Thread: Penalty points

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    You're perfectly entitled to not challenge or make an official complaint Ringo, but if that's the case, what was the point in taking a photo and bitching about it in the first place? Just to have a whine about it? It's such an Irish thing to do. We come back from restaurants and complain about the bad food we got, we vote for morons and complain about the moronic things they do, we get bad service in shops and go back there again. When will we learn?

This isn't Current Affairs any more. It's just Off Topic. Sorry.

i rang up and asked whts was the procedure in appealing it. i was told i could appeal it the the superintendant. I got my photos, wrote an appeal & sent it off. The Supt wrote back & said it was issued in accordance with blah blah bla, basically a one line letter. if there not prepared to accept the evidence at this stage & want to go to court, they obviously are happy to go all the way.
    I do complain in restaurants or shops when the service is bad. In the garda situation, you can never win. If you say anything, they start going around your car looking for things to do you on. if your on your own, there no point complaing. As with all situations, if it your word against another, your wasting your time.

521 Posts
    I respect your taking it as far as the super, I simply think complaining about it without taking it any further is a waste of your time and ours. If you have a problem, try to fix it or mutter to yourself about it. I also think that maligning the Ombudsman despite zero evidence of corruption or inefficiency - they haven't had time to generate any evidence of same - is pretty low.

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    I respect your taking it as far as the super, I simply think complaining about it without taking it any further is a waste of your time and ours. If you have a problem, try to fix it or mutter to yourself about it. I also think that maligning the Ombudsman despite zero evidence of corruption or inefficiency - they haven't had time to generate any evidence of same - is pretty low.

The problem is the line of complaint is still the same. The gardai investigate themselves. They are still expecting the commissioner to discipline the officers. The gardai should be trained to deal properly with people. If you have an issue with an individual Guard, you are not going to get anywhere. Lets face it weather its guards or your boss, when it comes down to one persons word against another the case falls apart. The problem is in training & attitude to the public.

521 Posts
    I really dislike repeating myself.
    Quote Originally Posted by Ringo View Post
    The problem is the line of complaint is still the same. The gardai investigate themselves. They are still expecting the commissioner to discipline the officers. The gardai should be trained to deal properly with people. If you have an issue with an individual Guard, you are not going to get anywhere. Lets face it weather its guards or your boss, when it comes down to one persons word against another the case falls apart. The problem is in training & attitude to the public.
    Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta
    I also think that maligning the Ombudsman despite zero evidence of corruption or inefficiency - they haven't had time to generate any evidence of same - is pretty low.

Quote Originally Posted by Ringo View Post

the gardai do not investigate themselves anymore the ombudsman is a completely seperate organisation, and as such in law any recommendations they must must be undertaken by the gardai, i.e. if the ombudsman recommends that a garda should be disciplined then it must be done.
    also dont think the problem is training i firmly believe that it is completely down to the person involved, of course there are going to be bad eggs, it just seems that they all seem to be in the traffic corps!!

i would def go to court and take my chances, for a number of reasons, one the garda himself may not turn up, and secondly if you can present your photographs to the garda himself before the case is called he might agree to a strike out and if all else fails i would be very confident that a judge would not convict with the evidence you have

Quote Originally Posted by inexile View Post
    the gardai do not investigate themselves anymore the ombudsman is a completely seperate organisation,
    read the website

If your complaint warrants an investigation it will be carried out in one of the following ways:

Garda Investigation »
    Supervised Garda Investigation »
    Garda Síochána Ombudsman Commission Investigation »

exactly, which means the final decision rests with the ombudsman who goes over the whole file and if he/she decides that the investigation is not whole and proper he/she has the power to go into garda stations and search, detain, question gardai etc

For anyone that is interested the trees in the OP picture have now been cut back fairly dramatically. Its possible to see the lights now from 100m as opposed to the previous 20m.