Thread: MFA Junior Cup 2007/08

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HuRya View Post
    Result - 2nd Rnd
    Janesboro 2-2 Fairview (AET Janesboro won 5-4 on pens)

Munster Junior Cup 3rd Rnd Draw

Pallasgreen v Killmallock
    Star Rovers v Wembley
    Aisling A'cotty v Janesboro
    Ballynanty Rvs v Pike Rvs
    Knockainey v Caherconlish
    Corbally Utd v Regional

6 Winners will advance to the out of town stages for the "Open Draw".

Is the 3rd Rd on this Sunday?

clonmel and saint michaels sunday in second round munster cup. here saints are ready to unleash new signing john mernagh from athenry. he will be some strike partner for paul kennedy
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

I thought that the word on the street was that Mernagh was after signing for Pike no? he would be a good addition to Michaels though. He must be gettin alot of "expenses" for his travels all the way down to tipp then no Should be a cracker of a game pity one of the big guns have to go so early in the cup both teams have made it a habit of gettin far in the competition over the last number of years!

Quote Originally Posted by jug2004 View Post
    I thought that the word on the street was that Mernagh was after signing for Pike no? he would be a good addition to Michaels though. He must be gettin alot of "expenses" for his travels all the way down to tipp then no Should be a cracker of a game pity one of the big guns have to go so early in the cup both teams have made it a habit of gettin far in the competition over the last number of years!
    He got too greedy for Pike..

32 Posts

Mjc 3rd

Fixtures for Round 3 of the MJC are down for Sunday week 09/12/07
    Pallasgreen v Killmallock
    Star Rovers v Wembley
    Aisling A'cotty v Janesboro
    Ballynanty Rvs v Pike Rvs
    Knockainey v Caherconlish
    Corbally Utd v Regional

6 winners advance to "Open Draw" for out of town stages in Rd 4.

Quote Originally Posted by balls View Post
    clonmel and saint michaels sunday in second round munster cup. here saints are ready to unleash new signing john mernagh from athenry. he will be some strike partner for paul kennedy
    With Mernagh signing and Town without Aaron Moroney, this will tip the balance in Michael's favour. Will be close but I would have to fancy Michael's

Quote Originally Posted by Town Fan View Post
    With Mernagh signing and Town without Aaron Moroney, this will tip the balance in Michael's favour. Will be close but I would have to fancy Michael's
    ya ye paid big bucks for mernagh he was asking 100e_150e from teams in limerick plus clonmel fair play to them not paying him hes hardly playing for ye for nothing

41 Posts

Shameful.

Not exactly the best example to be setting for smaller clubs is it buying success.Strange thing about payin players is you can never be quite sure if he's playing for the club or his next big paypacket.I would hope for the sake of who ever signed him he dos'nt get tapped up the night before a big game by someone with a bit more money.

By the way what exactly do you tell the younger players tryin to break into your squad when they ask why ar'nt they given the chance for a break through.Sorry we'd rather pay for it than develope it.

I have never ever heard of a club building a successful junior team on the back of a pay cheque.But I have lots of examples of clubs who are up shiite creek because they put money into players who won them nothing instead of puttin a little time an effort into developing their younger players.
    Last edited by littleman; 28/11/2007 at 3:01 PM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Paying lads to play junior football is a complete joke, if a fella doesn't want to play for your club then you're better off without him no matter how good he is supposed to be.
    Paying players will only come back to haunt a club in the end, for one it will **** off the lads who aren't getting paid!!

Quote Originally Posted by Hoops 1967 View Post
    Paying lads to play junior football is a complete joke, if a fella doesn't want to play for your club then you're better off without him no matter how good he is supposed to be.
    Paying players will only come back to haunt a club in the end, for one it will **** off the lads who aren't getting paid!!
    Exactly...Now tell that to the rest of the Limerick crowd...Pity most can't tell the difference between travel expenses and wages...If both were the same, pike have been "paying" players for years before it was even thought of in Junior soccer...

I can tell you now,players like Dermot Phelan,Dave Morris and likes would have Fecked off years ago if Pike were paying big "wages" to mercs...

Quote Originally Posted by Green_Hoop View Post
    Exactly...Now tell that to the rest of the Limerick crowd...Pity most can't tell the difference between travel expenses and wages...If both were the same, pike have been "paying" players for years before it was even thought of in Junior soccer...

I can tell you now,players like Dermot Phelan,Dave Morris and likes would have Fecked off years ago if Pike were paying big "wages" to mercs...

Well davy wall must have been travelling by chopper to get 2 grand to come in from shannon if he only got it for expenses and not to play..As for Dermot phelan he would never leave cos know other club in town would have him..

And Dave morris fecking off might be a good thing for pike ????

we'll take 'em
    Mama Mia!!

Quote Originally Posted by themerryman View Post
    Well davy wall must have been travelling by chopper to get 2 grand to come in from shannon if he only got it for expenses and not to play..As for Dermot phelan he would never leave cos know other club in town would have him..

Yes and ofc you've seen Davy with his 2 grand no doubt....your probably his PA are you??Or did a 'friend of a friends friend' tell you?And Tell me a team Phelan wouldn't get into in town?? Stop making rubbish claims when you know nothing about it,only the rubbish you spout here..

41 Posts

Their's no smoke without fire

Quote Originally Posted by themerryman View Post

didnt phelan play with fairview

Quote Originally Posted by see's it View Post
    didnt phelan play with fairview
    I beleive he played with view for 1 season

32 Posts
    Yes he did play one seaosn with the View and also played before that with Granville, but whats that got to do with players being payed "expenses".

If Pike want to pay expenses then thats up to them, nothing to do with any other person, player or club.

41 Posts

Wo their Abbey

Wo their Abbey, I would'nt go throwing that statement out into the open air.Remember for clubs who apply for funding for developement,an Pike will have done so along with the rest of us. They have to also state that they are a non profit organisation.Thus they can except donations but cannot use those donations in any way that may be seen as to bring a profit to the club,I'd say winning the league an maybe the Fai junior cup by paying/expenses players might top up your coppers a bit in the long run.......

Secondly when or if a league of Ireland player is regraded part of the regrading is that that person will no longer reveive a wage or expense's for playing football,other wise he wont be allowed play junior football so all your doing by naming the clubs that pay players expenses is inviting an objection along the way in some competition.

From my own point of view it seems their are certain clubs in Munster doing this and the seem to receive an awlful lot of very negative posts on this website for doing so.To be perfectly honest to me an this is only my opinion,its basically an unfair advantage,or maybe even cheating.Some will agree,an I think I know who won't.
    Last edited by littleman; 30/11/2007 at 6:56 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Wo their Abbey, I would'nt go throwing that statement out into the open air.Remember for clubs who apply for funding for developement,an Pike will have done so along with the rest of us. They have to also state that they are a non profit organisation.Thus they can except donations but cannot use those donations in any way that may be seen as to bring a profit to the club,I'd say winning the league an maybe the Fai junior cup by paying/expenses players might top up your coppers a bit in the long run.......

Secondly when or if a league of Ireland player is regraded part of the regrading is that that person will no longer reveive a wage or expense's for playing football,other wise he wont be allowed play junior football so all your doing by naming the clubs that pay players expenses is inviting an objection along the way in some competition.

From my own point of view it seems their are certain clubs in Munster doing this and the seem to receive an awlful lot of very negative posts on this website for doing so.To be perfectly honest to me an this is only my opinion,its basically an unfair advantage,or maybe even cheating.Some will agree,an I think I know who won't.
    That is a fantastic post, it makes the most sense I have read on this site since I've joined. For starters any club club paying players to win a competition at junior level are psising into the wind. Is it not the amateur status of a player the makes the FAI such a unique competition along with the local lad who plays football for a club that he loves.

These clubs have raped their league and surrounding leagues for players for longer then I care to remember. Hence sufficating all other junior clubs who can't afford to pay players and won't pay players, as a result the decline in Junior soccer has been dramatic.

Why would young lads want to play when they know they have not got a hope of competing for a major honour no matter how much work they put in. Good on you "littleman" I'm glad someone finally said it.
    Last edited by shanman2; 30/11/2007 at 7:42 AM.
    Barca 2 vs manchester 0

so Pike are paying players again - it must be all of two days since this one came up

YYYYYYYYYAAAAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWWWWWNNNNNNNNNN

Page 6 of 25 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast