Page 44 of 68 FirstFirst ... 34424344454654 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Junior Cup 2007/08

Quote Originally Posted by corduff_blanch View Post
    We are looking at St Mochtas ground, however we have a call on dalymount at lunchtime tomorrow.

it looks like dalymount.

you'll be well looked after when the game is over regardless, and will welcome you and your supporters to dublin.

by all accounts (malahide and trinity), you are a very good side and hard to beat.

Hopefully its a good one.
    Going up to that game, whats the story with the ground? any news yet?

Quote Originally Posted by Town Fan View Post
    Was at the Town match yesterday, can't see Town winning it out. They still look shaky at the back. They scored early and never got the second to kill the game off. Fair play to Evergreen, they played very well. It was a superb goal from Tony Scully to win it, he is pure class. I thought Paul Scully should never have been sent off, he put his arm to protect himself, and yes I am biased but I am honest, and he didn't deserve to get a straight red. John Lyons was only evening things up haven't sent off the Evergreen lad for a head butt.
    Must complement our "beloved" PRO, who actually went over to the player after the game and shook his hand and had a brief chat with him. I don't particularly like the man but I must say that was a nice gesture and was appreciated by the player and the evergreen people.
    I think Michael's have abetter chance of winning it out than Town but who knows.
    Despite extreme disappointment at going out, have to say Clonmel shaded it Sunday. We (Evergreen)lost concentration for a second about 3 minutes into the match and they pounced. After that we pressed and probably dominated things but did not penetrate a somewhat shakey (but confident) defence until we changed it which immediatley saw us get our first after the hour mark. The sending off changed things for us. No complaint the lad just lost it. Fair play to your man (PRO) on the line. Your lad was somewhat unlucky to get the red however in fairness it did look like he raised a hand and you know what was going to happen after that. Superb winner from Scully. His introduction changed it for the Town. We were very well looked after at the club and afterward in The Local, Clonmel Tn sponsor. Thanks for looking after us and best of luck in the QF (which youz are well capable of winning).

Lisselton out....

Quote Originally Posted by jimbo View Post
    was the crumlin lisselton game plyed?
    Heard Lisselton were beaten but don't know what the exact score was!

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts

Fixtures

2007/08 FAI Umbro Junior Challenge Cup

Saturday 26th Jan
    Ballyphehane Celtic v Moville Celtic

Sunday 27th Jan
    Corduff v St. Peters Athlone

Quote Originally Posted by tralee_dynamo View Post
    Heard Lisselton were beaten but don't know what the exact score was!
    1 nil
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    2007/08 FAI Umbro Junior Challenge Cup

Saturday 26th Jan
    Ballyphehane Celtic v Moville Celtic
    Surely a chartered flight from Derry to Cork!!
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Did Milford United get the royal hospitality treatment in Dungarvan?
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post
    Surely a chartered flight from Derry to Cork!!
    Yeah... That looks the bones of a 550-600 mile round trip for the Moville lads!!!
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

so much for lisselton being the dark hores with their junior internationals etc etc; am surprised by that result

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post
    Yeah... That looks the bones of a 550-600 mile round trip for the Moville lads!!!

I wouldnt be at all surprised if Moville gave them a walk over.

The reason I say this is because in the last round when we went up to their place some of the club members passed remarks like "it's just as well they were drawn at home and that they didn't have to travel to Limerick, as they couldn't afford it"!!!!

We shall wait and see, but if they do travel and win, then it will be a local derby for them in the next round v Redcastle.

Killester v Ballynanty officially fixed for Sun 24th of Feb

Quote Originally Posted by chopper harris View Post
    Trinity are a good enough side. Fairly big but don't really play to their strengths in my mind (i.e They don't hoof it long) Haven't been to their ground. Good luck.
    They dont hoof it long because their pitch is long you have to be patient and play it up the pitch.They know excatly to how to play it.
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

Quote Originally Posted by Concept View Post
    Killester v Ballynanty officially fixed for Sun 24th of Feb
    are they afraid to play balla or something?

Quote Originally Posted by Hoops 1967 View Post
    are they afraid to play balla or something?
    I think it was mentioned in this thread a few pages back that killester are going off on a holiday. Think its cos they won the fai or some cup in dublin last season. So the game will be played when they get back.

Killester are off to South Africa for 10 days, thats the prize for winning the A division of the AUL. Last year it was Miami for them, and the year before Portmarnock went to Memphis.

When Killester return they will be near unbeatable. They went to Miami last year at the same time and were sh1t hot when they came back, just think what a bonding excercise that is for a squad away on a trip like that.

I got on them at 3/1 and I'm sorry I didn't earlier. Still hate them but business is business.

bad value

3 to 1 is bad value when they havnt reached the 1/4 final stage yet!
    they may win it , but a lot of things can go wrong in an amateur cup competition...

Quote Originally Posted by inexile View Post
    i wouldnt be writing off balla against killester, balla on their day would and could beat any team in the country
    Not if they play the way they played in the last round.They were lucky to beat Kilmallock.

Quote Originally Posted by Thehoops83 View Post
    Not if they play the way they played in the last round.They were lucky to beat Kilmallock.
    i wouldnt worry about something like that, it can be hard to motivate yourself to play against the likes of kilmallock (no disrespect intended) but im sure balla will go to killester knowing they have nothing to lose and with the players they have are capable of causing an upset, hence the reason i said on the day and not every day. Killester are firm favourites and may well win but at the very least i expect balla to give them a good fight

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by inexile View Post
    i wouldnt worry about something like that, it can be hard to motivate yourself to play against the likes of kilmallock (no disrespect intended) but im sure balla will go to killester knowing they have nothing to lose and with the players they have are capable of causing an upset, hence the reason i said on the day and not every day. Killester are firm favourites and may well win but at the very least i expect balla to give them a good fight

Being brutally honest, I cant see Balla winning in Dublin (I hope I'm wrong) but if it was in Limerick it would be a different story, especially if they had them out in Bateman.

i agree abbeyvale, but such is the beauty of cup football anything is possible. its not like havant & waterloovile travelling to liverpool, more like say villa travelling to man u, unlikely but there is a chance, if that makes any sense.

Page 44 of 68 FirstFirst ... 34424344454654 ... LastLast