Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Bratislava

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by lopez View Post
    I did throw a bit of a wobbler after seeing some loyalist flag at the end of the ground and went to tell the police to take it down. What followed was comedy which I had a laugh at later.
    Was waiting for someone to bring that up. We had a ball pulling the p1ss out of a group of Celtic fans from the north over the flag. Idiots were that hammered that they barely even watched the game. One completely lost it when we started questioning why they didnt support NI.

Walked over the bridge to check out a restaurent and stumbled on a shopping centre which was packed with people and didnt lack for anything
    aupark. that was a lovely shopping centre. watched the france v argentina game there in "the scottish bar".

Idiots were that hammered that they barely even watched the game. One completely lost it when we started questioning why they didnt support NI.
    haha, thats so funny and original

wooman;should we not take some responsibility for our own fans creating a potentially dangerous situation for themselves!! if gobsh**tes kept unnecessarily joining the back of an ever expanding queue for no reason whose fault is that?

Have to agree with Jimbo. There was a sign on the wall at the first gate we came to that showed which gates were for section CS. Easy to see and easy to follow. We had no probs getting in or out of the ground. We even had a bit of banter with the police on the gate going in.

I thought the old town was beautiful. As in most ex communist countires once you move outside the immediate city centre it is grim but no more so that Prague, Riga and Vilnius in my experience. Once you find yourself off the beaten track you have to have your wits about you especially after a few beers but again not unlike many other cities.

I think the bars, restaurants etc were just a bit overwhelmed by the numbers.Having only one pump in most of the bars didn't help Once we actually got talking to the locals they were much more friendlier. We got a few taxis and weren't fleeced. Agreed the price before we got in. I can assure you taxi drivers in Prague are much worse, especuially around the Old Town.

Overall, apart from the result, I thought Brat was the business. I would definitely go back there again.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

2,796 Posts
    God, I remember it taking an hour in a QUIET bar/restaurant in Stuttgart to get served 6 beers.

Jimbo, the reason more people joined the back of the Q was the fear of not getting into the ground before the match. Cops should have been outside at least pointing the the other gates as you would expect at any other football ground.

no such thing as a bad weekend away following the lads;even when we had a proper side we never won away from home so i cannot understand the present level of expectation which is unfounded,saturday was typical of a half decent side who panic whenever they score a goal;tomorrow will be much the same-a draw would be a great result

wooman;you should start going on those ray tracey trips to away games where they join you all together with a rope to avoid anyone going off the beaten track;no substitute for the auld sheep mentality unfortunately,blame someone else

if i had a rope long enough to hold 20 people together i would have done it

noted for the next away trip

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    God, I remember it taking an hour in a QUIET bar/restaurant in Stuttgart to get served 6 beers.
    ...that's because they were shocked to see you get them in, and then they served you Weissbier!
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

wooman;you should start going on those ray tracey trips to away games where they join you all together with a rope to avoid anyone going off the beaten track;no substitute for the auld sheep mentality unfortunately,blame someone else

jimbo when I and 3 others with me joined the queue thewere were about 15 - 20 people in front of us, we assumed that we would be in in no time, but then all of a sudden they actually stopped searching and waited, then a queue started to form. So yes some people were sheep, but not all of us

544 Posts
    agree that once you chatted to the locals they were pretty friendly. language barrier a problem on a few occasions though

after using the tram for free most of the weekend got caught and fined 1,400sk for not having a ticket 30 secs from the end of my last tram journey of the weekend! fair cop but the coin only ticket machines made it difficult to get a ticket at times

Made was fined 1500 on the 1st night for ****ing on the street

Didn’t believe him till he showed us his ticket

3,489 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    the coin only ticket machines made it difficult to get a ticket at times
    That was a pain in the hole! Largest coin was 10Kr, and in the pubs, they round the bill up to the next ten, so it was hard to even get change. I ended up drinking several more fantas than I needed to in the only open shop out near where I was staying to get change for the tram. Even then, the price kept changing until we just went out and asked someone for change.

Even more bizarre was in the monster Tesco, where things were priced 149.70 Kr, even though the smallest coin is the 0.50 Kr piece (50 halier)!

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    ...that's because they were shocked to see you get them in
    I though my reputation for stinginess was safe over there.

3,489 Posts
    Anyone else find Gremium pub, by the way? Sports pub, which was showing England v Israel on one telly and had a teletext link of European football scores on another, including the eL Division One. Kept well up to date with Dundalk's latest hiccup. Also featured a bookies down the back. Truly a dangerous mix...

That was a pain in the hole! Largest coin was 10Kr, and in the pubs, they round the bill up to the next ten, so it was hard to even get change. I ended up drinking several more fantas than I needed to in the only open shop out near where I was staying to get change for the tram. Even then, the price kept changing until we just went out and asked someone for change.

Even more bizarre was in the monster Tesco, where things were priced 149.70 Kr, even though the smallest coin is the 0.50 Kr piece (50 halier)!
    Pineapple

All the little kiosks (one right outside Tesco) selling cigs sold 30sk tram tickets. Bought a handful on the first day and was sorted for the weekend. Agree the ticket machines were useless.

didnt go near the trams once.

walked or tax'd it which was grand

3,489 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dotsy View Post
    Pineapple

All the little kiosks (one right outside Tesco) selling cigs sold 30sk tram tickets. Bought a handful on the first day and was sorted for the weekend. Agree the ticket machines were useless.
    Yeah, problem is we got to the shop on our campsite at 1pm and they'd just closed for lunch for an hour! No choice...

Jaysus it must have been fun in the campsite on Thusday and Friday in that rain

Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast