Bellamy by all accounts had a blinder, I saw one of his goals and his pace left the defender for dead. Toshack has a bit of breathing space after that fine win I'd imagine.
Fair play to your Lads Cymro.Toshack the genius?![]()
Bellamy by all accounts had a blinder, I saw one of his goals and his pace left the defender for dead. Toshack has a bit of breathing space after that fine win I'd imagine.
"If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.
You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!
Not sure if Toshack is a genius but it certainly goes to show what a decent manager with a limited squad of players can do. If we had a decent manager, we'd be wiping the floor with the Slovakia's and Cyprus' of this world, home and away, and we'd be taking 4 points off of the Czechs too.
Well at the moment it's going: good performance; bad performance; good; bad etc. We have 3 more games, so we're due a poor one when we play you going by the above, which I call Toshack's third law of inconsistency.
So expect us to flop spectacularly when we meet in Cardiff after having put a record 25 past San Marino and prior to that having repeated our most recent performance in Nicosia, against Cyprus away.
And yes, Bellamy had a great game, if not for him we may well not have even won never mind 5-2.
"Life is like a hair on a toilet seat. Sooner or later you are bound to get pi$$ed off."
"In this league, a draw is sometimes as good as a win" - Steve Morison
View from Sweden
I’m by no means a religious man, but tonight showed not only that there is a God, but that he has two distinctive characteristics- he likes his football, and he’s one vindictive *******.
http://www.chatsoccer.eu/blog/
http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg
"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004
Looking at them tonight i think they have better players man for man
Champions 2010
Champions 2011
Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
Bohs are going bust.
Go through their team. I don't believe they have. The only area where they seem stronger than us is in central midfield where they have Ferguson and Brown.
Their strikers tonight were McFadden (Everton benchwarmer) and O'Connor (don't see him scoring much at Birmingham). We have two strikers who are regular goalscorers in the Premiership (albeit Doyle for only one season).
McManus and Davie Weir (who must be 43 by now) in central defence (are they any better than Dunne and McShane?)
Given v Gordon
Last edited by Maroon 7; 12/09/2007 at 9:53 PM.
cant even remember how many times the commentator on bwin had even said how ireland had no organization in the second half. by the 80th minute it was kamikaze type stuff, everyone just running chasing the ball like an under 7s match
It's not as simple as just having a good league. Good footballing nations often have comparitively crappy leagues and vice versa. The Russian league is a top 10 European league, Russia are not a top 10 European team. The SPL is a top 10 European league, Scotland (in spite of recent results) are probably not a top 10 European team, although they are closer than Russia.
Ireland and Wales both have leagues ranked in the bottom 15/20 of Europe and yet have better national sides than that by comparison.
I would say the reason we are both currently failing at international football is largely down to the fact that a smaller percentage of our population plays football as a first sport than a lot of other European nations. Although we still do reasonably well considering our pitiful overall populations (4 and 3 million respectively). Scotland have a similar population but football is by far the biggest sport there.
Anyway, here, it's the rugby that stops us from succeeding, over in Ireland, it's probably a combination of Gaelic sports and rugby. That's the way I see it anyway. We'll always have good and bad teams in patches no matter how much money is pumped into our leagues because no one plays the bleeding game.
"Life is like a hair on a toilet seat. Sooner or later you are bound to get pi$$ed off."
"In this league, a draw is sometimes as good as a win" - Steve Morison
with a decent manager we would had a great chance to quailfiy out of this group for euro 2008, lets hope the Fai see sense and sack stan before our chance of getting to the world cup are finished
stan out![]()
http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg
"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004
jaysus - just what i need - the eircom league 'martyrs" stirrung up the 'we're the only fans" . will ya ever for once and for all foook off....... ye're great - you gi top finn harps on a wet tuesday night with only a cup of bovril, and down to cork, and over to limerick, blah, blah, blah..... good luck - yiz are gettin annoying with the same old shiite.
Have to say i think some of the players arent up to it aswell as the manager
Champions 2010
Champions 2011
Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
Bohs are going bust.
Dunphy's finest hour as a broadcaster tonight. Agreed with every word for a change.
i never once said that "we are the only fans". What absolute garbage. I said that we cannot rely on the Premiership to develop our players anymore. A solution to that problem is to invest in and develop our domestic game so we can develop our own players and have our teams (with majority Irish born players) qualifying for Champions League and so on and so on. To do that we need 1) Government investment 2) FAI to ensure this happens and apply it professionally and 3) Irish people to start supporting their local team.
If you cant agree with even the jist of what i stated then you are thick and deserve to be hurting tonight and you will be for years to come.
edit: BB, how good would it be for the Irish international team if we had 10-15 Irish born players to cheer for in the CL every year than just Finnan and O'Shea? Actually forgetting the international team for a second, the most simple question is how good would it feel for us soccer fans to have 10-15 irish CL players to cheer on each year??
Last edited by SkStu; 12/09/2007 at 10:22 PM.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
Ref was a disgrace tonight, Hunt' tackle was not even a free kick!
Stan will not be sacked, be kept on by goon John Delaney,
What to hope for in the future, Stan learns from mistakes, hopefully he learns from these harrowing experiences and does better int hte next qualifiying campaign when we are third seeds and have an easier qualifying group. The three lads on RTE (Giles, Dunphy & Brady were all spot on in their remarks) Shows how bad Sovakia are when Wales thump hem 5-2 away!!!!!.
I wish Stan would go but he is young and thinks he needs hte job at this stgae in his career. But he shoudl stand aside and let someone better takover, but who is there???????? Is there anyone at that price? So let him stay on for next campaign hopefully he will learn but if I played soccer for Ireland I would not like him as manager. I have have good and bad managers at work and it makes some difference to your perfomance and the same is happening to the Ireland soccer team.
Yours in hope,
Soccer fan
Homer did it ever occur to you to let go of the Candy?
How did Azerbaijan do?