Page 9 of 25 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast

Thread: MFA Junior Cup 2007/08

Quote Originally Posted by Halfback View Post
    Heard that the game with Balla & Pike in MJ is definitely going ahead, LIT pitch inspected today and not a drop of water on it , in perfect condition. Should be a good game. Anyone any predictions ?
    In this weather the pitch in LIT is never a problem. But the wind is. The place is too open and if there is any sort of a wind at all it could ruin the game. The ball will be blown all over the place.

Hopefully, the weather will be alrite on sunday as this could be a cracking game.

Quote Originally Posted by Green_Hoop View Post
    So could every club whats your point?
    every other club dont come on this site shouting their mouths off at how good they are.only pike do that!

Question

Quote Originally Posted by gaidin View Post
    In this weather the pitch in LIT is never a problem. But the wind is. The place is too open and if there is any sort of a wind at all it could ruin the game. The ball will be blown all over the place.

Hopefully, the weather will be alrite on sunday as this could be a cracking game.
    Even in the best of weather it is very windy in the LIT as you said its wide open, so hopefully the weather will improve so it doesn't ruin the game.
    Pitch was inspected twice today by Balla and the referee and the game is definitely on. I'd say probably the only match that will be on tomorrow, should be a big crowd at it. My prediction is it could go all the way to penalties and Balla to win. Very tight game i would imagine.

Quote Originally Posted by Halfback View Post
    Even in the best of weather it is very windy in the LIT as you said its wide open, so hopefully the weather will improve so it doesn't ruin the game.
    Pitch was inspected twice today by Balla and the referee and the game is definitely on. I'd say probably the only match that will be on tomorrow, should be a big crowd at it. My prediction is it could go all the way to penalties and Balla to win. Very tight game i would imagine.
    The corbally v regional game is still on too

Quote Originally Posted by foxtrot View Post
    The corbally v regional game is still on too
    balla 1 pike 0

3 sent off in one incident...2 Balla and 1 Pike

Freak goal,but it was one of those days that the 1st goal wins it,completely windswept and patches of rain.

corbally 3-5 regional

Ger Burke, Darren Horan, Foley, scored for regional, not sure of the other two.
    Ian Donworth (2) any Kevin Costeloe scored for corbally.

The pitch was in good condition, regional scored some very soft goals and our defence wasn't up to it at all today

3 sent off in one incident...2 Balla and 1 Pike

Freak goal,but it was one of those days that the 1st goal wins it,completely windswept and patches of rain.

who was sent off?what happened?

nothing tackle then mcgarry and spud had a bit of handbags- swinging arms
    off the ball rob earls hit hartnett and lino saw it during the same incident.
    tom daly lucky not to go for attempting to strangle hartnett late on.

crazy weather and freak goal, fair play to both teams for effort.
    Rumour has it that a red card gets you 5 games in the mjc, any truth in this?
    'You should never have a bad game, off the ball.......'

Hy lads i was at the balla vs pike game.I am a balla supporter so i will try to give fair opinions on the game.Shocking weather conditions but that did not hamper a cracking game.There was not much between both teams ,it was one tough game.It was always going to be who ever got the first goal was going to have a great chance of wining the game.The goal was a pure fluke.

The boys that got sent off were Spud ,Rob Earls and Pa Magarry.Spud and pa were kind of tangled up and both tryed to hit each other a dig and both miss.I had a lot of respect for pa and still have now because he did not dive all over the ground trying to con the ref.Both walk away with out saying a word to the ref and not trying to get the other sent off.

In the middle of the scuffle Hartnett had a balla player by the troat and Rob pushed Hartnett in the chest and he hit the ground like a sack of spuds.Now in my eyes thats sneaky play in the highest degree,so when Earls got his marching orders Hartnett got up off the ground and dusted himself off and played on.Thats what i seen ,thats not my opinion thats what i seen with my own eyes.So in the end that made the win
    even sweeter.Fair play to some of the Pike players that shook hands at the end.

Lit pitch is worth a mention too,played very well in fairness,no complaints

jesus earls never lost it still a coward throwing punchs behind peoples backs give him another 12mths

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Its a actual Pitch as in its relitively flat(no holes) and its lined.
    Pike should have had no complaints then??

32 Posts
    Pike 2 Balla 1 simply because the MJC final last summer showed balla can't compete with Pike on a decent surface

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Super Rovers View Post
    any chance of our game being on this weekend abbeyvale
    Sorry Boss, Im off every 2nd Friday and have no access to a computer.
    Game now switched to Rathuard for 30th Dec, I think!!

32 Posts

Resulst (Limerick Section)

Pallasgreen 4-5 Kilmallock
    Star Rovers OFF Wembly Rovers
    A/Annacotty OFF Janesboro
    Ballynanty Rovers 1-0 Pike Rovers
    Knockainey OFF Caherconlish
    Corbally Utd 3-5 Regional Utd

Through to "Out of town" stages.
    Regional Utd
    Kilmallock
    Balla

Just a quick word to congratulate Kilmallock on getting out of town in both the FAI and MJC (The only non prem team to do so)

Quote Originally Posted by Goals4fun View Post
    nothing tackle then mcgarry and spud had a bit of handbags- swinging arms
    off the ball rob earls hit hartnett and lino saw it during the same incident.
    tom daly lucky not to go for attempting to strangle hartnett late on.

crazy weather and freak goal, fair play to both teams for effort.
    Rumour has it that a red card gets you 5 games in the mjc, any truth in this?
    mcgarry will be a massive loss against portmarnock!

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by limericklad View Post
    mcgarry will be a massive loss against portmarnock!

Earls and Spud will be too for Balla v Kilmallock but they should still beat them.

Quote Originally Posted by macca View Post
    Hy lads i was at the balla vs pike game.I am a balla supporter so i will try to give fair opinions on the game.Shocking weather conditions but that did not hamper a cracking game.There was not much between both teams ,it was one tough game.It was always going to be who ever got the first goal was going to have a great chance of wining the game.The goal was a pure fluke.

The boys that got sent off were Spud ,Rob Earls and Pa Magarry.Spud and pa were kind of tangled up and both tryed to hit each other a dig and both miss.I had a lot of respect for pa and still have now because he did not dive all over the ground trying to con the ref.Both walk away with out saying a word to the ref and not trying to get the other sent off.

In the middle of the scuffle Hartnett had a balla player by the troat and Rob pushed Hartnett in the chest and he hit the ground like a sack of spuds.Now in my eyes thats sneaky play in the highest degree,so when Earls got his marching orders Hartnett got up off the ground and dusted himself off and played on.Thats what i seen ,thats not my opinion thats what i seen with my own eyes.So in the end that made the win
    even sweeter.Fair play to some of the Pike players that shook hands at the end.

Hello Macca
    I hope your eyesight improves soon. I am a nuetral (in truth I was hoping Balla would win). I was right behind the Linesman and Earls punched Hartnett in the face. If he did not punch Hartnett would not have dropped so no excuses, If Earls insists on solving all his problems with his fists then maybe he should quit soccer and take up boxing.

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    Pike should have had no complaints then??
    And your the one with the problem then? You'd think you'd grow up a few years,beaten by a total fluke of a goal in the end,was always gonna be that the 1st goal would likely decide the game..At least I'm not complaining about the fight...

Anyone notice the severe lack of Balla supporters there? Fair weather supporters it seems..

Page 9 of 25 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast