Page 7 of 19 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

Thread: Czech Republic 1-0 Ireland post match discussion thread

Worst ref ever. Hunts red card was a worse decision than Kilbanes red card last week for wigan and that was bad. Oh and has been confirmed whether Jankolovski was booked twice. I hope he was because that means that the ref will never be allowed to ref an international match again. I wouldn't wish that ref on anyone even the English.
    P.S- Fair play to Scotland. Great win away from home.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

200 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    How did Azerbaijan do?
    Cancelled due to civil war with Armenia

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    i never once said that "we are the only fans". What absolute garbage. I said that we cannot rely on the Premiership to develop our players anymore. A solution to that problem is to invest in and develop our domestic game so we can develop our own players and have our teams (with majority Irish born players) qualifying for Champions League and so on and so on. To do that we need 1) Government investment 2) FAI to ensure this happens and apply it professionally and 3) Irish people to start supporting their local team.

If you cant agree with even the jist of what i stated then you are thick and deserve to be hurting tonight and you will be for years to come.

edit: BB, how good would it be for the Irish international team if we had 10-15 Irish born players to cheer for in the CL every year than just Finnan and O'Shea? Actually forgetting the international team for a second, the most simple question is how good would it feel for us soccer fans to have 10-15 irish CL players to cheer on each year??
    i'm thick, and i'm hurtin. One question. do you think you wll see the day when irish lads will say "no im grand thaks mr. coppel, i'd rather stay at home and play for bray wanderers, because i'm still learning the game like, ........but thanks to reading for ther interest....fux sake - will you climb out of yor flask and smell the real world.....irish giovenment, eu, fai, local football. get a grip. talent lads will go to england, get over it - and forget anbout the FAS course to save the irish game.

70 Posts
    If you cant see how improving the national league would benefit the national team you need to lie down
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

2,770 Posts
    youre totally missing the point. Its a waste of time arguing with you if you dont even understand the point being made.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

youre totally missing the point. Its a waste of time arguing with you if you dont even understand the point being made.
    tell me your point in one line then, and i'll reposnd.

respond even... : )

230 Posts
    Sums it all up here...
    Last edited by strangeirish; 20/09/2007 at 4:04 PM.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by billybunter View Post
    tell me your point in one line then, and i'll reposnd.

respond even... : )
    how good would it be for the Irish international team if we had 10-15 Irish born players to cheer for in the CL every year instead of 1 or 2?
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    As Liam Brady cuttingly pointed out it's not the FAi but one man
    well done liam
    We'll never die!

its not unfair. We get what we deserve. As a country we deserve no success as we simply do not give a sh1t about Irish football. I know this probably isnt the time or the place but Irish people need to get up off their fat lazy arses and start supporting domestic club soccer if they want international success anytime in the next 20 years. The influx of foreigners to the premiership is killing our hopes of allowing English football to develop our players. The government with our "soccer mad taoiseach" needs to invest in domestic soccer. The FAI needs to ensure this happens. The Irish people need to get up and start being real football supporters. If the domestic game thrives, the international team thrives.

Look at our players - in the past there would be no Celtic fringe (occasionally good) player like McGeady near the squad, there would be no League One player in the squad - Jack and Mick barely played Championship players ffs. We can not rely on the Premiership anymore

Stan is not the problem. He shouldnt be there but he is not the problem. Irish football is ROTTEN from the inside out. From the FAI to the barstool.

The solution? It will take years no matter what direction it goes. My suggestion - start supporting the domestic game. Not just the barstoolers - EVERYONE - the Govt., the FAI, everyone. Sure we may finish third seeds this time round but its not going to be any better next time round.
    I think you're being naive if you believe that by supporting the domestic game, it will lead to a better international team. You'd need every man, woman and child going out at the weekend to support their local eircom league sides to even have a chance of competing against the big leagues of Europe. Unfortunately its a fact that most if not all of our best talent will end up in bigger leagues and to develop into top class internationals, that is exactly where they need to be. If you look at the greatest players that have ever played football, apart from Pele who retired in the 70s, all of them have played in the big leagues.

You are absolutely right about supporting our domestic game, but it's not the formula for guaranteeing success on the international stage.
    My Life story now available on DVD

how good would it be for the Irish international team if we had 10-15 Irish born players to cheer for in the CL every year instead of 1 or 2?
    point after point still noone is gettin your point, clueless
    We'll never die!

200 Posts
    The alternative is, of course, Irish players could try and go to other top European leagues. Countries like Serbia, Croatia, Bulgaria, Poland etc don't have leagues that are that strong. They rarely have teams in the group stages of the CL. But instead you find their players playing all across the top leagues in Europe.

I think if more Irish players played on the continent we would have a stronger team. The premier league, for all the hype and excitement, is not a very technical league, I'd argue the Bundesliga, French League, Serie A and Spanish League all breed a more technical set of players.

Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo View Post
    The alternative is, of course, Irish players could try and go to other top European leagues. Countries like Serbia, Croatia, Bulgaria, Poland etc don't have leagues that are that strong. They rarely have teams in the group stages of the CL. But instead you find their players playing all across the top leagues in Europe.

I think if more Irish players played on the continent we would have a stronger team. The premier league, for all the hype and excitement, is not a very technical league, I'd argue the Bundesliga, French League, Serie A and Spanish League all breed a more technical set of players.
    We should try a long term plan to keep them here though, i do see your point though
    We'll never die!

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Swordsman View Post
    I think you're being naive if you believe that by supporting the domestic game, it will lead to a better international team. You'd need every man, woman and child going out at the weekend to support their local eircom league sides to even have a chance of competing against the big leagues of Europe. Unfortunately its a fact that most if not all of our best talent will end up in bigger leagues and to develop into top class internationals, that is exactly where they need to be.
    You give me that spiel - and I'll show you Croatia, Norway, Finland, Iceland, Sweden, Belgium, Russia, and the Czechs

All have pretty well supported National Leagues - and decent top class players - majority of which still play, or have had long stints playing for clubs in their own National Leagues
    Last edited by Réiteoir; 12/09/2007 at 10:52 PM.
    Kom Igen, FCK...

How Did Azerbaijan do?

Cancelled due to civil war with Armenia
    <pedantry>
    A war between 2 countries isn't a civil war
    </pedantry>

Back to the point, did somebody give the Ireland players the wrong kick off time for tonight, because they didn't show up until there was half an hour gone?

200 Posts
    I'm all for long term plans, but a short/medium term one is needed too, otherwise football is in real danger of being sent into irreversible decline...

if the fai was up to it we'd have both but we all know they havent a clue
    We'll never die!

2,770 Posts

absolutely but its very easy to say, not so easy to do.

Ok, lets look at it this way.

The Way it is:
    Promising young Irish player, has no options at home so goes to english team. Gets coached by english coach with english mentality. Maybe he gets lucky and breaks into the team but usually they dont. He has learnt how to play "the english way". Stays in England because 1) his style is suited to their game and 2) not technically good enough for a foreign league to be interested in. Kid usually drops down the leagues and comes home.

The Way it could be:
    Promising young irish player has come through the FAI academy, based on Ajax (for the sake of argument) model. Irish teams competing regularly in europe with some degree of success so he decides to stay at home. His team qualifies for UEFA Cup or CL and the kid is noticed by Lyon or Bremen or whoever. Irish club gets decent offer and kid goes to Ligue 1, Bundesliga or whatever. The player, the FAI and the club all benefit leading to more investment etc etc

Think the Scandanavian way.
    Last edited by SkStu; 12/09/2007 at 10:58 PM.

absolutely but its very easy to say, not so easy to do.

Ok, lets look at it this way.

The Way it is:
    Promising young Irish player, has no options at home so goes to english team. Gets coached by english coach with english mentality. Maybe he gets lucky and breaks into the team but usually they dont. He has learnt how to play "the english way". Stays in England because 1) his style is suited to their game and 2) not technically good enough for a foreign league to be interested in. Kid usually drops down the leagues and comes home.

The Way it could be:
    Promising young irish player has come through the FAI academy, based on Ajax (for the sake of argument) model. Irish teams competing regularly in europe with some degree of success so he decides to stay at home. His team qualifies for UEFA Cup or CL and the kid is noticed by Lyon or Bremen or whoever. Irish club gets decent offer and kid goes to Ligue 1, Bundesliga or whatever. The player, the FAI and the club all benefit leading to more investment etc etc

Think the Scandanavian way.
    Exactly
    We'll never die!

The first step has to be to get kids playing 5- or 7-a-side games on small pitches rather than having them slogging around on full-sized mudbaths trying to kick a ball that comes up to their knees.

Page 7 of 19 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast