Thread: GUFC v Drogheda

According to soccerbot.com's prediction of the league table we are are only going to get 6 points before the end of the season and finish fourth from bottom. We've got 9 games left and we'll definitely get more than 6pts from 18 to play for. Does anyone who Bray's game in hand is against? Derry, Cork or UCD?
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

147 Posts
    Tir Oilean, it is 3 point for a win so there is still 27 points left to play for, not 18. Not sure where we will get much more than 6 points from, but a 9th place finish would be fine and dandy
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean View Post
    Does anyone who Bray's game in hand is against? Derry, Cork or UCD?
    Bray v Derry and UCD v Cork.

Drogheda were poor on Monday so you might get something out of them.
    Last edited by Schumi; 05/09/2007 at 11:36 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Tir Oilean, it is 3 point for a win so there is still 27 points left to play for, not 18. Not sure where we will get much more than 6 points from, but a 9th place finish would be fine and dandy
    Thanks for highlighting my mathematical shortcomings Woodquay Boy!

And Shumi I know ye ( most UCD fans) dont agree with our presence in the League (under the circumstances) but we would be greatful if ye could do us a favour in that clash!

75 Posts
    tir were you on the beer UCD are Playing Cork !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    tir were you on the beer UCD are Playing Cork !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Jeez I'm havin a bad today work is disrupting my internet activities cant give them my full attention clearly!!!!!

75 Posts
    Just getting ready to head to Dublin for the flight to eastern europe tomorrow. We need everyone up for it Friday night and that includes the supporters who were brilliant against Sligo and all the away games. More of the same Friday night and the team will respon. Ill be listening in hopefully in an internet cafe if i can get one.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

37 Posts
    FROM DROGS OFFICIAL WEBSITE....

http://www.droghedaunited.ie/scripts...?FixtureID=681

After our unexpected home defeat to UCD, we head West on Friday afternoon (what do you mean, 'you're not goin'?, if Johnny and the boys can drive to Helsingborgs, there's no possible excuse to miss any more away matches,) eager to make amends for this mini Euro 'hangover'. The manner of the UCD defeat showed a few tired limbs and in reality, UCD were more 'up' for it than we were, but as I've told yiz plenty of times already, that's fupall for yiz.

We will approach Galway in the same professional manner as always safe in the knowledge that we will have occasional dips in form in this momentous season and that our squad did not get bad overnight.

On the injury front we will have to mark Stuart Byrne and Shane Robinson as doubtful for the Galway trip. Stewie took a heavy knock on his shin and is extremely doubtful. Shane Robinson’s foot injury, incurred in the home game with Galway a few weeks ago, has still not cleared up and he was due for a CAT Scan today (Wednesday) to confirm the extent of the problem. I'll keep yiz posted.

The good news for the Drogs is that Richie Baker is back to full fitness and will probably make his return. Paul Doolin has already stated that the league is far from over and there will be no easy games in the title run-in.

Tony Cousins is a good manager etc etc etc (add cliches here as necessary), but the double incentive of making amends for the draw 2 weeks ago and the UCD display should prove irresistible. And irresistable is what we are !. See yiz above !! (or is it below? , or is it 'ithout ?) .
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Embarassing stuff from the Drogs website.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

According to soccerbot.com's prediction of the league table we are are only going to get 6 points before the end of the season and finish fourth from bottom. We've got 9 games left and we'll definitely get more than 6pts from 18 to play for. Does anyone who Bray's game in hand is against? Derry, Cork or UCD?
    No deal, I mean DEAL...**** off Noel Edmonds...

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    FROM DROGS OFFICIAL WEBSITE....

http://www.droghedaunited.ie/scripts...?FixtureID=681

After our unexpected home defeat to UCD, we head West on Friday afternoon (what do you mean, 'you're not goin'?, if Johnny and the boys can drive to Helsingborgs, there's no possible excuse to miss any more away matches,) eager to make amends for this mini Euro 'hangover'. The manner of the UCD defeat showed a few tired limbs and in reality, UCD were more 'up' for it than we were, but as I've told yiz plenty of times already, that's fupall for yiz.

We will approach Galway in the same professional manner as always safe in the knowledge that we will have occasional dips in form in this momentous season and that our squad did not get bad overnight.

On the injury front we will have to mark Stuart Byrne and Shane Robinson as doubtful for the Galway trip. Stewie took a heavy knock on his shin and is extremely doubtful. Shane Robinson’s foot injury, incurred in the home game with Galway a few weeks ago, has still not cleared up and he was due for a CAT Scan today (Wednesday) to confirm the extent of the problem. I'll keep yiz posted.

The good news for the Drogs is that Richie Baker is back to full fitness and will probably make his return. Paul Doolin has already stated that the league is far from over and there will be no easy games in the title run-in.

Tony Cousins is a good manager etc etc etc (add cliches here as necessary), but the double incentive of making amends for the draw 2 weeks ago and the UCD display should prove irresistible. And irresistable is what we are !. See yiz above !! (or is it below? , or is it 'ithout ?) .
    The usual illiterate sh!te from the Drogs website. I'd say the lads who commentate on Dundalk games on Dundalk FM, double as webmasters for the Drogs website!
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Jeez its eerily quiet on here today. The calm before the storm of tommorrow night.

Paddy Power odds for tomorrows game

Galway 11/4
    Draw 21/10
    Drogheda 10/11

Jeez its eerily quiet on here today. The calm before the storm of tommorrow night.

Paddy Power odds for tomorrows game

Galway 11/4
    Draw 21/10
    Drogheda 10/11
    Draw looks Quite tasty!!!

yep,draw looks good.

utd have been nicely priced for draws lately and vrs U.C.D,Drogs and Cork away ive won a handy bit of dough going for draws.id take the win tomorrow obviously but i hear richie baker is back to torment us again so ill go with a draw.

No Robson tonight and I think he will be missed. Inthestand do you have the team!?! Think we'll get something from this game alright but its going to be tight and its not going to be the goal fest like the last two games against the Drogs

Agree TO. I think Daryl had added a lot of ability and passion to our performances in recent weeks, so I hope some of the other lads will follow his lead tonight.

Apparently he's out due to a family bereavment, so my sympathies go to him and his family.

Best of luck tonight lads. Keep going to right to the final whistle.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

should be a nice crowd down with the fine day thats in it!!!
    more water!

Yeah, looking forward to sipping some pear cider in the sunshine outside Fox's. Summer football at last

Dont you think Mixed Fruits would be more appropriate Saigon!!

A combination of both fed through a drip would be ideal!