Worst ref ever. Hunts red card was a worse decision than Kilbanes red card last week for wigan and that was bad. Oh and has been confirmed whether Jankolovski was booked twice. I hope he was because that means that the ref will never be allowed to ref an international match again. I wouldn't wish that ref on anyone even the English.
P.S- Fair play to Scotland. Great win away from home.
LESS OF THE BULL NOW!
i'm thick, and i'm hurtin. One question. do you think you wll see the day when irish lads will say "no im grand thaks mr. coppel, i'd rather stay at home and play for bray wanderers, because i'm still learning the game like, ........but thanks to reading for ther interest....fux sake - will you climb out of yor flask and smell the real world.....irish giovenment, eu, fai, local football. get a grip. talent lads will go to england, get over it - and forget anbout the FAS course to save the irish game.
If you cant see how improving the national league would benefit the national team you need to lie down
Champions 2010
Champions 2011
Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
Bohs are going bust.
youre totally missing the point. Its a waste of time arguing with you if you dont even understand the point being made.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
Sums it all up here...![]()
Last edited by strangeirish; 20/09/2007 at 4:04 PM.
Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.
I think you're being naive if you believe that by supporting the domestic game, it will lead to a better international team. You'd need every man, woman and child going out at the weekend to support their local eircom league sides to even have a chance of competing against the big leagues of Europe. Unfortunately its a fact that most if not all of our best talent will end up in bigger leagues and to develop into top class internationals, that is exactly where they need to be. If you look at the greatest players that have ever played football, apart from Pele who retired in the 70s, all of them have played in the big leagues.
You are absolutely right about supporting our domestic game, but it's not the formula for guaranteeing success on the international stage.
My Life story now available on DVD
The alternative is, of course, Irish players could try and go to other top European leagues. Countries like Serbia, Croatia, Bulgaria, Poland etc don't have leagues that are that strong. They rarely have teams in the group stages of the CL. But instead you find their players playing all across the top leagues in Europe.
I think if more Irish players played on the continent we would have a stronger team. The premier league, for all the hype and excitement, is not a very technical league, I'd argue the Bundesliga, French League, Serie A and Spanish League all breed a more technical set of players.
You give me that spiel - and I'll show you Croatia, Norway, Finland, Iceland, Sweden, Belgium, Russia, and the Czechs
All have pretty well supported National Leagues - and decent top class players - majority of which still play, or have had long stints playing for clubs in their own National Leagues
Last edited by Réiteoir; 12/09/2007 at 10:52 PM.
Kom Igen, FCK...
I'm all for long term plans, but a short/medium term one is needed too, otherwise football is in real danger of being sent into irreversible decline...
absolutely but its very easy to say, not so easy to do.
Ok, lets look at it this way.
The Way it is:
Promising young Irish player, has no options at home so goes to english team. Gets coached by english coach with english mentality. Maybe he gets lucky and breaks into the team but usually they dont. He has learnt how to play "the english way". Stays in England because 1) his style is suited to their game and 2) not technically good enough for a foreign league to be interested in. Kid usually drops down the leagues and comes home.
The Way it could be:
Promising young irish player has come through the FAI academy, based on Ajax (for the sake of argument) model. Irish teams competing regularly in europe with some degree of success so he decides to stay at home. His team qualifies for UEFA Cup or CL and the kid is noticed by Lyon or Bremen or whoever. Irish club gets decent offer and kid goes to Ligue 1, Bundesliga or whatever. The player, the FAI and the club all benefit leading to more investment etc etc
Think the Scandanavian way.
Last edited by SkStu; 12/09/2007 at 10:58 PM.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
The first step has to be to get kids playing 5- or 7-a-side games on small pitches rather than having them slogging around on full-sized mudbaths trying to kick a ball that comes up to their knees.