Thread: latest suspensions and sanctions

It's funny how it's only Galway fans who seem to ever "fall" over our wall. I think ye used that excuse with the guy in the Oliver Davey incident a few years back too. The supporters trust should arrange a few lessons on how to stand at a wall without falling over it, it'll save ye some fines.
    Must be something in the water
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

Dave Mooney suspended.....YES!!!!!

115 Posts
    So the fines for throwing bottles and throwing paper are the same eh?!

Also what's the craic with Dundalk apparently playing 2 matches with inadequate facilities on the same day against Bohs and Derry?!
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

One was an under-21s I'd say.

1,552 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post

Also what's the craic with Dundalk apparently playing 2 matches with inadequate facilities on the same day against Bohs and Derry?!
    Obviously if you're going to play two games at once you should provide at least three dressing rooms, and Dundalk obviously didn't.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post

I thought that was rather strange when reading through them

One could have been an U21 and the other an U18 game?
    Kom Igen, FCK...

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Obviously if you're going to play two games at once you should provide at least three dressing rooms, and Dundalk obviously didn't.
    Ah Jaysus, are we supposed to bring dressing rooms to away matches now?!

1,552 Posts
    Yes. Yes you are.

89 Posts
    Another litany of ridculous fines from the FAI.

One of the key points we can sell the League with is the atmosphere we generate.

Do we capitalise on this? No, instead we fine the clubs where the supporters attempt to create a spectacle.

Plus ca change.......
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Time for another hard-hitting piece on the official website Kev.
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

It's getting ridiculous now.

Clubs are having a tight enough time of it with dropping attendances, proper taxes, conforming to licensing etc with little or no help from the FAI/Government without having to pay out stupid bloody fines.

I'm all for a more professional approach but every club in this league struggles from year to year to finance themselves without having to pay stupid fines. €1,000 between Harps and Derry for their fans throwing toilet roll. That is the equivalent of around 70 paying punters. The fine for a throwing of a bottle is fair enough and it shouldn't happen, but it does.

It doesn't take a genius to see that these fines are coming thick and fast in the year that the FAI have to pay hand-over-fist for Croke Park.

Does anyone else see the irony of the FAI fining anyone for inadequate facilities when their own International team have never even owned a pitch, let alone a stadium!

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaime View Post
    Time for another hard-hitting piece on the official website Kev.
    Here we go

www.derrycityweb.net
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    Dave Mooney suspended.....YES!!!!!
    Is that not for our game?...please please

Any game where Longford lose their top scorer is good news to me.

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Can someone explain inadequate facilities? Did some clubs remover something from the grounds that were there all season?
    Bog roll. Merrion Square have decided hearts and minds are a waste of time, the way to get through to people is by waging the great Toilet Paper War from Dalymount to Finn Park - now you get fined if you should have it but don't and if you do have it but shouldn't.
    Revenge for 2002

It's funny how it's only Galway fans who seem to ever "fall" over our wall. I think ye used that excuse with the guy in the Oliver Davey incident a few years back too. The supporters trust should arrange a few lessons on how to stand at a wall without falling over it, it'll save ye some fines.
    No doubt he was just leaning on it at the time.Should the club also be fined for having dangerous walls?
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

I'm sure you will be glad to know that the fines will most likely be paying for the free lunch that the hard working journos and FAI-stasi have coming their way at the Clarion Hotel next Tuesday!

Dear all,

The Football Association of Ireland will hold a seminar about club licensing for members of the media on Tuesday, September 18, at 11am in the Clarion Hotel, Dublin Airport

After the seminar, the FAI would like to invite all participants to lunch

Most ridiculous fine ever btw
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Is that not for our game?...please please
    Yes but remember Dave Mooney wouldnt score 14 goals without the help of his fellow teamates. He is not THAT good. He is Brilliant all the same

We have others who can do a decent job anyway!