Thread: First Timer

Tom Peppers

First Timer

Hi. I just want to say thank you to the supporters of the shed place for making my first trip to a Cork City match so enjoyable. They really sang loud and it certainly wont be my last match. Even though the football was sometimes poor i was pleasantly suprised with the standard. Anyway keep up the good work. By the way why did ye get rid of liam murphy as manager? I heard some guys on the way out saying that City didnt ever play that poorly under him last season

Re: First Timer

Originally posted by Tom Peppers
    By the way why did ye get rid of liam murphy as manager? I heard some guys on the way out saying that City didnt ever play that poorly under him last season
    Ha ha ha! Fine for the home games, but we were awful away from home.

You probably saw one of the worst games ever last weekend, by first one was a 4-4 draw with Shels at christmas time a few years ago. Now that was enjoyable!
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Even though the football was sometimes poor i was pleasantly suprised with the standard.
    Is this a windup?

Maybe the key to attracting more support is to get peoples expectations so low that they even impressed by the standard at the worst games?

Hi. I just want to say thank you to the supporters of the shed place for making my first trip to a Cork City match so enjoyable. They really sang loud and it certainly wont be my last match. Even though the football was sometimes poor i was pleasantly suprised with the standard. Anyway keep up the good work. By the way why did ye get rid of liam murphy as manager? I heard some guys on the way out saying that City didnt ever play that poorly under him last season

Right, which one of ye is taking the ****???
    Champions!

Tom Peppers
    this isnt a wind up. Jesus i didnt know my messages sounded so stupid.! By the way its not really very funny getting told your winding people up. Like where was i not being serious

Beam yourself up, Scotty !

Tom Peppers
    lads ye are f****** pathetic. i try my best to get on with a few cork city supporters and if this is the way ye act to every new city fan than ye shouldnt even have a website. Sure why dont ye insult me in person at the next game and then well see how tough ye are. This isnt a joke as i have said already

lads in all fairness leave the newbie alone
    welcome Tom Peppers, dont mind them lang@rs
    colm i'm suprised at you, is that the official line from the club then is it

and to answer your question
    liam murphy felt he had brought the team as far as he could
    life is random

Tom Peppers
    Thanks James someone with a bit of normality here finally

ok newbie has safety pass for the rest of the week - then i can say its a windup again

Maybe if newbie...lets just call him Tom for now could maybe give his football background & how he came to be at the cross on saturday we could start again from there...? Ever attended any football before? watched eL on tv etc..?

Originally posted by James
    colm i'm suprised at you, is that the official line from the club then is it
    Whatever could you mean???

As for this Peppers guy, I'm just going to ignore him.
    Champions!

i was gonna give mr peppers the benefit of the doubt until I saw his other thread...obviously a complete wind-up.

Originally posted by James
    liam murphy felt he had brought the team as far as he could
    I'm not sure how true that is.
    What is true though is that there is a requirment that all League of Ireland clubs must have a full-time manager by the 2004 season and Liam Murphy felt he wasn't in a position to make that commitment. Liam had a few irons in the fire at the time.
    He is still involved with the club.

86 Posts

I knew a load of potential new supporters who went to last weeks game(their1st City game) and your the only one I've heard of that's coming back! Sound's like your hard-core already! Welcome!

The football was never and will never be that bad again!

Come to the Bohs game next Tuesday night and then I'd suspect you'll see an real performance from both clubs! By that I mean the fans aswell! If you thought the Pats fans were good, you should have seen these fans last season! They're re-born!
    Last edited by Pablo Escobar; 15/04/2003 at 10:13 PM.
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

Picture the scene in PJ Turners after the game last Saturday.

Big crowd drowning their sorrows and trying to reconstruct the good point(s) during the game just finished..... when who walks by on his way to the jacks ..... only Gunther.

On his way back the group of guys near the toilet start chanting "Murphy In".

Even Gunther smiled.

Tough game, need some creativity in the middle and a big man up front for JO'F to play off ( aka Toshack/Keegan, Heskey/ Owen, Hartson/Larrson etc ).
    IMO Dolan knows this but in fairness to him he wants to give some of the current guys a chance.

He's crabid and will balance it out pretty soon.......mark my words.

Defence looks solid enough as well especially with Napier still to come back.

Predict.......away jinx to be broken Friday - City to win by the odd goal.

Come on City!!!!!!!
    Irish by birth,
    Cork by the grace of God.

Originally posted by Peadar
    I'm not sure how true that is.
    far be it from me to argue with someone like YOU Peadar but i'm only quoting the man himself when questioned on said subject
    life is random

Ah well I enjoyed it anyway

Last Saturday was my first time at a eL match since the year dot.
    My 12 yr old was big into going to see her local team. (She also likes Celtic).

I thought the evening was great, the atmosphere was excellent, the flags spectacular (as somebody said in another thread it was like the San Siro!!). The craic and banter was very good (im still finding bits of confetti in my clothes,).

As has already been said the match itself was poor but so what. If you watch footie then some games will be poor and some will be better. I thought City were lightweight in mid field and overall physically smaller than Pats. On the basis of what I saw I would thing a new midfield signing is vital. Paul Osam (who as everyone knows is a horses ass, Nice one boys) was very impressive for me.

The only downside was (and I dont wanna be flamed for this) the strong language used. I was with my 12 yr old daughter and I thought some of it was OTT. I will have to locate the family enclosure and go there for the next game.

So will we be back?? Of course - looking forward to Bohs next Tuesaday

C'mon u city

brendan
    Blowing Bubbles

Re: Ah well I enjoyed it anyway

Originally posted by BOF
    The only downside was (and I dont wanna be flamed for this) the strong language used. I was with my 12 yr old daughter and I thought some of it was OTT.
    Don't think you in any danger ouf being flammed on the language matter as theres f£$%^ing l@*%ers in all walks of life.

@ndy
    Tom Peppers...theres a pub called that somewhere in cork isn't there?

Re: Ah well I enjoyed it anyway

Originally posted by BOF
    I dont wanna be flamed
    Mmm... barbecue.