Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Idea for Protest against Delaney

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Im sure Croke park will be sold out for the game against brazil in feb, the FAI are expecting to make 4 million from this game...................a half full stadium for this friendly would be a good idea

Niceword on the planned protest on the radio this morning!! they mentioned the black t-shirts plan. Even dunphy is talking bout the protest fair play to ye lads I'd prefer to vote with my feet... only way to hurt them is in the pocket...

85 Posts
    Invade the pitch at the end of the match like "Escape to Victory" and get them fined....
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    http://www.eleven-a-side.com/offthef...p?newsid=29323
    Fans make “black shirt” protest plea

September 17, 2007

Irish football fans have been urged to wear black for the next Euro 2008 qualifier against Germany at Croke Park as a means of voicing their dissatisfaction with the management team and the FAI.

The Republic of Ireland’s hopes of reaching next summer’s finals in Austria and Switzerland are effectively over with three games to go following last week’s defeat in the Czech Republic.

The FAI has stated its commitment to manager Steve Staunton but many fans remain unconvinced by the Louth man’s capacity to deliver the improvement necessary to make the boys in green competitive in the next World Cup qualification campaign.

Eighty per cent of voters on [COLOR=#810081]the latest eleven-a-side.com poll believe Stan[/COLOR] should be sacked for his side’s Euro failure – and supporters posting messages on some internet forums have suggested wearing black to the game against Germany next month.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shanman2 View Post
    Niceword on the planned protest on the radio this morning!! they mentioned the black t-shirts plan. Even dunphy is talking bout the protest fair play to ye lads I'd prefer to vote with my feet... only way to hurt them is in the pocket...
    Good. If people are serious about this, that kind of publicity will have to be repeated in the days before the game. Otherwise this will be a tiny minority who achieve nothing. Unfortunately, I suspect that's what it'll be - it's not easy to get past supporter apathy.

Some of us on here remember the KRAM protest when Kilcoyne took Rovers out of Milltown. IMO it achieved nothing.
    [/QUOTE]

Are you for real? Did you expect us to sit down and say yes lucifer sell our ground no problem. What the KRAM protest did achieve was Rovers out of the sh1tpit that is tolka and new owners that ultimately saved the club.

Far more important than wearing black shirts.

3,489 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by carloz View Post
    Personally i think the black tshirts would be a dreadful idea. Having one fan among ever 300 hundred with the tshirts is hardly gonna create a statement. the only protest is not going
    Problem is, having one fan in 300 not going is going to be just as ineffective.

If all fans who plan on wearing a blackshirt congragated at Parnell Sq 2 hours before the match and marched to Croke Park together with banners etc you can be sure it would get some proper attention from the media the following day.
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

I doubt a protest at Croker on match day would work. Depending on what is done however. It takes a huge amount of organisation and half baked ideas are pointless. It has to be media backed and driven. The knife was hot after San Marino and Cyprus. I get the impression of resignation after Wed last. I think a protest outside Merrion Square leading up to the match and something then organised on match day would work. I have contacts etc media wise if someone gets this up and running.

Quote Originally Posted by el punter View Post
    If all fans who plan on wearing a blackshirt congragated at Parnell Sq 2 hours before the match and marched to Croke Park together with banners etc you can be sure it would get some proper attention from the media the following day.
    Not a bad idea but let them know before and the days leading up to match day. Have a proper spokesperson/figurehead who is well able to get opinion/anger across..

I'd go along with the protest the day of the Germany game outside of muppet mansions in Merrion square, a loud very vocal one but not one that ends up like the Dundalk one last december, when Maxi went ballistic.

After the protest is over maybe a march from Merrion square to Croke Park, I think that will capture attention far more because it will be in everybodies face not just Delaneys. O'Connell Street has plenty of marches down it, if there was one with a good turn out of fans then these clowns wouldn't be able to keep turning a blind eye.

I don't agree with boycotting games, besides its Delaney and co that are the problem and they've already got our money, so I think its important that people don't take it out on the team but take it out on Delaney and co.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Good post Sylvo, I would agree with that.
    In Trap we trust

best plan.. matchday protest at merrion sq. Even if there is only a few hundred of us, if the media are informed it will attract more attention, make LOTS of noise (foghorns, megaphones etc) and some visual impact like the black tshirt thing, banners and all the rest. Only potential problem is heavy handed and jittery cops could once again turn a peaceful protest into a disaster.

As I see it the best way to hurt the FAI would be to Boycott the Brazil friendly.
    The FAI will have to pay alot to host the game and it's in their pocket they must be hit.
    If they in turn are going to be so petty that they would knock block bookers off the list just because they wouldn't attend a friendly then in my view they do not deserve our support and by that I mean the FAI not the team.
    I have taken 5 tickets for every home match since 2000 including friendlies and as we all know during Kerr's reign that was alot of friendlies including such beauts as Bulgaria, China and Canada.
    These tickets were purchased because if not our competitive allocation would have been affected. In my opinion that's a huge commitment in supporting our country. The FAI were not shy in getting our hard earned cash in the past!

So a campaign should be put together now to boycott the Brazil game.
    There'll be snow on that one.

Quote Originally Posted by onenilgameover View Post
    Not a bad idea but let them know before and the days leading up to match day. Have a proper spokesperson/figurehead who is well able to get opinion/anger across..
    Ring Alan Hunter at 1800 LUNATIC.

Boycotting the Brazil game is admirable but it will sell out anyway. If you dont go every day tripper in the world will. If I got a freebie I'd go.

None of this is going to work because the majority of the fans who will be at these games will inevitably just get drunk down the pitch, turn out in their Ireland jerseys and then mutter about the beating the Germans handed out the next day. If you did manage to get the majority on ye're side lads I think a matchday protest outside of Merrion Square, coupled with the majority of Croke Park supporting Germany throughout the match would hit home with the media, and possibly the team/manager as well.

I feel that even bombing Dublin in the name of making changes to the FAI wouldn't be enough to shift Delaney from his power seat however, the guy just comes across as a bit of a dictator and will hang on for dear life

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Some of us on here remember the KRAM protest when Kilcoyne took Rovers out of Milltown. IMO it achieved nothing.
    Are you for real? Did you expect us to sit down and say yes lucifer sell our ground no problem. What the KRAM protest did achieve was Rovers out of the sh1tpit that is tolka and new owners that ultimately saved the club.

Far more important than wearing black shirts.

KOH[/QUOTE]
    No I didn't expect anyone to sit down and say yes Lucifer etc.
    New owners who couldn't save the club until the 400 club came along, and we're still in Tolka thanks in no small measure to Maguire, but that's for another day.

If supporters want to boyctt the game (particularly the Brazil one)they'd be better off, buying tickets first. Because there are a lot of people out there who will turn up to see Brazil and not give a fcuk about the FAI. Remember Shels and Depo. It was embarrasing watching people who didn't know a thing about the League scrambling for tickets.
    "Look at them. They're all out of step except my son Johnny"
    Mrs. Delaney

How about a minute of booing on the 10th, 16th, 50th, 60th and 75th minutes(The times of the opposition goals in our lowest ever point as an international team - the 5-2 defeat to Cyprus) People won't know whats going on so it will generate interest, it has the potential to be on a big scale to.

I and as far as I can see the majority on here accept that people are going to attend the games anyway so a boycott will be futile....Why I thought about the black shirt or jumper etc is that People will be attending anyway so make it something very simple or easy for the majority to do....The reason to do it in croke park is that the media print and visual are there and Delaney can't brush it off...also if it is a t shirt (Plain with no writing they can't take them from people or refuse entry.........People can support the team and make the statement clearly

I do think the booing at the time of cyprus's goals is a good idea......but it can be construed to be against the team

the protest if there is one needs to be simple and easy for the majority in the ground to follow and must require the least amount of effort ..otherwise we will have the usual die hard number of a couple of hundred who ultimately care about Irish Football but who the FAI will discount as a minority and the media will ignore.
    Bring back the plank

214 Posts
    we'll probably go and beat Germany now and keep Stan in the job for another 10 years. For a laugh the FAI should make contact with Mourinho and shock the footballing world by appointing him.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    coupled with the majority of Croke Park supporting Germany throughout the match
    F**k that! No chance.
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast