Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Waterfords Capacity for Cup Quarter Final

Unfortunate that the gound can't hold moe pain in the arse if some people will miss it but we have to progress in terms of fascilities for the longer term gain.
    At least it's on TV for those who can't get in

As opposed to which stand?

They've started digging up the opposite side of the pitch to construct another stand.

I'd have thought bucket seats behind each goal would have been feasible.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

They're also doing ground work behind the goals, or certainly the city end.
    Anyway, if they had bucket seats behind the goal (and track etc.) you'd be as far back as the Yellow House.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

144 Posts
    Surely our lads will get tickets down there, Waterford will hardly sell 1100 tickets.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Only 205 Tickets for FAI Ford Cup Quarter Final
    Cork City FC wish to advise supporters that the club has received a very limited allocation of tickets from Waterford United FC for the upcoming FAI Ford Cup Quarter Final in the RSC, Waterford on Saturday 22nd of September.

Due to ongoing construction work, the capacity at the venue is restricted to 1,240. Waterford United FC have agreed to allocate Cork City 205 seated tickets, an allocation above the 10% of capacity to which the away club is entitled under competition rules.

Demand will obviously outweigh supply for this match, and it is with regret that all Cork City supporters who wish to travel to this fixture will not be accommodated.

Our allocation of tickets for this game will be made available to supporters in the form of a free draw.

The draw will take place at the upcoming FAI eircom League of Ireland match against Longford Town, this Friday 14th of September. Tickets for the draw will be available to supporters upon entry through the Curragh Road end, with the draw conducted at half time.

The winning draw ticket numbers will be displayed on CorkCityFC.ie, within the Evening Echo and at the club shop at 93 Grand Parade from 9am Saturday.

Winners will have until close of business on Monday 17th of September to claim, purchase and receive their ticket from the club shop at 93 Grand Parade. No exceptions.

Fair enough.
    Last edited by Risteard; 11/09/2007 at 4:23 PM.

You could argue City should have had a draw for season ticket holders first and another draw if tickets were still left.

I suppose they want to get people to come to the Longford game.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Quote Originally Posted by paudie View Post
    You could argue City should have had a draw for season ticket holders first and another draw if tickets were still left.
    I think it would be fair to allocate to season ticket holders first.

http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u...7/IMG_2115.jpg

This is what it looks like right now, not a lot can be done. As for not televising the match because of poor atmosphere, obviously you didn't see the last match against Sligo on TG4!

48 Posts
    The moaning from the Cork fans (and a mod) here is unreal. Waterford are building a fine new stand and in order to do so they're shutting off the standing sections of the ground; to keep spectators safe. It's not really their choice or an ideal situation for them but they have to do this to improve facilities. I advice you lot get over it and move on.

I didn't realise there was work going on behind the goals.
    What's that?
    Just proper railings?

Not sure exactly, but there's a lot of work being done on the whole site, not just for the running track/football ground side of it. I think there's to be a swimming pool etc. to go in eventually.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Its a kip anyway, Cobh will be a much better place to go to next season.

Cant agree with Citys distribution plans either though

Quote Originally Posted by Philly View Post
    The moaning from the Cork fans (and a mod) here is unreal. Waterford are building a fine new stand and in order to do so they're shutting off the standing sections of the ground; to keep spectators safe. It's not really their choice or an ideal situation for them but they have to do this to improve facilities. I advice you lot get over it and move on.
    If that was Pats in the RSC and they offered 205 tickets and then didn't give season ticket holders first chance to purchase tickets I think I'd have a good moan about it (and then buy one of Waterfords allocation).
    This game should probably have been moved problems is to where?
    I wouldn't give up home advantage.

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    I didn't realise there was work going on behind the goals.
    What's that?
    Just proper railings?
    City end is being used for access to the building site on far side, other end is inaccessable, again because of construciton and is also being used as parking space for machinery.

As for the WUMing about us not selling 1100 tickets etc

I think it's fair enough and I'm a season ticket holder.
    I expect most season ticket holders miss one, two or three games a season and there's probably another thousand who go to that amount of games.

It does kinda sum up the FAIs attitude towards their own competition though doesn't it. I mean, they hardly are going to make it a spectacle with that kind of crowd in all fairness. Even if it went up the road to Buckley Park it would be a better option.

I hate saying it but ...... its typical !!

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    It does kinda sum up the FAIs attitude towards their own competition though doesn't it. I mean, they hardly are going to make it a spectacle with that kind of crowd in all fairness. Even if it went up the road to Buckley Park it would be a better option.

I hate saying it but ...... its typical !!

Are you saying the fai fixed the draw this way to make themselves look bad?

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by half_full View Post
    As for the WUMing about us not selling 1100 tickets etc
    Make that 1000 now seeing as we've got over 200.

Its just circumstances, fair play to them for trying to improve the place cos by God it needs it. Its on TV so its not the end of the world.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

ye got your 200 and watever tickets,more than ye should have got, all people are in the stand, build a bridge and get over it!!
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

Seems wierd that Waterford wouldn't at least look at moving this game to a bigger venue.

With such a small crowd - and a running track between them and the pitch - there's not going to be much of an advantage to playing at 'home'.

What crowd would this game have got with no restrictions - 3,000 ? In which case, playing it somewhere with a bigger capacity would see Waterford get almost 3-times as much gate income. And I'm sure, like all our clubs, they could do with that money.

I suspect this gamke will look dreadful on TV.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast