Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Owen Wilson attempted suicide

Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    To expand the theme its funny how you get people who of seemingly average intellingence become very wealthy while the deeper thinker who is a genius at Quizs or whatever doesnt seem to progress "up the ladder".Chances are the second guy wants answers to big questions and goes seeking for them and is proably more prone to depression.
    l
    You're right to an extent, but if the deep thinker also has a bit of cop-on/common sense(something intellectuals often lack) he'll realise that the answer to the big questions are, often imperceptibly, reached through an interminably winding series of small issues. A bit like a tricky maths problem in that if you just look at it as one big problem without delineating it you'll quickly get flustered at the impossibility of reaching a solution. Similarly, if you start asking yourself 'what is my place in life' and expect a signposted route to a clear-cut answer, granted you are showing a capacity to think on a reasonably deep level, but there is a lack of focus and understanding as to the vast complexity inherent with any such 'big' question. Thus, my thesis conclusion would be that a deep thinker without comparative realism and pragmatism is in a precarious position, much worse than the reasonably successful fella who happily ambles along unconcerned with the big questions, and also worse than the thick stupid guy Risteard envies. How sweet blissful ignorance must be! I suppose the point is that if we think and realise something is going wrong but don't have the wherewithal to do anything about it, or don't have a broad perspective on it to appreciate it isn't really a problem, we're a bit fooked.

By the way, I don't think financial wealth is a great parameter to use here as we tend to assume that happiness/fulfillment is a corollary. Like people who, I feel misguidedly, choose a certain career as it will lead to an enviable salary or status, and not because they think it is what they are best suited for(and hence what they should get the most pleasure out of). Of course, some will be happy just because they are rich, they are obviously likely to be intelligent, in some form, but generally lack, not necessarily to their detriment, a deep thinking competence.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    The ideal scenario is to twin a good creative thinker with a dynamic doer. Otherwise the thinker gets nothing done, and the doer is just a bundle of poorly channeled energy.
    I tend to fall into the former category. So now I know what to look for in my wife! Together, we will conquer the world

(*Apologies if I don't make sense, I just typed what I was thinking, definitely not from a book!!)

Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    You're right to an extent, but if the deep thinker also has a bit of cop-on/common sense(something intellectuals often lack) he'll realise that the answer to the big questions are, often imperceptibly, reached through an interminably winding series of small issues. A bit like a tricky maths problem in that if you just look at it as one big problem without delineating it you'll quickly get flustered at the impossibility of reaching a solution. Similarly, if you start asking yourself 'what is my place in life' and expect a signposted route to a clear-cut answer, granted you are showing a capacity to think on a reasonably deep level, but there is a lack of focus and understanding as to the vast complexity inherent with any such 'big' question. Thus, my thesis conclusion would be that a deep thinker without comparative realism and pragmatism is in a precarious position, much worse than the reasonably successful fella who happily ambles along unconcerned with the big questions, and also worse than the thick stupid guy Risteard envies. How sweet blissful ignorance must be! I suppose the point is that if we think and realise something is going wrong but don't have the wherewithal to do anything about it, or don't have a broad perspective on it to appreciate it isn't really a problem, we're a bit fooked.

By the way, I don't think financial wealth is a great parameter to use here as we tend to assume that happiness/fulfillment is a corollary. Like people who, I feel misguidedly, choose a certain career as it will lead to an enviable salary or status, and not because they think it is what they are best suited for(and hence what they should get the most pleasure out of). Of course, some will be happy just because they are rich, they are obviously likely to be intelligent, in some form, but generally lack, not necessarily to their detriment, a deep thinking competence.

I tend to fall into the former category. So now I know what to look for in my wife! Together, we will conquer the world

(*Apologies if I don't make sense, I just typed what I was thinking, definitely not from a book!!)

Yes, hoop, there is definitely a "creative" side to you anyhow thats for sure.

Brilliant post though, I could almost completely agree with what you are saying and I would say that, if a highly intellectual has got no "social intelligence" ( touched on briefly by dcfcsteve ) he is in serious trouble. You find a lot that extremely intelligent people without any social cop on if you wish are acutally autistic. how do i get that funny exclaimation mark?

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    I have been dubbed the next Andy Reid in my time alright

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    She wasn't the first to talk about his "party" lifestyle.
    No, but she did accuse him of pushing drugs on Owen Wilson and being directly responsible for the suicide attempt. If Courtney Love is accusing you of being a bad influence...

Check this out though:
    BBC TWO Listings
    Saxondale
    Thu 30 Aug, 9:30 pm - 10:00 pm 30mins

Tommy rescues Martin from committing suicide, and decides to change Martin's outlook on life. But Tommy has no professional skills for dealing with the suicidal. Some strong language. [AD,S]

Spooky.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post

Much respect to kingdom hoop

As someone who considers himself to be a deep-thinker it's nice to see it being discussed. I have often sat , for hours on occasions, thinking about the `big questions`.

In terms of the suggested links with depression,I could see how a deep-thinker could tangle his/herself in confussion, dissillusionment etc and become depressed. I certainly don't reckon I'm depressed and consider myself to be a positive person (partly because of the time spent in deep thought), but hey I'm 18 + 1/2 years old so I've hopefully got plenty of time to be depressed

(Best wishes to Owen also.)

I have often sat , for hours on occasions, thinking about the `big questions`.

And did you figure out how the put they fig into the fig rolls in the end using any of the above methods spoken about by da hoop?

Actually, on that sometimes I think about half an hour after Ireland qualify or win a very important match or something that doesn't happen that often, sure what does it matter anyhow? What happens we aren't going to win anything, why is it that i want to see us in etc etc. But if we dont qualify or win I dont have these thoughts, I am extremely depressed and in no mood to do anything and can feel like this for weeks afterwards. I often wonder why this is, but I just try and stop myself doing it, by acting the eejit or such like.

Noticed with the younger posters on here, pre pubery ah no pre early 20s you find you do a lot more of this thinking then than you do as you get older. Until you hit 70s and you become extremely religious, which is also a form of depression might i add.

And did you figure out how the put they fig into the fig rolls in the end using any of the above methods spoken about by da hoop?

Actually, on that sometimes I think about half an hour after Ireland qualify or win a very important match or something that doesn't happen that often, sure what does it matter anyhow? What happens we aren't going to win anything, why is it that i want to see us in etc etc. But if we dont qualify or win I dont have these thoughts, I am extremely depressed and in no mood to do anything and can feel like this for weeks afterwards. I often wonder why this is, but I just try and stop myself doing it, by acting the eejit or such like.

Noticed with the younger posters on here, pre pubery ah no pre early 20s you find you do a lot more of this thinking then than you do as you get older. Until you hit 70s and you become extremely religious, which is also a form of depression might i add.
    I'm still working on the fig roll question

I remember reading somewhere a while back that a study in England showed that the national football team had an effect on the national average rates of depression and suicide so it's a fairly common thing I suppose.

If I become extremely religious (and/or narrow minded) during my 70's, you can shoot me if you're still around

Noticed with the younger posters on here, pre pubery ah no pre early 20s you find you do a lot more of this thinking then than you do as you get older.
    I'd imagine it could be because around 20ish you, having physically matured, probably begin to intellectually mature, setting up your general Weltanschauung (another one of those great German one worders, meaning world-view, your compass) to guide you for the coming years so that you don't need to constantly evaluate issues with a different perspective. As you age you probably just require, precipitated by experience, occasional slight tinkering.

We could open up a huge can of worms, but, and only speaking for myself, I think I'll leave the lid on, at least until our resident guru Bohs Partisan is around for direction. Where is he? I miss him.

Does grammar and bad spelling come with age too, cos I can only get worse.....but i just blame it on having to type quickly and not letting anyone see me spend my days doodling on foot.ie

great post again hoop Its hard to be intellectual and funny at the same time, you should check out George Carlin. You will like him. Feminist blowjob and Offensive Language are two starting points. ITs actually suprising how well received he is in america given what i have just said.

People that are Deep-thinkers don't get anything done because they are too busy thinking.....Sorry
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    People that are Deep-thinkers don't get anything done because they are too busy thinking.....Sorry
    The only reason some people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory

I think that epitomises what you were saying Paul!!

Doesn't everyone have to have proof of a source on here though steve
    Only those who don't sound convincing amigo......

Brilliant post though, I could almost completely agree with what you are saying and I would say that, if a highly intellectual has got no "social intelligence" ( touched on briefly by dcfcsteve ) he is in serious trouble. You find a lot that extremely intelligent people without any social cop on if you wish are acutally autistic. how do i get that funny exclaimation mark?
    Here POS - why don't you badger Kingdom for souirces, eh.....?

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Here POS - why don't you badger Kingdom for souirces, eh.....?

Cos he talks sense

Thinking is over rated. Besides we all get more right wing as we get older. When you reach 30 time to put the ideologies away.

Cos he talks sense
    He talks it - I make it.....

Right that's it - I want that shirt on my desk - clean, pressed and neatly folded - first thing Monday. Or South Roscommon gets nuked. Now there's a thought....

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Thinking is over rated. Besides we all get more right wing as we get older. When you reach 30 time to put the ideologies away.
    Speak for yourself Pedro...!
    Last edited by sligoman; 31/08/2007 at 2:05 AM. Reason: merge

Or South Roscommon gets nuked.
    Fire ahead, its close to galway, you have to take some bad with the good.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 31/08/2007 at 8:08 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Absolutely - dwelling in deep thought for too long can be self defeating. It's all about balance.

The practicalities of everyday life ie, job, marriage, house, kids, illness etc etc - all in no particular order, should tend to focus the mind away from the luxury of pondering the Universe.

In fact, in the face or real practical problems / dilemma's - there's times such concepts seem downright trivial, insular and self obsessive.

That's not to say deep thinking doesn't have its time or place (usually late teens / early to mid 20's) and indeed its a journey that makes you the person you are.

I think once you find your place in the world you're primary concern outside of your familys health and well being is "Euro 2008 - Is there any Hope????????"
    Quoting years at random since 1975

I think once you find your place in the world you're primary concern outside of your familys health and well being is "Euro 2008 - Is there any Hope????????"
    quality, i like the way you brought that in there wolfie

But the thing is, in all seriousness people who have "The practicalities of everyday life ie, job, marriage, house, kids, illness etc etc" still do do this deed, whether or not it is seen as selfish, i think could be seen as been selfish on the part of the subjugator.

Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC View Post
    Different strokes and all that,
    Nahh - you've got him confused with the little black dude....

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123