Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Jim Davidson

Contrary to popular belief I don't read every post here...

most of them mind

Have no idea to the first question POS. Although this might answer you, I reserve judgement until I see polaroids

If your maths aint great all will be revealed on Monday!

Oi POS stop trying to pimp me. Am very happily going out with some poor fecker for ages now!

Dodge, I dont blame you being wary of us women who like football, we must be really strange, especially ones who follow Monaghan United, in fact anything to do with Monaghan is strange, oh wait where is your family from...........
    Last edited by Magicme; 12/09/2007 at 11:24 AM.

Oi POS stop trying to pimp me. Am very happily going out with some poor fecker for ages now!
    Plonnnnnnnnkkk.....goes the sound of DCFCSteves heart.

The producers know Davidson is an idiot and as an earlier poster said I wouldnt get annoyed because they just want publicity for the show.
    Reminds me of Oliver Reeds infamous appearance on late night programme After Dark circa early ninties when the producers plied him with drink.
    During a discussion on the problems with overt masculinity(or something on those lines) he outraged feminist writer Kate Millet by declaring women "love a damn good seeing to" and tried to roll on her and kiss her.As his behaviour got worse Channel 4 declared there was a technical fault and switched to a programme about coal mining.It eventually got back to the programme where later Reed threatened that if someone didnt get him some mushy peas he would get his **** out and slap it on the table in front of him.
    I have met TV people through work whilst living in London and a more pretenious self regarding bunch you will not meet(well the younger ones anyway)

Quote Originally Posted by baileban View Post
    lads - why don;t ye all take your moronic and childish flirting and pining for some love on to another thread and maybe call it something like "idiots who aren't getting any - please post here"
    Fair play to ye!
    Sorry baileban, somehow loads of threads am involved in wind up in this way. *gives you a hug to say sorry*

I really cant figure it out.

Actually someone who can modify should move the off topic bits of this conversation outta here.

Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    The producers know Davidson is an idiot and as an earlier poster said I wouldnt get annoyed because they just want publicity for the show.
    Reminds me of Oliver Reeds infamous appearance on late night programme After Dark circa early ninties when the producers plied him with drink.
    During a discussion on the problems with overt masculinity(or something on those lines) he outraged feminist writer Kate Millet by declaring women "love a damn good seeing to" and tried to roll on her and kiss her.As his behaviour got worse Channel 4 declared there was a technical fault and switched to a programme about coal mining.It eventually got back to the programme where later Reed threatened that if someone didnt get him some mushy peas he would get his **** out and slap it on the table in front of him.
    I have met TV people through work whilst living in London and a more pretenious self regarding bunch you will not meet(well the younger ones anyway)

cheifo, i think i remember that. That was quite funny. I must have seen a re-run or something of it though.

Firstly I'd like to point out that I'm not homophobic...one of my very best friends is gay and I've been to gay clubs with him on nights out where I actually had a really good laugh. Certainly got chatted up more than I do in straight clubs...

However, I think as usual this is all a ruse to improve the flagging ratings of a crap tv reality show, and also to revive the careers of an aging has-been comedian and a gay wannabe who will never be.

Jim Davidson is what he is; arrogant, rude and improper. What he said about shirt-lifting is perceived by many as very wrong simply because it was done on television. If he said it down the pub nobody would have given him a second thought. What he's guilty of is airing his opinions on tv, nothing else. He has every right to be a homophobe...if it disgusts him, then so what. There's an awful lot more out there like him, and an awful lot more on this site I'd bet who are too afraid to say it. Homophobia isn't a crime.

Is 'heterophobia' a term? If it is, you can be damn sure that there's a hell of a lot of 'heterophobes' out there. I remember how during Big Brother Brian Dowling made constant references as to how he found the whole conscept of men and women shagging very off putting indeed. Nobody leapt on his back over that.

This whole debate is crass. Jim Davidson is an idiot. But is he an idiot because he made a knob of himself on National television. Brian Dowling is an idiot who's going to jump on the bandwagon over it. Thanks a lot Jim Davidson, now we're going to have to look at his horrible mug and listen to his whining on tv for a lot longer. You've just added 5 years to his career. Jim Davidson and Jade Goody should never ever have a child....

I see where you are coming from Pinballwizard but dont you think that if someone puts themselves out there on the TV they should know that they will be crucified for things like that. He is not a total dumbass so he should know better than to use terminolgoy like that. Alot of impressionalble young kids/teenagers watch Hell's Kitchen & are being introduced to offensive language like that which they would not necessarily hear elsewhere.

As have said before what really got my goat was his reference to being "normal" when I am sure there are aspects of him that are not considered normal. There is no such thing as normal. We all have things that set us outside the common perception of normal so how dare he use the thing that sets Brian apart as a stick to beat him with and infer that he is abnormal?

Well I think Davidson really needs to take a good look at himself & then go off and live out his life quietly back in Dubai.

Quote Originally Posted by PinBallWizard View Post
    Jim Davidson is what he is; arrogant, rude and improper. What he said about shirt-lifting is perceived by many as very wrong simply because it was done on television. If he said it down the pub nobody would have given him a second thought.
    I take issue with this. Whilst not many may have confronted Davidson if he said it in the pub, the same people who found his comments abhorrent on TV would have the same feelings if he said it in person.

What he's guilty of is airing his opinions on tv, nothing else. He has every right to be a homophobe...if it disgusts him, then so what... Homophobia isn't a crime
    Homophobia isn't a crime, but that doesn't mean its OK. There's a world of diiference between not being into something, and making fun of somebody for their sexual preference, or worse discriminating on that basis.

Is 'heterophobia' a term? If it is, you can be damn sure that there's a hell of a lot of 'heterophobes' out there... Nobody leapt on his back over that.
    Discrimination of all kind is wrong. We can't be using the schoolyard logic of "I didn't care when he slagged me so why should he care that I slagged him"

Jim Davidson is an idiot... Brian Dowling is an idiot
    Agreed 100%, and as I've already said I haven't seen the show (in fact I haven't watched ITV in years...).

Firstly I'd like to point out that I'm not homophobic...one of my very best friends is gay and I've been to gay clubs with him on nights out where I actually had a really good laugh. Certainly got chatted up more than I do in straight clubs...

However, I think as usual this is all a ruse to improve the flagging ratings of a crap tv reality show, and also to revive the careers of an aging has-been comedian and a gay wannabe who will never be.

Jim Davidson is what he is; arrogant, rude and improper. What he said about shirt-lifting is perceived by many as very wrong simply because it was done on television. If he said it down the pub nobody would have given him a second thought. What he's guilty of is airing his opinions on tv, nothing else. He has every right to be a homophobe...if it disgusts him, then so what. There's an awful lot more out there like him, and an awful lot more on this site I'd bet who are too afraid to say it. Homophobia isn't a crime.

Is 'heterophobia' a term? If it is, you can be damn sure that there's a hell of a lot of 'heterophobes' out there. I remember how during Big Brother Brian Dowling made constant references as to how he found the whole conscept of men and women shagging very off putting indeed. Nobody leapt on his back over that.

This whole debate is crass. Jim Davidson is an idiot. But is he an idiot because he made a knob of himself on National television. Brian Dowling is an idiot who's going to jump on the bandwagon over it. Thanks a lot Jim Davidson, now we're going to have to look at his horrible mug and listen to his whining on tv for a lot longer. You've just added 5 years to his career. Jim Davidson and Jade Goody should never ever have a child....
    Great post, great rationale, dont see it too often on this site, rather bandwagon PC jumpers. The term you are looking for is "positive discrimination" and it is used by those in the "minority" all the time.

Quote Originally Posted by PinBallWizard View Post
    Homophobia isn't a crime.
    Yes it is, in Ireland at least if not in the UK. It's the Incitement to Hatred Act
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1989/...019/index.html

Is 'heterophobia' a term?
    Homophobia is a made-up word, being the conjunction of 'homo' from Latin and 'phobia' from Greek.

davidson is a toss pot nad a dinosaur..he shoulkdn't be given airtime

What Jim Davidson said was offensive and brian was right to feel offended but to let himself be reduced to tears etc..methinks Brian has other issues as well...I know gay people who would have just told Davidson to F*** Off and would have been raging with him...they would not have cried screaming they had never felt this vulnerable
    Bring back the plank

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Plonnnnnnnnkkk.....goes the sound of DCFCSteves heart.
    I'm tightening the noose and kicking the chair out from under my feet as we speak...

Farewell cruel forum........!!!

Feck - but that was a buzz !!!

Didn't realise that whole auto-erotic asphyxiation thing had so much going for it. So that's why Tory MP's are into it...!!

Anyways - back to Jim Davidsh!t....

the only time i ever felt vulnerable was Playing hurling without a helmut
    Bring back the plank

Watched the show up until lat sunday, and what i was thinking was brain dowling knew what he was doing the hole time, and knew that jim was going to pop sooner or later, jim davidson seemed a shadow of himself since big break comes across as a severely depressed man.

And i agreee with earlier poster jim davidson (at the moment) is a tosser. Brian Dowling is abigger tosser IMO, annoying ****. Destroyed SMTV!!!!
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc View Post
    Yes it is, in Ireland at least if not in the UK. It's the Incitement to Hatred Act
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1989/...019/index.html
    That's the worst written piece of legislation I've ever read.

I can't tell how that allows me to, e.g. refer to a convicted rapist as such, something which I'm certain is legal. Any proper legal punters on here? EDIT: Maybe 3(6)?

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    That's the worst written piece of legislation I've ever read.

I can't tell how that allows me to, e.g. refer to a convicted rapist as such, something which I'm certain is legal. Any proper legal punters on here? EDIT: Maybe 3(6)?
    If someone has been convicted of a crime, then you are allowed to refer to them by that crime - e.g. 'convicted rapist Seamus Flynn...'. It's a matter of legal fact if they were convicted.

If someone wasn't convited you couldn't refer to them in that way. At most you could say 'alleged rapist', but given the law in Ireland you'd be wise not to as you probably wouldn't get away with it if it was contested.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by baileban View Post
    if he was any sort of a man ( gay or otherwise ) he should have socked old JD in the kisser.
    He didn't resort to violence when provoked. What a loser.

Yes Brian overeacts sometimes but I admire him for being able to restrain himself & not lower himself to Jim's level by hitting him. Violence is not the answer.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast