Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Bratislava

Was at the match in the away end. Trying to get in was an absolute nightmare, nobody could tell us where we had to go. I was actually sent in one way and got past security only for my mate to shout behind me that we were in wrong section.

When leaving the ground people around us were shouting "F##k the IRA" and "we are the Slovak skinheads and ye will go home in bodybags".

We went to Vienna the next day and had a great time. If Ireland played them again I reckon we should all stay in Vienna. Was talking to a local in Vienna and he said he has never been to Bratislava despite it only being a fifty minute train journey away because its a s##thole.

I spent the day in Vienna on the wednesday before Bratislava and I must say that it is a stunningly beautiful and friendly place. I would second the opinion that we base there if we draw slovakia (hopefully not) in the future and the tie to be played in bratislava. Danube cruise is highly recommended and only took an hour
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

Didn't like Bratislava at all. Had a run in with some locals on the friday night and woke up with black eye, bloody nose and bruised leg.Oh and minus my wallet. Seeing as my memory was a little impaired through drink taken, I was unable to provide accurate details to the police.
    Couldn't relax at all after that, and was glad to leave on the monday.
    In contrast I thought Prague was a lovely place and the Czech peolple very friendly. Would gladly go back there.

We stayed in a little village to the East of Bratislava called Pezinok.We had no problems there and the people were actually very friendly.Granted we were there two days before the crowds came in.We had a taxi arranged through the locals and he was sound.We ate in a restaurant called Chex David near the old town.Again we had no problems.

To be fair I really don’t think they could cope with the large influx of people and there is a big element of scumbags that follow football over there. I saw the police getting stuck into their fans on a few occasions. They were completely unorganized managing to get fans into the stadium. It just appeared that this was the biggest opposition support they had ever witnessed at a game.

We were glad to get out of there in the end and the result in the game did not help one bit. Prague on the other hand was 100% more value apart from the result of course.I had really high expectations of this trip and had been looking forward to it since the draw was made. Shame it turned out to be such a shambles.

I'm slightly surprised to read all the negative reviews about Bratislava. From my personal experience, it would be unfair for me to complain about it as i honestly didnt have any problems there. Dont get me wrong, the people werent overly friendly but i cant think of any particulary poor service i received. It was also a bit shabby as you moved out from the city centre but the old town square was pretty enough.

However, there were a few people in Prague who left me with a bitter taste in my mouth. I was mugged in the train station on Monday night of Czech money to the value of £100stg, we were then hugely overcharged in our taxi (we agreed a price beforehand but the driver claimed it was per person when we arrived at the hotel. you wouldnt have argued had you seen the size of him) after the girl at the infomation desk pretty much refused to assist us in obtaining tickets for the metro. Then yesterday i nearly hit a women in the duty free shop at the airport. I had brought a few items and put down a 50CSK note on the counter as part of my payment. I then realised i had 50CSK in coins so i tried to take back the note and give the coins instead (the coins would have been no good to me back in England, though i could have easily changed the note). The woman didnt seem to understand this at all and grabbed the note out of my hand and threw the coins back at me before shouting at me. This drew the attention of the whole shop and was hugely embarrassing for myself who had done nothing wrong.

The trip did turn out to be a bit of an anti-climax with the results but i enjoyed seeing both cities.

Bratislava (excluding the small old town) is an absolute sh1thole. The people lazy commie fcukers who want everything handed to them for nothing. The police, taxidrivers, bouncers etc are intimidating and looked for a fight at every opportunity. The staff in 17s werent too bad.

If we play them again we should all stay in Vienna and then they may get the message. The stadium was falling down and the security before and after was a joke. I was lucky on the train (the Bratislava-Calcutta express) as I had a reserved seat in 1st class. Americans on the train will be telling stories for years about what they saw on that train.

On the other hand, I can not wait to get back to Prague again and I have told everyone that I have spoken to, since I came home, to go to Prague.

Quote Originally Posted by supasparx View Post
    Didn't like Bratislava at all. Had a run in with some locals on the friday night and woke up with black eye, bloody nose and bruised leg.Oh and minus my wallet. Seeing as my memory was a little impaired through drink taken, I was unable to provide accurate details to the police.
    Not the only one who was minus a laser card/ fone. I assume I was mugged though I have no recollection of it either. One minute I'm on a boat the next I'm wandering aimlessly round the outskirts, scared & laser/ foneless.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

214 Posts
    jesus lads I feel for you.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

My phone disappeared in Bratislava as well. Thought Prague was great though.

Quote Originally Posted by Colie View Post
    Not the only one who was minus a laser card/ fone. I assume I was mugged though I have no recollection of it either. One minute I'm on a boat the next I'm wandering aimlessly round the outskirts, scared & laser/ foneless.
    Our last night in Bratislava there were 2 guys standing at a quiet corner at about 4 in the morning waiting to rob someone. Thanfully there was 4 of us but I pity whoever walked by them alone.

Our first night there we ended up in a club beside the main street. I went up to the toilet straight away and the lights got turned off when I walked in. About 6 or 7 young lads surrounded me. I just walked by and they laughed but I was expecting trouble. It was like a scene from Hostel.

I think the Dubliner was serving the cheapest drink in the area because they were the only place to keep prices down. The staff in there were grumpy gits though. The place next door charged you whatever they wanted. The taxi from the airport to the hotel in the centre cost 1000sk. We asked beforehand how much it'd be but he just pointed at the metre. The bus to the airport from the train station on Friday was 18sk which puts it into perspective.

Prague was excellent. My friend got a phone number off one of the best looking women you're likely to see. She's (just) a pole dancer and she actually asked for his number (she said she's coming to Dublin soon). She spent most of the night chatting to us, mainly about Prague and Dublin.

I'd love to go back to Prague but Bratislava was a big let down.

I seem to be one of the few who, like stiofain, found the people in Prague more likely to rip you off than Bratislava. I had absolutely no problems in Bratislava (apart from the pubs running out of beer of course, but the locals told us its the biggest away crowd they've ever had!). I found the taxi drivers in prague were complete rip-off merchants, average price for about a 10 min taxi journey was €20....and thats not when we were really getting fleeced!

Overall though had no real problems and had a brilliant trip. Pity about the games

33 Posts
    Reading through all the comments you'd think the Brat trip was a complete disaster, but for anyone who wasn't there don't be put off totally. True, the outskirts of the city and around the stadium is grim, bleak and decrepit (but being a regular in the east end of glasgow I wasn't that shocked!)but it is well possible to go there and enjoy yourself. Maybe my group was lucky in that we only got semi-threatened by the locals once or twice(chatting up birds in clubs - slovak lads come over - beat it!) old town is pretty, food and drink good (I missed the beer drought we were on mohitos all weekend!) and the locals were not all totally ignorant, though a fair proportion were.
    To contrast with Prague I agree with the lads above in that I think I was fleeced there alot more than Brat. It had a much larger and more spectacular old town than Brat but was jammed with people and tourist tat was on sale outside every second shop. Brat had a quieter and less touristy feel to it. That said if i went back with the missus I wouldn't be expecting any warmth or hospitality in a Brat eaterie.
    As for the cops they didn't look twice at me - and there's not many town squares around Ireland or UK I can say that for with a bottle of buckfast in me paw!
    The dude abides....

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bottle of Tonic View Post
    As for the cops they didn't look twice at me - and there's not many town squares around Ireland or UK I can say that for with a bottle of buckfast in me paw!
    What cop in their right mind would go near a Rossi in a Longford Town
    jersey with a bottle of Bucky

any of ye in the cocktail bar on the sunday night? it was pure bedlam!!
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Ripped off in Bratislava for taxis plenty of times, and there was no arguing with them. Got surrounded on the Saturday night when on my own by about 6 or 7 Slovaks but luckily the lads arrived back out of McDonalds before it got nasty.
    People on the whole were not friendly, all they wanted was you to go to strip bars etc Won't be going back or recommending it to anyone.

Having said that we got fined in Czech Republic for not having a Slovakian Motorway Pass/Sticker which went straight into your mans back pocket but the people were a lot friendlier in Prague (met one Bulgarian guy working in one of the tourist shops who could name every player in any Irish game we asked him about, could name the minute of every goal, knew who scored the goal for Scotland that put us through years ago...) though the local bars were just as unfriendly as Bratislava. Found taxis grand, might take awhile to get one for a price you were happy with, but only had to pay more than locals said was max we should pay once, and that was only by 50 CKR.

met that bulgarian lad aswell, what a legend..possibly the best salesman of all time, he even knew a bit of gaelige
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Had a great time in Bratislava, our group didn't run into any trouble with the locals at all.
    Couldn't find much to do on the Thursday night when we arrived. We were staying in the Botel and they happily provided us with a crate of beer at 3 in the morning, no complaints from us!
    On Friday we met some Slovakian friends of ours who brought us to a cheap Slovak bar. We had no problem standing on the tables in there and singing Irish songs, followed by the new Slovakian National Anthem (made up on the spot)! THey brought us to a nightclub on the outskirts of the city, the place seemed run down, but we had great craic in the nightclub. No problem dropping trousers on stage or anything!! Although one of the lads was beaten to a dance off by a 50 year old, no lie!!
    The Botel wasn't too bad of a place to stay. The let us hang our "Hello Mammy" flag out no problem, staff were very nice at the breakfast, and they didn't even give out too much to us about the noise. They did however say several 'compliments' (complaints) were made about us!

P.S. Did anyone notice our Irish wannabe Slovakian member of our group dancing around the square in his new Slovakian jersey and headband?

That Slovakian guy was a legend!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    Can't believe all the negetive comments about Bratislava. I found the locals fine no problems with them at all except once in a taxi when we got ripped off but got ripped off more in Prague with one of those out of control meters.

There is an awful scum element that has started to creep into Irish away trips, My mate got started on by Irish fans for he has go longish hair ffs. Prague was a better city and more to do and see in it, i never encountered this poor local attitude in Bratislava except in that bloody Dubliner pub(Which i avoided after what i seen was on the Door). I will say one thing it is amazing how many Irish fans do not have basic manners, i even seen one T***** of an Irish fan make an old woman cry as he did not want to sit beside her on the train from Prague to VIENNA as she had a dog. We are turning into an awful shower of gobsh****.
    Could not agree more. Was discussing this last week while we were away. I think it started with the friendly in Amsterdam in June 2004 and has continued, particularly in Paris later that year then Cyprus and of course Stuttgart and then again last week.

In Bratislava on the afternoon of the game I saw a crowd of young Dubs having a go at some guys from London and Birmingham who I recognised as lads who have been going to matches for years. The usual sh*te about 'no one with english accents had any business following Ireland'.

Talking of trains, I heard that on the famous 1225 from Bratislava to Prague on the Monday that a young 'Irish gentleman' told a nun to move from the seat he had reserved. Also heard about a group of 10 or 12 comprising of some Dublin postmen and some young Wexford lads in the same carriage who gave a local woman a terrible hard time by constantly swearing and using abusive language when she asked them to stop smoking in the carriage. Although I was on that train I didn't see these myself or don't know if these are true or just stories that have grown legs, but I would not be surprised it they were true.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by kellsred View Post
    That Slovakian guy was a legend!!!
    My name a Pavil, yesh!!

Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast