Scotland take 6 points off France, Wales hammer Slovakia. These are the kinds of things we should be doing with our squad. If Stan gave 2 fooks about Irish football he'd admit he's not up to it, stand down and give another coach the last 3 games to build for the 2010 WC qualifiers. He consistently refuses to play his best team and keeps duds like Kilbane and O'Shea in the starting 11. The chap is not management material.
Well then he should've started him there had had Hunt on from the start. I admit he did better at left back but all he did at outside left was give the ball away.
Who to replace Stan? Prob should start a new thread for this is there is not already one. "world class manager"
"No one could make a greater mistake than he who did nothing because he could do only a little." - Edmund Burke
Oh well only another 2-3 years of this before Stan gets sacked. Guys who came out with credit tonight were Dunne, Doyle and Hunt (despite the dodgy sending off). Given was solid as we always get from him.
O'Shea, Kelly, Carsley and McGeady were poor. None of em are international class players and they struggled badly tonight. I thought Hunt brought a bit of bite to the team and livened us up but the sending off was the final nail in the coffin. I feel sorry for Stan, he's a nice fella but international managment is not for him, he's too stubborn to resign so we are gonna have to persevere for another 2/3 years. He'll ride out the criticism and come out with "we're building for the future" but I'd like to see some changes. Even if it's just to bring in a new right hand man to replace Bobby Robson.
Why were we so negative and uninspiring in the first 25 minutes? They looked clueless out there. I expected us to get at em and put some kind of pressure on the Czech's.
I'm not even gonna start slagging off JOS positioning for the goal.
"If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.
You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!
The thing with Stan is, if he resigns now he might still be remembered as the great servant to Irish football who won 102 caps. If he stays he'll be remembered as the clueless pleb who took us into the footballing doldrums. We'll be 4th seeds in our WC group and, unless something drastic happens, many more qualification groups to come. It'll be a long time before we ever get to taste another WC/EC Finals.
"We are in a building process. I said that from day one. It's coming along nicely," said the Irish manager.
Low and behold he comes out with this beauty.
"If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.
how can you say that? There is a chronic shortage of talent if this is the best we can pick. Shay Given and Robbie Keane (sometimes) and maybe Finnan are the only world class players in there. The absent Duff hasnt been world class in about 4 years. The rest are bottom of premiership, Championship and League One bog-standard players.
Nick Colgan - Barnsley
Colin Doyle - Birmingham City
Shay Given - Newcastle United
Wayne Henderson - Preston North End
Richard Dunne - Manchester City
Steve Finnan - Liverpool
Kevin Foley - Wolverhampton Wanderers
Stephen Kelly - Birmingham City
Paul McShane - Sunderland
John O’Shea - Manchester United
Lee Carsley - Everton
Jonathon Douglas - Leeds United
Darron Gibson - Manchester United
Stephen Hunt - Reading
Stephen Ireland - Manchester City
Kevin Kilbane - Wigan Athletic
Aiden McGeady - Celtic
Alan O’Brien - Hibernian
Darren Potter - Wolverhampton Wanderers
Andy Reid - Charlton Athletic
Kevin Doyle - Reading
Robbie Keane - Tottenham Hotspur
Andy Keogh - Wolverhampton Wanderers
Shane Long - Reading
Daryl Murphy - Sunderland
Why are Scotland beating France? Because they have a decent domestic league with 2 teams that qualify regularly for the CL. That allows them to nurture and develop their talent. Until the FAI come along and try to take it off them.
Why are Wales worse than us (with a very similar standard squad)? They have an even worse domestic league than us. Due to an agreement made with the english FA back in the 50's (i think) which coincidentally was the last time that Wales had a successful international team.
How can everyone just ignore the problem when its so f*ckin obvious? Blame Stan or O'Shea or whoever if you want but its not going to make a blind bit of difference until we get football at home sorted out. Mark my words.
biscuit - sorry man, i knew what you meant but i had to say what i did.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
The Model Club
Tell all the Bohs you know
that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
and it's not gonna be three
and it's not gonna be four
it's more likely to be 5-1.
but there certainly no better than us
SkStu is right,but ive always said the same to those who dont go to games and all i get is why would i when its ****!
We'll never die!
I'd be surprised to ever see him wear the green shirt again. We might as well give Potter/Gibson a go against Germany. As Stan says we're building for the future
I noticed Whelan giving Carsley a lot of stick for not making himself available for the ball. I was more bothered that he wasn't picking up the runners from MF nor tidying up the MF.
and well done to Scotland. Fantastic result, by sounds of it they were well organised at the back.
Not Stans fault he's in the situation but he should do the honourable thing in admitting he's not the man for the job and step down. 102 caps stands for nothing in this job, it doesn't give ye managerial know-how. He knows he's on a learning curve but he should also know he's doing the country a disservice persuing his apprenticeship in a job with the expectancy of the nation to succeed.
More of the same I'm afraid and it's just not good enough. Full stop.
Yeah, excellent result for Scotland, I hope they make it. That way Alan Hansen will be doubly disappointed next summer, with hilarious consequences as usual.
But seriously, it would be excellent to see them in the finals, particularly when you think of the group they've had. Most people (myself included) gave them no chance in hell.
"Life is like a hair on a toilet seat. Sooner or later you are bound to get pi$$ed off."
"In this league, a draw is sometimes as good as a win" - Steve Morison
good result for you tonight Cymro. Go easy on us in Cardiff!!!