Thread: Ireland v Turkey 1999

Ireland v Turkey 1999

Can anyone tell me anything about this game? Did Ireland win this game and if so, who scored the goals?

My boss is putting up two Roy Keane jerseys for auction and needs a bit of background info to go with one of the jerseys worn in this particular game.

Mod>> Apologies if this is in the wrong forum, wasn't sure where to start this thread.

Thanks in advance,

DIFChick

i just mentioned this earlier on, i asked the question had anyone forgiven carsley for handling the ball giving away an 82nd minute penalty. They subsequently equalised and had an away goal in the process. We went there and drew 0-0. Cascarino had a fight with a few officals as well. RTE didnt broadcast the match live as they couldn't get rights I beleive.

keane scored . gamed finished 1 - 1. what sorta info are ye looking for?
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 28/08/2007 at 2:29 PM.

deleted.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 28/08/2007 at 2:30 PM.

3,306 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    RTE didnt broadcast the match live as they couldn't get rights I beleive
    That's right, i'd forgotten about that. Bertie was over there for the game and tried to get the rights awarded as I recall.
    There were some pubs around the country showing the game on satellite TV, Today FM had a list of them on its website

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    779 Posts
    13/11/1999, Dublin, Lansdowne Road, 33610
    European Championship Qualifying
    IRELAND 1 (Robbie Keane 79')
    TURKEY 1 (Tayfur Havutçu 83' pen)
    Ireland: Alan Kelly (Dean Kiely 61'), Stephen Carr, Gary Breen, Kenny Cunningham, Denis Irwin, Rory Delap (Damien Duff 53'), Roy Keane [c], Lee Carsley, Kevin Kilbane, Tony Cascarino (David Connolly 75'), Robbie Keane.

Turkey: Rüştü Reçber, Tayfun Korkut, Abdullah Ercan, Ali Eren Beşerler, Alpay Özalan, Ogün Temizkanoğlu [c], Sergen Yalçın (Mert Korkmaz 86'), Ümit Davala (Arif Erdem 45'), Tayfur Havutçu, Hakan Ünsal (Tugay Kerimoğlu 68'), Hakan Şükür.
    Referee: Anders Frisk (Sweden).
    Coaches: Ireland: Mick McCarthy.
    Turkey: Mustafa Denizli.
    Cards: Ireland: Robbie Keane [Y].
    Turkey: None.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

There were some pubs around the country showing the game on satellite TV, Today FM had a list of them on its website
    really? i never knew that. i think keane hit the post in that match too around 27th minute or something?

irwin scored against belgium then. i was sure he had scored that free against turkey.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 28/08/2007 at 2:29 PM.

3,306 Posts
    really? i never knew that. i think keane hit the post in that match too around 27th minute or something?
    Yeah, I had moved back from Dublin a few weeks beforehand and one of the pubs on the list was my local while I lived there! Was fuming!!

1,912 Posts
    I had forgotten that it was Anders Frisk reffing the game at Landsdowne. I suppose he did his level best for us against Spain.

Thanks for all the feedback lads.

Boss is putting up two jerseys worn by Roy (a Utd shirt) and the one he wore in the game against Turkey in '99.

Boss asked for some background info, just something to say while they auction it off.

Turkish tv wanted ir£1 million for the rights to the game i think and rte refused. Was shown in pubs alright i saw it through the window of the Goalpost in Galway because i was too young and they charged a cover charge. The second leg was a non-event, Robbie Keane had gotten himself suspended i think 4-5-1 was used.

2,690 Posts
    I watched it in the Galtymore Ballroom in Cricklewood, £20 cover charge I think.

The 2-1 win away to Albania under Jack was something similar. RTE didn't have the rights so it was televised live in Dublin's Gaiety theatre.

Quote Originally Posted by Ceirtlis View Post
    Turkish tv wanted ir£1 million for the rights to the game i think and rte refused. Was shown in pubs alright i saw it through the window of the Goalpost in Galway because i was too young and they charged a cover charge. The second leg was a non-event, Robbie Keane had gotten himself suspended i think 4-5-1 was used.
    Apart from Dean Kielys incredible performance between the sticks...and I'll always remember Roy Keanes bonecrushing challenge on the touch line going into injury time. He got the ball, but the poor Turk didn't know what had hit him

i just mentioned this earlier on, i asked the question had anyone forgiven carsley for handling the ball giving away an 82nd minute penalty.
    He slipped and fell on the ball. It was one of those ones a ref was always going to give, but it was not deliberate/intentional handball.
    Alan Kelly got injured and Dean Kiely made his competitive debut and did very well (I think it was his full debut as well - ie competitive or non-competitive).

The unsporting Turks deliberately fixed the 2nd leg for Bursa which was a flight, a ferry and a coach journey away. Cascarino knew the 2nd leg was his last ever game for Ireland so he didn't care about getting a ban from international football when he punched the Turks after the game.

57 Posts
    A few half chances in the return but in reality Dean Kiely kept it scoreless. We blew the game in Dublin with a stupid if disputed penalty (Carsley was quite close to the shot). Robbie Keane got booked then very late on for kicking the ball away I think.

Only 180 fans travelled to the away leg. The papers did a disgraceful hatchet job on Turkey.

My trip report written at the time is below.

UEFA came in for heavy criticism but they still insisted that the Ireland v Turkey playoff should take place in a crime ravaged third world city and in a stadium that is clearly inadequate for modern International football. The country has made a great recovery from a brutal dictator that robbed and enslaved its people for much of the last decade but
    despite the obvious improvements there is an undercurrent of racism among the locals
    and the main thoroughfare is a no go area after dark. Thus only a handful of visiting
    supporters braved the trip. Thankfully the return leg was played in a charming town
    called Bursa where visiting fans were welcomed with open arms as the hosts went out of their
    way to make visitors feel welcome.

While it may have appeared daunting on paper the journey to Bursa was actually quite
    smooth. Malev offered return flights to Istanbul for £257 via Budapest which was
    ridiculously cheap considering the quality of food and service onboard. We were the only
    4 Irish fans on the flight but we had quite a few Turkish fans returning home. We were
    able to offload 2 of our spares to 2 fans as most of the Turkish fans had no tickets for
    Bursa. I held another spare as my sister was still considering a last minute trip.
    The F.A.I. sold these tickets to us at £4 each although the face value in Turkish Lira
    was actually £2. On the 2nd leg of the flight we were joined by the national boxing
    squads of a few neighbouring countries heading to an Olympic qualifying event in
    Istanbul. The Turkish fans paid $1,000 per head for their trip to Dublin. Our hotel
    in Istanbul had been booked via e-mail and at $20 per head it included a free airport pick
    up. Still it was with a degree of trepidation that I came through customs but there
    was no need to worry as the driver was there as arranged. Hotel Ilkay turned out to be
    better than we could have hoped. It was clean. modern and included satellite TV. We
    ventured out into the hustle and bustle of an Istanbul evening. Galatasaray's new away
    jersey and shorts at $10 was probably the bargain of the evening. A certain Cork City fan
    on our trip now boasts the colours of a team that luckily knocked them out of the
    champions league before outclassing slighly better known opposition from across the water
    in the next round.

I had visions of trying to get to the Turkish FA's offices the following morning to try
    and secure a programme given that Turkish programmes are for VIPs only and I had great
    difficulty in obtaining one on my last visit. However a phone calls informed me that
    the programmes were already en route to Bursa. Torrential rain heralded our departure
    for Yenikapi that morning but a short taxi ride had us in the port for the ferry to
    Yalova. It rained for most of the journey over too as the four of us were joined by
    a reporter from the News of the Screws on the trip. Sadly for him (and for us :-)) we
    had no story for him on any liaisons with belly dancers or the Istanbul nightlife.
    Yalova was a depressing sight with refugees from the earthquake everywhere in makeshift
    shelters. The pouring rain didn't help matters. On the local bus to Bursa our
    reporter entertained us with some stories re the F.A.I. which I couldn't possibly
    repeat in writing. Jim and Bren were very interested in his surefire way of getting
    a ticket for the All Ireland hurling final although being from Limerick that wouldn't
    apply to Tony and me. Bursa bus station is situated on the outskirts of a city
    that turned out to be far larger than expected. We took a Taxi to our hotel which
    was very central and also very good value at $16 per night. Hotel Dikmen is highly
    recommended and is very central only 2 minutes walk from the bazaar. We were the first
    4 Irish football fans to visit Bursa since Finn Harps went there in 1974 and we
    were quickly mobbed by well wishers and offered copious amounts of apple tea in the
    bazaar. Presents were acquired to ensure permission for the trip to the finals if
    needs be. We paid a visit to the stadium later in the afternoon and we were able to
    walk right in and even out on the pitch. The stadium was quite small and ordinary and
    didn't look that intimidating. The Bursaspor club shop and their green/white jersey
    was a must have souvenir. We also met Eamonn Carr from the Herald (ex Horseslips)
    who was supposed to be writing about the fans except there weren't any. A bunch
    of local students were fascinated to see us however they were very upset at the
    newspaper coverage their country received in Ireland. We had encountered the same
    feelings earlier in the bazaar. As best we could we apologised and tried to explain
    that this was par for the course with the Irish press.

We had booked our hotel for 2 nights starting our long journey back on Thursday morning
    however we decided to try and hitch a lift on the chartered boat for the press and
    officials. After a nice meal and watching the sirst half of Turkey U21 v Poland U21 on
    TV we headed out to the team hotel to ask. After asking a few people we decided not to
    bother and instead had a few drinks and tried to set the record straight with a few
    journalists re the welcome we had received. There was still a fear that things could
    change if we knocked them out and the police did plan to keep the Irish fans in the
    stadium for 3 hours in the event of us going through. On Sunday morning I was expecting
    a hammering in Bursa but as the game approached I felt growing confidence and believed
    we had a great chance. This was reflected among everybody in the hotel. We also met 2
    Iranians who had watched Ireland during Euro88 and now travelled overland to support
    us. we did our good deed for the day be ensuring they got a room in our hotel.

57 Posts
    trip report contd

I paid a visit to the stadium at 10am on Wednesday morning but the promised programmes
    were not now due until that afternoon. However there were already thousands of
    fans outside queueing to get in. It was back to the bazaar and bartering for a
    suede jacket. The referee and linesmen were also being escorted around the bazaar by
    Turkish FA officials. At best this was indiscreet of them. Still no sign of any of our
    fans. I went out to the stadium early to discover it was a hive of activity. People
    everywhere and my colours led to some bantering but it was all good humoured. It was
    a friendly but highly charged atmosphere. This game meant a lot to all of us. I
    eventually got my programmes but decided it was too late to head back into town and
    instead chatted to some of the press and locals. I apparently was captured on RTE
    when the team arrivedwishing Mick and the lads best of luck. I then met the lads
    as arranged and we had a quick bite to eat before heading back down an hour before
    kickoff. An Irish woman and her Turkish husband had come up from Bodhram on the bus
    and eventually 747 and the London supporters club arrived to swell our numbers to about
    180. This has got to be the smallest away support since Belfast 93. Still time
    to make a bit of noise. We had the amusing but sad sight of approx a dozen fans
    carrying a 747 banner taunting Ray Treacy while a few of Treacy's hardcore chanted
    back. I had left a ticket for the Turkish fan we'd met on the plane and he
    arrived safely into the seat beside us.

The game is best forgotten. We rescued some pride but the better side went through.
    Given our luck in this campaign I thought we might steal in in the final 10 minutes
    but it was not to be. Thankfully there had been no intimidation from the home fans
    although we were glad of the 2,500 armed guard. It was only on the final whistle
    that I discovered the secret of winning playoffs. You need a silly song. Having
    watched dejectedly in Brussels as the Belgians celebrated on the pitch with a silly
    catchy song playing on the PA with the locals joining in we were soon to discover
    that the Turks had a worse one. Boyzone your country needs you in 2 years time.
    Thankfully Cascarino's beating on the pitch did not spill over onto the terraces
    as the locals were too busy trying to exchange scarves. We shook hands with them
    and clapped the fans. Are you watching Ray Treacy?

Ten minutes after the final whistle and the ground was still full. We decided to make
    a quick exit before the home fans came out and head back to our hotel just in case...
    We beat the 22,000 inside to the exits but hadn't counted on the hundreds of thousands
    outside. All the other fans went back by bus under armed guard but we needn't jave
    worried as it was smiles, handshakes all round as we joined a massive singing dancing
    human chain walking back to the city centre. It was the mother of all parties. We
    stocked up on beer from a local shop and stood on the footpath enjoying the celebrations.
    One incident summed it up for me though when the frustrated police tried to clear the
    streets. One of them grabbed my beer and shouted into my face in Turkish. I
    quickly apologised in English for drinking in public whereupon his mood changed,
    he smiled shook my hand and gave me back my beer.

We did try and grab a few hours sleep while every man woman and child partied the night
    away on the streets outside. It was back to the rain again on Thursday as the long
    journey home began. Having inspected the duty free in Budapest on the way out and
    discovered it was not only cheap but had liberal laws on the quantity one could purchase
    we did a lightening tour on the return despite our late arrival and 20 minute
    connection time. We arrived back into Dublin exhausted on thursday night and had to
    wait 30 minutes for the bus that runs every ten minutes to the long term car park.
    My opening paragraph was written very much with tongue in cheek but it's far closer
    to the truth than the rubbish written about Turkey in the Irish papers. We could
    have brought a few thousand fans to Bursa and helped the economy of a country recovering
    from a natural disaster. Every guidebook on Turkey will describe how warm and friendly
    the locals are and the evidence of thousands of Irish people who visit every year
    was forgotten.

He slipped and fell on the ball. It was one of those ones a ref was always going to give, but it was not deliberate/intentional handball.
    oh yes it was, he slipped but then he used his hand to move the feckin thing. I might be hazy about somethings but i can clearly remember that to this day.

The country has made a great recovery from a brutal dictator that robbed and enslaved its people for much of the last decade but
    despite the obvious improvements there is an undercurrent of racism among the locals
    and the main thoroughfare is a no go area after dark. Thus only a handful of visiting
    supporters braved the trip. Thankfully the return leg was played in a charming town
    called Bursa where visiting fans were welcomed with open arms as the hosts went out of their
    way to make visitors feel welcome.
    that makes no to me at all, the first two lines are completely different to the last sentence.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 28/08/2007 at 4:17 PM.

oh yes it was, he slipped but then he used his hand to move the feckin thing. I might be hazy about somethings but i can clearly remember that to this day.

that makes no to me at all, the first two lines are completely different to the last sentence.
    That was no way deliberate..he had no idea where the ball was!

2,690 Posts
    Did Rory Delap play upfront in Bursa or am I having a senior moment?

3,306 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Did Rory Delap play upfront in Bursa or am I having a senior moment?
    Think he ended up there at one point alright

Thanks again! It's good to know I can rely on ye for this sort of stuff in the future. The stuff is being auctioned off at a charity event so hopefully the two jerseys will bring in a bit of cash.