Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Squad named for double header

20 Posts
    I have a sneaky feeling he will go with potter in his starting line up in one of the games. Stan seems to be a horses for courses manager. He probably has an idea of how he will approach these games(neutralise whatever he perceives the opposition threat to be primarily, create goalscoring chances second) and will pick the 11 players that best help him achieve this. So I dont expect him to pick the best 11 players available to him.

On individual selections.....
    Id like to see Hunt start eventho he isnt the answer to all our prayers...when he plays well he seems to play very well and get both his team mates and the fans a bit of spur.
    I dont want to see O Shea anywhere near midfield.
    I also think its time to drop Kilbane, he can always be recalled or brought on if we need to shore up midfield.
    I dont think Given should start even if technically he is deemed fit. He hasnt had any match practice.
    Id like to see Mageady involved at some stage as he can take players on but I dont think he should start.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Roy O Donovan has scored goals at a level that Trundle is at and so has Jason Byrne and so has Glen Crowe, should they not be shoe ins so.
    Don't be so pedantic!!!! We both know that Trundle would be playing for Cardiff at this moment in time, albeit with Fowler and Hasselbaink on their books, Byrne couldn't even get a game last season. I doubt any of those players you have mentioned have scored two goals of the quality Trundle scored at that level last week, he's done it for years.

Not pedantic at all. I am quite serious. Trundle has been playing at a level lower than the EL and he has scored goals. Fair play to him He has now scored two goals at Championship level and you are saying he should be a shoe in. I have no problem, him getting a call up for say the America tour or something like that but I dont think he should be in this squad just because of those two goals. Did you see Joxer Kelly performance on Friday night. A thing of beauty butyou dont hear lots of Bohs fans coming on hear calling for him to be called up to the senior squad.
    In Trap we trust

26 Posts
    Not pedantic at all. I am quite serious. Trundle has been playing at a level lower than the EL and he has scored goals. Fair play to him He has now scored two goals at Championship level and you are saying he should be a shoe in. I have no problem, him getting a call up for say the America tour or something like that but I dont think he should be in this squad just because of those two goals. Did you see Joxer Kelly performance on Friday night. A thing of beauty butyou dont hear lots of Bohs fans coming on hear calling for him to be called up to the senior squad.
    Trundle has just been bought for a million quid, I'm not going to get into a debate about the positives and negatives of the EL but I believe he's good enough to be in that squad.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by livehead1 View Post
    Trundle has just been bought for a million quid, I'm not going to get into a debate about the positives and negatives of the EL but I believe he's good enough to be in that squad.
    I sort of agree with you in that he's definitely a better player than Murphy (as is Alan Lee) who is at the moment the big man in the squad but I don't see him as enough of a useful addition to get too hot and bothered about. Personally I'd rather see Morrison in the squad instead of both as we know he can at least bang in a few goals at the highest level. I do think he's fairly limited though so Trundle is possibly worth a look in a friendly but I wouldn't push for him to be included for any of the qualifiers coming up in the next few weeks.

Saying that Murphy should also not be in the squad for any of the same set of qualifiers.
    Last edited by youngirish; 29/08/2007 at 2:19 PM.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    I sort of agree with you in that he's definitely a better player than Murphy (as is Alan Lee) who is at the moment the big man in the squad but I don't see him as enough of a useful addition to get too hot and bothered about. Personally I'd rather see Morrison in the squad instead of both as we know he can at least bang in a few goals at the highest level. I do think he's fairly limited though so Trundle is possibly worth a look in a friendly but I wouldn't push for him to be included for any of the qualifiers coming up in the next few weeks.

Sayung that Murphy should also not be in the squad for any of the same set of qualifiers.
    Its more that I feels its a tremendous shame he hasn't had a chance this far, I believe he is good enough to compete with what we have at the moment, and its poor decision making that he hasn't had a chance.

So people are now purely judged on the price they go for then. Just because a manager at Bristol City thought that he was worth a million pound does not mean he is a better player than Kevin Doyle who was bought for far less or Roy O Donovan who was bought for less.
    In Trap we trust

26 Posts
    So people are now purely judged on the price they go for then. Just because a manager at Bristol City thought that he was worth a million pound does not mean he is a better player than Kevin Doyle who was bought for far less or Roy O Donovan who was bought for less.
    If you read my previous posts I have been judging him on the number of his goals, and the quality of his goals. It takes a very good player to score the type of goals in the quantity he scores them.

why does anyone care what they name the squad? so long as they win thats all that should matter.

26 Posts
    He should be playing tonight v Man City anyway

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    Kilbane has been awful in any match that I have seen him play left-back. He just doesn't have the positional awareness to play there. he has a tendency to drift far too much inside, nearly sitting on top of the centre halfs which gives any decent winger worth his salt a chance to look up, take his time and whip in a decent cross.

I really can't understand the clamour for his inclusion in this position. He is not, or never will be, a full-back...
    Completely agree, he was awful at left back against Holland.

Saying that I think he has been playing left back for Wigan now and doing ok so maybe if he was used to playing there he'd be fine.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Completely agree, he was awful at left back against Holland.

Saying that I think he has been playing left back for Wigan now and doing ok so maybe if he was used to playing there he'd be fine.
    He was only at LB for a bit in the Dutch game, no? He started as left side forward in a 4-3-3 / 4-5-1 as far as I can recall, and finished up at CB. Or was that another game?

If you read my previous posts I have been judging him on the number of his goals, and the quality of his goals. It takes a very good player to score the type of goals in the quantity he scores them.
    And as I pointed out you other people have scored that quantity of goals at a similar if not a level above and they have not made this squad and I dont see you calling for their inclusion. So you came back with the price issue.
    In Trap we trust

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    He was only at LB for a bit in the Dutch game, no? He started as left side forward in a 4-3-3 / 4-5-1 as far as I can recall, and finished up at CB. Or was that another game?
    It was that game but I'm not too sure. He did end up at centre back but I just remember him getting turn inside out during the second half.

Quote Originally Posted by the ox View Post
    Goalkeepers:
    Nick Colgan - Barnsley
    Colin Doyle - Birmingham City
    Shay Given - Newcastle United
    Wayne Henderson - Preston North End

Defenders:
    Richard Dunne - Manchester City
    Steve Finnan - Liverpool
    Kevin Foley - Wolverhampton Wanderers
    Stephen Kelly - Birmingham City
    Paul McShane - Sunderland
    John O’Shea - Manchester United

Midfielders:
    Lee Carsley - Everton
    Jonathon Douglas - Leeds United
    Darron Gibson - Manchester United
    Stephen Hunt - Reading
    Stephen Ireland - Manchester City
    Kevin Kilbane - Wigan Athletic
    Aiden McGeady - Celtic
    Alan O’Brien - Hibernian
    Darren Potter - Wolverhampton Wanderers
    Andy Reid - Charlton Athletic

Forwards
    Kevin Doyle - Reading
    Robbie Keane - Tottenham Hotspur
    Andy Keogh - Wolverhampton Wanderers
    Shane Long - Reading
    Daryl Murphy - Sunderland
    Staunton Out...NOW!

I would say team will be:

.................................. Given .........................

Finnan .............. Dunne ...... McShane ....... O'Shea

McGeady/Reid .........Caresly ......... Ireland .... Kilbane

......................... Doyle ........Keane

This is the conservative rubbish Stan collection.

I will be shocked if the team is different to the above unless there are injuries

Hope Ireland get hammered in every game so we can get a proper manager.
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

What a ridicules post. Do you support Ireland? If so, why would you or any supporter want to see their team gets hammered, irrespective of who the manager is?

Stan is doing ok at present.Give the man a chance while he has a chance to qualify.If he fcuks up in the next two games then he deserves to be criticised.Until then why can you just support him and his team?

2,796 Posts
    Given played for Newcastle last night, Colgan was on the bench for Barnsley.

Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post
    Staunton Out...NOW!

I will be shocked if the team is different to the above unless there are injuries

Well just don't support your country then...we don't need fans like you. For better or worse Stan's not going anywhere so now's the time to stop this sort of sh*t and get behind the young lads that are giving their all for us. If you don't want to do that then good riddance to ye...

And for the record, switch Ireland and Andy Reid and thats a pretty decent team...I'd be quite happy if he went with that!
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

So would I. Can't really see a better selection from that squad.

Would love to see Andy Reid in the middle, but would have to wonder if he would be able to keep up with it. Stephen Ireland would still do the job IMO, but after seeing him against Denmark, Reid has that quality pass in him that could set Keane/Doyle away.

Finnpark, pick a squad and then a starting 11 til we see what you'd come up with!

Stan is improving, most peoples wishes, stan out, will not happen until at least after the WC 2010 qualifying campaign. Like it or not. The players are fully behind him anyway, its taken time but he's getting better.

Get us the points we need lads, theres no reason why we can't do it. See ya in Bratislava
    Thursdays are Oriel

102 caps - legend

Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post
    Staunton Out...NOW!

I think you support the North of Ireland or did I mix you up with someone else.
    In Trap we trust

Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast