Page 52 of 68 FirstFirst ... 242505152535462 ... LastLast
Results 1,021 to 1,040 of 1344

Thread: FAI Junior Cup 2007/08

brilliant result for sligo/leitrim league manor have been a breath of fresh air this season, a fantastic result. who knows what might happen next

Just goes to show what difference a new manager can make, especially one that doesn't live in the area and has no pre-conceptions of people.

115 Posts
    Clonmel v Killester/Ballina

Carrick v St Michael's

Castlebar v Manor

Corduff v Redcastle

Would be a great QF draw...
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

michaels beat crumlin on pens 4-1. scorless after extra time. TSDl sides looking good in last 8
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    Clonmel v Killester/Ballina

Carrick v St Michael's

Castlebar v Manor

Corduff v Redcastle

Would be a great QF draw...
    ah i was reading that and thought it was the real draw
    castlebar v manor would be a good draw, few sligo boys with castlebar....and manor in our league!

So nobody heard what the draw is??

Have Killester played Ballynanty yet?

they were in south africa during the week wernt they?

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Bit O'Red View Post
    Have Killester played Ballynanty yet?

No not yet, Balla played Cork City in the MSC today.

Quote Originally Posted by threefivetwo View Post
    ref tried everythin he could do to let grattan score an equaliser in the last few minutes, gave loads of frees on the edge of the box that shouldn't have been allowed and sent the celtic captain off 4 nothin, ref and the linesman in the second half were a joke and put celtic under big pressure. grattan didn't have many chances, celtic had more clear cut chances and were the better team and showed a lot more heart on the day, celtic definitely deserved to win, if they didn't the ref wud have won it 4 grattan!!!!! as was said about the clonmel game, so much for neutral refferees!!!!!! it was a joke!!! celtic lookin good!!!
    i was going to come on here and wish castlebar all the best after their win over grattan but once again castlebar seem to have outdone themselves when it comes to a lack of dignity and sportsmanship....from the day this fixture was announced they have been harping on about grattan forcinig them to play on a saturday and grattan forcing them to play on their astro turf complex.....and now they can't win a game graciously imagine if they had lost....to imply the officials were homers is a joke.....you go on about why your captain was sent off...it was two undisputable booking offences which by the way wasn't contested by the player himself or management because he had to go....also you neglected to say grattan had a player sent off...explain his sending off by hometown officials???now that was harsh....for the first half hour grattan ran castlebar ragged and were persistantly fouled by a ponderous backline who couldn't handle the pace of the grattan midfield/forwards....the officials could and should have produced more cards....there has been some very good sides come to cork over the last few seasons and some great friendships made unfortunately you lot leave a bad taste in the mouth....your own manager was heard to say how good a side grattan were and had some very good players and a very good passnig side....sorry to everyone else about the rant but this guy is an idiot...i won't dignify your comments by getting into a slagging match and won't reply to your biased unfounded comments...the words sportsmanship... and rules of the game come to mind
    objective view

Quote Originally Posted by carrick hoops View Post
    is the draw definatley on in the morning?
    which teams are through to the last 8??
    when are killester playing ballynanty???

who has the answers ???!
    Killester v's Balla on Sun 24th

Quote Originally Posted by thirdeye View Post
    i was going to come on here and wish castlebar all the best after their win over grattan but once again castlebar seem to have outdone themselves when it comes to a lack of dignity and sportsmanship....from the day this fixture was announced they have been harping on about grattan forcinig them to play on a saturday and grattan forcing them to play on their astro turf complex.....and now they can't win a game graciously imagine if they had lost....to imply the officials were homers is a joke.....you go on about why your captain was sent off...it was two undisputable booking offences which by the way wasn't contested by the player himself or management because he had to go....also you neglected to say grattan had a player sent off...explain his sending off by hometown officials???now that was harsh....for the first half hour grattan ran castlebar ragged and were persistantly fouled by a ponderous backline who couldn't handle the pace of the grattan midfield/forwards....the officials could and should have produced more cards....there has been some very good sides come to cork over the last few seasons and some great friendships made unfortunately you lot leave a bad taste in the mouth....your own manager was heard to say how good a side grattan were and had some very good players and a very good passnig side....sorry to everyone else about the rant but this guy is an idiot...i won't dignify your comments by getting into a slagging match and won't reply to your biased unfounded comments...the words sportsmanship... and rules of the game come to mind
    I myself could not make the game as I work on Saturdays. As for the above I was the one who was against playing the game on an astro turf pitch and regardless of the result my views are the same. As for playing on Sat. if you read my posts I never once was opposed to playing the game on the day that a league takes place, my only comment was that we would have no traveling support (not big as in terms of Westport, Carrick etc) due to a Saturday game. Yes our management was giving out about it (in the wrong IMO), but if they have to play a Dublin Sat side in the next Rd the game will be on Sat. You cannot take someone’s bias view (which they are entitled to) of a game as a club been unsporting (you cannot judge a summer by one swallow), or did our players and few supporters do anything to be unsporting. I presume & hope our lads shook hands with the Grattan lads at the end of the game. What more do you want them to do? I don’t understand your rant about the manager what did he do. On the sending offs I heard there was no complaints (as you said yourself we did not complain), maybe the first one was a bit harsh? On been run ragged for the first hour, who is been biased now? What I heard (biased of course) was that we struggled to come to terms with the surface for the first 20 minutes but held our own after that until the sending offs. It funny how two sets of supporters see games so differently (the beauty of sport) for example all the fouling our lads were doing, what I heard (biased of course) was that the Grattan players went to ground very easily? So to come on here and accuse a club of been unsporting based on a post is a bit unfair and shows sour grapes in my mind, as I wasn’t at the game maybe we did something to upset you during the game, you might enlighten me.

Nice piece on Killester in South Africa -

http://afrikatourism.blogspot.com/20...occer-and.html

41 Posts

Hindsight

littleman
    Reserves Join Date: Mar 2007

Hindisght

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'd said to myself I'll take a while to think about this one because with the comments posted by the Casltlebar lad I knew thier would be a reaction . Its hard enough goin out on penos without havin it rubbed in your face and I did'nt want it to take away from the game itself.

To be very honest we knew Castlebar were a good side and had'nt conceeded a goal in the Fai yet so we also knew it was'nt goin to be easy to break down.Nothin is at this stage.We started very brightly and had them on the back foot for 25 or so mins.They were takin no prisioners in the last 30 an we had 4 good direct free chances which we tryed to test their keeper with.Goldsmith made a great break then an one on one the keeper made a fine save.We stepped of the gas for the last 15 an our keeper had to save a one on one before we let them come into the game an we gave away a very soft goal.Our own fault.The ref i thought was very leanient ot the Castlebar lads if anything because they made 3 or 4 terrible tackles alone on Cans.As I said they had a game plan,more power to them and we bore the brunt of some very late challanges for which yellows were not given so I really dont know where 352 is comin from.

The second half was them soakin it up again an again an attackin on the break,which they were good at in fairness.The 3 sendin offs were fairly straight forward accordin to the ref.The first for them,their player was on a yellow an mis controled the ball and when we broke he tripped our player,second yellow gone.Then we really put them under pressure an had 7 corners in the last 15 mins the last of which we managed to beat their keeper only for their center half to clear it with his hand,peno an straight red.Thats them down to 9 men an us with a peno to be taken with 2mins left.Figo was trying to place the peno when a Castlebar player kicked the ball from his hands,Figo pushed him away an the ref sent Figo off.Madness on the part of the official,he lost it big time.He should have booked them both an told them to cop on and if I was to be cynical I'd say Castlebar knew what they were doin at the time.

Jp put the peno away an we went into extra time where we knew with the extra man we could win it and we battered them for the 20 mins with them just hoofin it away and tryin to catch us on the break.We tryed an tryed but we just could'nt put it in the back of the net.Even when it went to penos we thought we could still do it .Smithy got his hands to their first an it just dribbled over the line and the rest is history.We played great stuff but it counts for nothin because they won.

We have all played in those games where you give 110% and still end up loosin,football can pat you on the back in one second an kick ya in the rollers the next.We had the luck in the penos against New Ross,it was'nt their Saturday.We went back to the Anglers to lament what could have been an drank the night away happy in the knowledge of what might still be.You dont always get what you deserve from a game and Castlebar know they got out of jail with this one.I have no problem with them because you cant account for what some individual might write .Best of luck to Caslebar in the next round,the Gratts have still a lot to play for.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    littleman
    Reserves Join Date: Mar 2007

Hindisght

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'd said to myself I'll take a while to think about this one because with the comments posted by the Casltlebar lad I knew thier would be a reaction . Its hard enough goin out on penos without havin it rubbed in your face and I did'nt want it to take away from the game itself.

To be very honest we knew Castlebar were a good side and had'nt conceeded a goal in the Fai yet so we also knew it was'nt goin to be easy to break down.Nothin is at this stage.We started very brightly and had them on the back foot for 25 or so mins.They were takin no prisioners in the last 30 an we had 4 good direct free chances which we tryed to test their keeper with.Goldsmith made a great break then an one on one the keeper made a fine save.We stepped of the gas for the last 15 an our keeper had to save a one on one before we let them come into the game an we gave away a very soft goal.Our own fault.The ref i thought was very leanient ot the Castlebar lads if anything because they made 3 or 4 terrible tackles alone on Cans.As I said they had a game plan,more power to them and we bore the brunt of some very late challanges for which yellows were not given so I really dont know where 352 is comin from.

The second half was them soakin it up again an again an attackin on the break,which they were good at in fairness.The 3 sendin offs were fairly straight forward accordin to the ref.The first for them,their player was on a yellow an mis controled the ball and when we broke he tripped our player,second yellow gone.Then we really put them under pressure an had 7 corners in the last 15 mins the last of which we managed to beat their keeper only for their center half to clear it with his hand,peno an straight red.Thats them down to 9 men an us with a peno to be taken with 2mins left.Figo was trying to place the peno when a Castlebar player kicked the ball from his hands,Figo pushed him away an the ref sent Figo off.Madness on the part of the official,he lost it big time.He should have booked them both an told them to cop on and if I was to be cynical I'd say Castlebar knew what they were doin at the time.

Jp put the peno away an we went into extra time where we knew with the extra man we could win it and we battered them for the 20 mins with them just hoofin it away and tryin to catch us on the break.We tryed an tryed but we just could'nt put it in the back of the net.Even when it went to penos we thought we could still do it .Smithy got his hands to their first an it just dribbled over the line and the rest is history.We played great stuff but it counts for nothin because they won.

We have all played in those games where you give 110% and still end up loosin,football can pat you on the back in one second an kick ya in the rollers the next.We had the luck in the penos against New Ross,it was'nt their Saturday.We went back to the Anglers to lament what could have been an drank the night away happy in the knowledge of what might still be.You dont always get what you deserve from a game and Castlebar know they got out of jail with this one.I have no problem with them because you cant account for what some individual might write .Best of luck to Caslebar in the next round,the Gratts have still a lot to play for.
    Fair report, I was told that Celtic were down to 9 men and Grattan down to 10 on 60 min. and we hit the post & crossbar. But what you have written seems fair and I take it I was mis informed. Hope you have more luck for the remainder of the season.

Angry

Quote Originally Posted by prionsias9 View Post
    Well done Clonmel town.
    So much for neutral referees.
    Was at Town match on Saturday. Was delighted with the result but once again we scored early but allowed Cherry Orchard back into it.
    Much as it pains me to say it, Clonmel Town will NOT win the FAI Junior Cup, simply to poor at the back.

don't know what you were reporting on, must have been a horse race because you have blinkers on. I was at the match also and both teams played great football. The 1st 25 min's was all grattan, '' we felt like U'12's chasing the ball '' , that was a quote from one of the Castlebar players. Castlebar started to show what they are about for the last 15 min's of the 1st half and broke well to get their goal. That is how you play cup football away from home and fair play to them. The 2nd half started with up the pressure and Castlebar quick on the break. The 1st sending off was about correct, you forget that the same player had gone straight thru JP TWICE from behind in the 1st 10 mins and got away with it, betcha that's not in your report, the 1st yellow you can't have any reason to say that the ref was biased the player desevered it and when you are on a yellow you're walking a tight rope so when you catch a player from behind you know there is only one outcome. I have no problem with the 2 others sending off's, and well done to Castlebar for riding out the storm and winning on peno's. Also I was speaking to Gavin Dykes himself after the match and he said that we are one the best foootballing sides he has seen and it was a shame that one team had to go out this way, maybe you should listen a bit more to the people involved with the game and be gracious in victory. you have left a very sour taste in the mouth after what was a very sporting game, and put that in your REPORT

Killester in South Africa

Quote Originally Posted by Dr Mad View Post
    Nice piece on Killester in South Africa -

http://afrikatourism.blogspot.com/20...occer-and.html
    Theres a great write up in todays Daily Star on Killester in South Africa

Have a little faith

Quote Originally Posted by Town Fan View Post
    Was at Town match on Saturday. Was delighted with the result but once again we scored early but allowed Cherry Orchard back into it.
    Much as it pains me to say it, Clonmel Town will NOT win the FAI Junior Cup, simply to poor at the back.
    Whilst its probably true that the centre of the defense is not as solid as we want both full backs are rock solid. Look on the bright side- if we score more than the other team, we win . The draw is taking place in dublin tonight along with the oscar traynor draw.

Latest Betting

Killester United 5 - 2
    Clonmel Town 5 - 1
    Carrick United 5 - 1
    Castlebar Celtic 13 - 2
    St Michael's 8 - 1
    Manorhamilton 12 - 1
    Ballynanty Rovers 12 - 1