Thread: Gufc V Ltfc

Gufc V Ltfc

Another home game on Friday and to be quite honest I wish it was an away game. Id like to be positive about this one but I'm a long way from that. Unless their main man is out injured or suspended I think were goin to drop more points here. Then it will be squeaky bum time for sure. The team played well on Fri but there was no killer instinct and they didnt chase the ball down every back pass was left unpressurised.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

I hate to say this but I see us getting beat in this one and putting in another of those shockers , I say 2-0 to Longford . I just hope I have got this one wrong .

75 Posts

well they have 3 out Jamie Duffy,David Freeman and Kevin Doherty. Terryland has to be bouncing this friday there wasnt one flag up last week and the drummers forgot about leaving the drumsticks behind while they were away. Lets make an extra effort on friday loads of colour and noise and encourage all the Section A's to get as many people as possible in the old stand .If we win on friday we will have one foot in the premier for next season.

Lets all stay positive this week and leave the negative stuff out until the season is over.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

1,551 Posts
    I think Longford have lost a bit of momentum and GU could well get a result here. That said, my money would be on a draw.

This is way more important for us. I can see ye staying up regardless youl pick up a win here or there but its a must for us or we are fooked!

ive a feeling longford will want it more, its true they have lost momentum - but they have to win

it seems everytime united might get into serious trouble the other teams involved make it easy by losing themselves

i think united playing to their ability should win comfortably 2-0 - but they just dont seem capable of that - the way the heads dropped after the goal on friday shows their confidence is paper thin

also is regi suspended for this one?
    more water!

75 Posts
    Yes but we will have at least 4 players back.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    well they have 3 out Jamie Duffy,David Freeman and Kevin Doherty. Terryland has to be bouncing this friday there wasnt one flag up last week and the drummers forgot about leaving the drumsticks behind while they were away. Lets make an extra effort on friday loads of colour and noise and encourage all the Section A's to get as many people as possible in the old stand .If we win on friday we will have one foot in the premier for next season.

Lets all stay positive this week and leave the negative stuff out until the season is over.
    Why do you want people in the old stand... every body should fill the new stand first

Quote Originally Posted by galwaygooner View Post
    Why do you want people in the old stand... every body should fill the new stand first
    Because the new stand doesn't encourage the team on vocally at all.

Don't see why people couldn't have made noise on Friday without the drums.

As for the match-think Longford will be more up fot it myself.A win though and we'll be a long way to securing Premier League football in Terryland again next year.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Because the new stand doesn't encourage the team on vocally at all.

Don't see why people couldn't have made noise on Friday without the drums.

As for the match-think Longford will be more up fot it myself.A win though and we'll be a long way to securing Premier League football in Terryland again next year.
    I sit in the new stand every home game and i think it can generate more noise than the old stand,also people will be able to watch the game from a better position and will be able to give a true reflection on how the game went.last friday night you could see barry time after time not tracking back and you just knew a goal was going to be tapped in from his side of the pitch, yet some people from the old stand thought he had a good game...

Quote Originally Posted by galwaygooner View Post
    yet some people from the old stand thought he had a good game...
    Correction ..... some people from the old stand thought he had a good game by his standards.

The crowd on that side of the pitch just gives a bit of a roar if the team is on an attack or knock in a goal there is never any singing over there. It is impressive to hear it but its all too quiet when our backs are against the wall.

2-0 to utd.

whoever said we are going to lose 2-0 at home to the bottom club is incredibly negative.where is the optimism from supposedly great supporters???(i know whos going to reply to that comment).
    C'mon lads lets just think that the players realise how big fridays game is and will raise their performances,lets remember we have at least 4 regulars back and lets also remember the lads need our support through thick and thin.
    my prediction 2-0 to us.

Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    whoever said we are going to lose 2-0 at home to the bottom club is incredibly negative.where is the optimism from supposedly great supporters???(i know whos going to reply to that comment).
    C'mon lads lets just think that the players realise how big fridays game is and will raise their performances,lets remember we have at least 4 regulars back and lets also remember the lads need our support through thick and thin.
    my prediction 2-0 to us.
    Negative or not , in the cold light of day if i was going to the bookies with 1000 Euro of my money i am sorry to say i would put the money on Longford to win as simple as that .

Now if you want me to be positive well

NEW WORLD RECORD
    Galway United beat Longford town 83-1 , the top scorer was Barry Moran who bagged 57 goals .

HAPPY NOW ??????????????

pure entertainment, claret!

the old stand new stand debate is a bit flat - it just reeks of infighting

im the better supporter cause i sit in a certain stand - rubbish

youve made a conscoius decision to either have a better view of the game in one - or be part of a vocal support in the other

now leave it
    more water!

Quote Originally Posted by corbyeire View Post
    youve made a conscoius decision to either have a better view of the game in one - or be part of a vocal support in the other
    didn't hear too much (any) vocal support from the Old Stand last Friday.

except of course for Pats doing their Bounce thingy.....

Hardly infighting Corby I was only giving my viewpoint as I have been in both stands this season. I dont care where people sit and its all the better if there is plenty of noise from both stands it ups the atmosphere no end. The old stand was pretty empty on Friday alright Hoop. It seems that there were alot of youngsters gone into the new stand for some reason.

I interviewed Daryl Robson for Friday nights programme. This guy is genuinely ambitious and is certainly one who wants to succeed with United. Nothing less than a win will do for him against LTFC even though I dont know if he'll be playing. Read about his reaction (positive) as he came off towards the end of the Sligo game in Terryland.

in fairness pats sang solidly for the 23mins + stoppage after their goal

a very coordinated sort of thing, impressive
    more water!

Ya they were bloody loud! I reckon there was over 100 of them in that corner and they had plenty of drums too. Fair play to them for making the journey. But back on track now with the LTFC game. Any Longford fans able to put a number on yere travelling support and how ye'll do?

Fridays game is now even more important after Bray beat Shams tonight. The league is pretty much over at the top so all eyes are on the bottom now. This is goin to be the clubs most important stretch ever IMO.

To all the players that read this forum go out on friday night and make it count wipe the floor with them!

yep the bray win could be the kick in the arse required for friday night!

heres hoping!

come on GUFC
    more water!