This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!
Jesus i was delighted with the draw for the very reasons you weren't!
Forget about the fans but would the squad want to be traveling out to many of these new/unstable/recently war-torn etc countries for vital away points?
Dodgy infastrucure, unfamiliar stadia, questionable hotels and travel arrangments(FAI most def included), partisan crowds and so on and so on. All the ingredients which make eastern european away trips notoriously difficult for both club and international football!
But feck it! You'd rather being going out there so you could feel elitest, with no drunken paddy leprachauns signing, dancing and laughing around beautiful city centre squares, enjoying themselves. Jesus.
Hope I run into you in Czech/Slovak, it'll be some laugh. Actually no, you probably don't like that sort of thing.
The dude abides....
Yeah, that was Don Givens' game in charge.
Notable for a few things
- as you say, the first eL player in over a decade to turn out for the Republic
- The closest Richie Partridge came to the Irish team, unused substitute after some fine performances for Coventry
- Ditto Wes Hoolahan, although he has a better chance of making a second appearance in an Ireland squad
- Richard Dunne winning MOTM despite playing left full
- lastly, being possibly the most dire game of football I've ever sat through in my life.
Dunne, Finnan, Doherty, McPhail, Crowe and possibly more made their debuts in that game.
new/unstable/recently war-torn etc countriesDodgy infastrucure, unfamiliar stadia, questionable hotels, partisan crowds and so on and so on.
There's an old expression about People in Glasshouses...
3284 - Football Utopia.
You got that right. Wont be there.
Fcuk the squad. I'm sure they can manage getting flown there and fawned on after picking up their weekly 10/20 grand cheque from their club.
Nothing to do with elitism pal. Just more craic behind the old iron curtain with out the leprechaun muppetry. Best fans in the world my arse.
Miserable sod NY Hoop, what's wrong with a couple of tanked up leprechauns jiggy jiggn in the fine squares of Bratislava or Praque? As for the big cheques our players get, don't they deserve to be paid the same as the rest of the EPL stars or would you prefer they all stayed in the Eircom league and wasted their talents playing at best League 1 equivilent football and pre qualifying games for Europe. Any player with ambition and talent is going to want more from his career and that means playing in England or Scotland to an extent. Good point gypsydownunder I've just come back from Ireland and if the road from Rosslare through Ferns is anything to go by a trip to some of these eastern countries might be an eye opener for the Irish government and road planners.
We have never played the Austro-Hungarian Empire competitively as far as I recollect.
Where did I say anything about players not deserving their wages? I hope they all make millions. Point is the players are insulated from the real world so I have zero sympathy for them if they have to go to a poor country.
But bravo for the dig at our league.
Leprechauns dancing anywhere is an embarrassment. What has that got to do with supporting the team?
An old thread but Kazakhstan will shortly leave that list. Amazing that we have never drawn Greece in a competitive game. The rest are all relatively "new" States.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Republi..._competitively
Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.
Great top.
You responded to yourself 4 years later. Its like you traveled in time.
If you know who wins Yanks Sox tonight you are obliged to tell me so i can bet on it.
No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.
NI have never played the following European teams in qualifiers: Andorra, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Bosnia, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan. We haven't been drawn with Switzerland since 1966.
You are confusing us....
Who cares??
6 of those teams are in with a shout of a play-off spot, I'd say we're good odds to scratch another name off the list. Greece me up woman!
Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!