.

For the record Mr. Buttimer had 3 kit colours with him (Black, Blue and Yellow). They are the 3 colours Umbro supply the Eircom League of Ireland match officials with. All match officials have these 3 colours at every game!

Also for the record, Bohemians FC did not have their home kit (Black & Red) with them. They only had one kit which was white jerseys with navy/blue sleeves, white shorts and white socks.
    Waterford wore their home kit of blue jerseys, shorts and socks. The problem on the night was the afore mentioned navy/blue sleeves on Bohemians jerseys. Under lights this poses a problem. Picture the potential scenario; at a corner kick 20 players are in the penalty area, the ball is swung in and arms are up in the air. In a barrage of players one of them deliberately raises his arm to punch it away (not the goalkeeper). The point i am making is that the jerseys must be completely different in accordance with the laws of the game. Blue sleeves on one set of jerseys and navy/blue sleeves on the other was a compromising position and the referee was correct in his decision.

Waterford offered Bohemians their away strip of all white jerseys which Bohemians to their credit agreed to wear. Then the gamesmanship began when waterford apparently withdrew their offer of loaning Bohs their white away jersey and instead offered a green & white hooped shirt which Bohs refused to wear. After kick off time had come and gone Waterford then agreed to loan Bohs their white shirts. If this is correct and i have no reason to believe its not, then i think everyone will agree that this was very childish behaviour from professional adults and all being correct, the incident could have completely been avoided.

Some people may think the referee was fussy on the night but he was technically correct. This is a problem which is creeping into the domestic game where kit manufacturers, clubs and administrators are turning a blind eye to the fact that many kits are clashing and it is in contravention to the laws of the game.
    Now that it has been highlighted twice in as many weeks should signify that it is a problem that needs to be addressed asap.

The real question here should be why one club only had one kit with them when they are required to have 2. It this day and age of professional football it portrays a very unprofessional image. I am not looking for fines or anything like that, all i am saying is that Clubs need to think as professionals. It does not do anything to enhance the image of the league when incidents as amateurish as this raise their heads.

If match officials can be professional enough to turn up with 3 different kit colours then surely clubs can arrive with the required 2.

This is not meant to open a debate on refereeing or anything like that, it is just to make people aware of the facts as people seem to be speculating and others are ill informed. Now that people are aware of the facts they can give a more educated opinion to events if they wish.
    Very interesting indeed. Any information/facts on why a club who played in their home kit in the corresponding (away) tie earlier this season 'decided' to bring their away strip this time?
    Because if Gabriel doesn't rollerblade to the Chelsea Piers then the terrorists have truly won.

Quote Originally Posted by Copa Mundial View Post
    Bohs were at fault - Not have the kit
    Waterford were at fault - Schoolboy stupidity in the extreme

Dublin City ripping shirts they had borrowed???

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Bohs were at fault - Not have the kit
    Apparantly they were told by Buttimer in advance not to bring their home kit, and to bring their away kit, as it clashed with Waterford's home kit under the floodlights.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast