Thread: Shelbourne 4 Limerick 0

It was a terrible performance all round, no end product, gave the ball away all the time and far too much hoofing on our part. We just didn't seem interested and that was reflected in the scoreline. The defence was the worst I've seen us in a while, Finucane and Purcell were poor, especially Finucane. Buckley was very poor as well and you just have to wonder how long more before Ski realises that he is not a full back? No attacking threat from midfield either, plus our set pieces were a shambles despite Waters giving pretty decent deliveries from dead ball situations.

Shels kept the ball far better than we did, they also kept switching the play quickly from one side to the other which gave us problems. In contrast, we didn't utilise our wide players at all, rarely switched the play and our general attacking play was poor. One Shels fan shouted to the Limerick fans in the first half "Yiz need to sort out the football in yer football club" and unfortunately he was bang on.....

Shane Clarke came on and showed some good touches and good strength. He certainly won't be pushed around and I'd expect to see a lot more of him next season. Tierney did well as well, again I think next season he'll start to come on a bit. Harrington looks like a clone of Tommy Barrett. Waters was again our best player and the only one who displayed half a brain. I still think Tommy Barrett is wasted as a central midfielder. He should be playing further up the pitch as we badly need a physical presence up front

37 Posts

Cool

really encouraged by the results while away on hols,good win v hall and spanking the lilywhites had me all up for the shels game.jetlag and all went straight to tolka....what a poor effort that was...outfought,outplayed and outthought.as i have said before we have a major problem on the left hand side of our defence.buckley as been poor all season....finucane is in a comfort zone hiding behind the shield of p.purcell... all season.dont think any of the 4 window signings have made an impression though i do think they have been managed poorly.am very encouraged by the younger lads,maybe because their so honest.

The Second Half

Was an absolute travesty. Never have I seen a team look so disjointed

No bottle whatsoever

full credit to 'lim til i die' for stealing all the glory for himself
    Now now, you did really well

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    Wasent it Clarke that came on? i prob lost interest at that stage.
    ha...says it all.
    you gowl!

Quote Originally Posted by declan hide View Post
    ha...says it all.
    Maybe i was in the toilet? getting food? It was clarke that came on, even though i was starving and tired from driving up and with the trip back to look forward to, even with us 4 down and the fact i had a load to flags to be taking down i still managed to get our sub right even though every report on the game got it wrong and the fact the stand we were in is not exactly the best fot seeing a lot of what happens on the pitch, so what exactly is your point? you got some sort of problem that maybe we could help you with?