Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Bratislava

Had no real problems with Bratislava myself, apart from being told to fcek off by a bus driver because I asked him did he stop on a perticular street, but getting on Bus's up to Dublin as well as the 66 from Maynooth i'm getting used to this craic. Found the people hadn't a clue what was going on and didn't seem to want strangers in their town, never mind put themselves out to help anyone.

If we ever played there I would base myself in Vienna, cracking city, I enjoyed Bratislava but I wouldn't rush back there, but in saying that i've seen Ireland in worse far more unfriendly holes like, Vilnius Lithuania, Skopj Macadonia and Wembley England.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Quote Originally Posted by Babysis View Post
    I know that, but it still really ****s me off. Im getting calmer in my old age though. In Stuttgart I had to be removed by the friends I was with from the kebab place we were in because some idiot from Limerick didnt understand how I could be irish, I was raging
    Think I was there if it was on the Friday night where that Limerick rugger head was so totally out of it.
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

161 Posts
    I have seen it happen to Irish fans born in England all the way back to the 70's. Witnessed it in France 79. Holland 81. They were isolated incidents and the idiots involved got told to shut up sharpish by other fans. In those days we had the infamous Shepherds Bush crew travelling to the away games. Nobody ever took the **** out of their accents with good reason as they would kick your head in. Sad to see its back as I have always had great craic with the Irish brought up in England/Scotland/Wales/NI. They have always made up a huge chunk of our support away (and at home).

Pity to see gob****es giving grief to English born fans. As said above, there was none of these fools in the Faroes, probably in part due to the day-trip flights being grounded. I didn't notice any such idiocy in Stuttgart but there were a lot of ****ed up eejits there so I wouldn't be surprised. The more awkward trips seem to rule out a lot of the idiots though so look like a better bet for good trips. Roll on Kazakhstan next time round.

60 Posts
    No place for ******* like that - it doesn't matter where you come from or what kind of accent you have, as long as you are on the one side (for that matter, it shouldn't matter whoever you are supporting, but that is a more loved up thread for the Off-topic). Some ties exceed the accidents of birth or upbringing - especially where there is a degree of determined choice involved, serious acknowledgement shold be made - if anything we should be more praiseworthy of those who have chosen to follow a team that cannot securely aspire to win majorly in international competition, when it would be just as easy turn their backs on it, and follow a side that we are regularly told is one of the top ten sides in the world.

And this should be regardless of nationality, assumed or otherwise. Take for example our Bulgarian fan that a few met in Prague. Or the Japanese who make a concerted effort to come from Japan regularly in order get to see us play (Galway United fan I think). We even have a few fans in Cork!

Gobsh!tes however will always be gobsh!tes - this is sadly a universal truth.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Yes the was a Japanese guy sitting behind us in the czech end supporting ireland, i guess his support for ireland grew when he saw them in 2002, but nobody would question his support, however it's a diff story if ya have an english accent.

what flag incident was that?
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

i met a few lads from london over in stuttgart last year. one was a tall baldy fella, absolute gent. we had great craic with them, met them a few times over the few days. Do the simpletons not realise that these "english" people are still making an effort to come and support ireland. S who cares where they were born!

Rogue trader what on earth are you on about? It wasnt the fact that the guy with the chelsea tricolour was from london that he got abuse for. And he was never "attacked".

Judging by your posts it sounds like you have a minder/helper by your side all the time to type in tripe. Your obsession with Rovers is embarrassing at this stage. An example being the Miah Dennehy post.

Babysis next time that happens smile and take the clowns pic on your phone! Also ask him what club he supports.

As far as I could see the guys property was interferred with by people who did not own it. I did not agree with his flag and I said that to him but I did not agree with people removing the flag and touching other peoples property.
    In Trap we trust

He wasnt physically attacked. And it was a Rovers fan, amongst others, who explained that his flag was inappropriate.

Find your shoelaces yet?

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    He wasnt physically attacked. And it was a Rovers fan, amongst others, who explained that his flag was inappropriate.

Find your shoelaces yet?

Saw the same flag flying at the Prague game........was there any trouble then?....I couldn't see from my vantage point in the Main Stand.
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    Saw the same flag flying at the Prague game........was there any trouble then?....I couldn't see from my vantage point in the Main Stand.
    None cos the guy with Cliftonville FC put his flag over it. Fair play.

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    In Arhus some fella went crazy proper frothing at the mouth as well went mad looking to take it down. They Guy was an Irish fan from London Chelsea was his team challenged the inbred ( Who in my view had one thing on his mind "attack all Outsiders"). I was a little taken back to be honest as he looked crazed, a Skangers accent as well.
    LFMAO! Second sentence there is priceless!

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    Think I was there if it was on the Friday night where that Limerick rugger head was so totally out of it.
    Yeah, hadnt figured on people remembering it - He was drunk and I was very angry

Babysis don't worry about any of those ignorant morons.As one poster pointed out its been happening for years but its only a small amount of brainless cavemen.Its just unfortunate that it has happened to you so often.Many of the guys I travel with are English born Irishmen and they are the most down to earth lads you could get. They get some hassle but very little, possibly because they are blokes.

I hope it doesn't deter you from supporting Ireland and wearing the colours with pride more than i can say for some of those so called Irish scumbags born on the Island.I know who I would rather have a beer with.

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    Hi Babysis were you with another girl at the two games ? I think i seen you did you fly into Vienna ?
    Yep I was with Green Tribe and yep we did fly into Bratislava Vienna with Ryanair from East Midlands. If you were on the flight you will know it was .................eventful

Myself and four of my mates absolutely loved Bratislava and are planning on goign back soon, I walked around the so called bad part in the suburbs wearing an Ireland jersey and all i got was handshakes. Met loads of locals and went to a party in a ballymun flat type place with all my friends. Maybe its the Irish fans who fell out of the Dubliner and without knowing it (coz they were so drunk) started singing rebel songs in the locals faces, trying to annoy them. They were the ones who woke up with black eyes. Beautiful clean city, cheap drink, great public transport, fantastic looking women! The opposite of Dublin!!

Prague is a sleazy s hit hole! Great buildings though..

I would just ignore the gob****es girls to be honest. In my experience the London and Bermingham (and watford ) groups are as good craic as any.

We were in the karaoke dungeon bar on the friday night. We had gotten talking to a group of local girls in the Slovak pub just outsude the old town and they came along to see what the craic was like. five minutes after we got in the little irish runt walked up to one of the girls and put his hand right underneath her, not pinching her arse if you know what I mean. When i asked him would he do that at home and did his mother teach him any manners he squared up to me. He then threw a few shapes, realised there was six hard men from Waterford with me and left. Had I been on my own he would have started on me.

This same ******** was giving some Uk based fans grief, he was out of it and it wasn't the drink. Dirtbag
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

Quote Originally Posted by Saint Tom View Post
    I would just ignore the gob****es girls to be honest. In my experience the London and Bermingham (and watford ) groups are as good craic as any.
    Dont forget the Surrey Irish! Our (or my) craic is equally as good!

Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast