Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 8910

Thread: Squad named for double header

171 Posts
    [QUOTE=Supreme feet;765579]...that is what being a 'fan' is about - following your team through the good times and bad. There is one word that sustains us, and that word is hope.

We can speculate about the terrible things that may befall us, and rain down our shower of vitriol to whoever we choose to blame when it all goes wrong; but we choose to follow our team, because we care about them. And nobody would be wasting their time posting messages here, (instead of downloading porn), if we didn't have this inexplicable attachment. I love this team, and the heartbreak and frustration it causes me! It's almost a masochistic addiction.

I consider myself an educated and open-minded individual. My peers expect me to pore over the works of Noam Chomsky and Chinua Achebe, rather than bothering myself about football. Yet the trivialities of Darron Gibson's eligibility and the relative merits of Stephen Ireland and Andy Reid engage me more than the most engaging of world-political disputes. Come on Ireland! I refuse to believe that we'll take anything less than six points from our Danubian adventure.

2,796 Posts
    Somebody get Stan a transcript of Supreme Feet's post to read out before the game.

Good man.

[QUOTE=Supreme feet;765581]
    Quote Originally Posted by Supreme feet View Post
    ...that is what being a 'fan' is about - following your team through the good times and bad. There is one word that sustains us, and that word is hope.

We can speculate about the terrible things that may befall us, and rain down our shower of vitriol to whoever we choose to blame when it all goes wrong; but we choose to follow our team, because we care about them. And nobody would be wasting their time posting messages here, (instead of downloading porn), if we didn't have this inexplicable attachment. I love this team, and the heartbreak and frustration it causes me! It's almost a masochistic addiction.

I consider myself an educated and open-minded individual. My peers expect me to pore over the works of Noam Chomsky and Chinua Achebe, rather than bothering myself about football. Yet the trivialities of Darron Gibson's eligibility and the relative merits of Stephen Ireland and Andy Reid engage me more than the most engaging of world-political disputes. Come on Ireland! I refuse to believe that we'll take anything less than six points from our Danubian adventure.
    Great post there, Supreme. I've a deep rooted and long running attachment to this team also.

Spare a though for myself - I've just heard that my sons Christening rehearsel is due to take place at 7.30pm on Wednesday - and the priest has stressed that both parents must be there.

I'm gonna need to think fast........................
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Anyway, international football (outside of the top seven European nations) seems to be a bit of a lottery. I can't see our squad as being inferior to the Czech Rep, Slovakia, Sweden (who we thrashed not so long ago), Denmark (ditto), Norway, Switzerland, Serbia, Poland, Croatia, Bulgaria, Russia, Switzerland, Romania, or any of these middle-of-the-road teams who we constantly see ourselves as being inferior to. We have every right to be competitive.

For F**k's sake, all of my friends, and half the people on this forum, seem to think that following the Irish football team is nothing more than a chore, a fruitless, pessimistic obligation. F**k that. I'm never going to forget the joy I felt when McLoughlin's shot went past Tommy Wright, when Houghton's lob hit the net, when Vitor Baia palmed the ball into our net, when Croatia and Yugoslavia (Mark Kennedy!!) shat themselves in Landsdowne Road. Or when we matched Portugal and Holland over four unforgettable games. Or when we outplayed France in the Stade de France. Or when I sat in a Spanish pub in March and my home-town hero Kevin Doyle saved our face against a resilient Slovakian team...

I refuse to believe that Ireland can not play like that again, and that the heartbreaks of Anfield '95, Brussels '97, Skopje and Bursa '99, Basle '03 and Landsdowne '05 will be repeated ad infinitum until I die. F*ck that. We all want the team to do well. Lets have some positive vibes!!!

Thats a f**king great post. I was a kid and I left Amsterdam disappointed in 2000. I left le Stade de France disappointed in 2004. We had just grabbed draws away to 2 international superpowers. We're not the team we were then (If only people could understand that) but we, the fans who travel, who hate the begrudgers, have an unbelieveable belief. We will show those Slovaks what the Boys in Green are all about. I'm leaving for Vienna in the morning and I just can't wait to stand in the stadium roaring 'Come on you...' at the top of my lungs, getting those goosebumps from that and from Amhránn na bhFiann. The belief, the passion, this is what footballs all about.

All you barstoolers who want us to lose just to see Stan fail, and be able to say 'I told you so', stick to your barstool, you'll never have what some of us have, passion.

COME ON YOU BOYS IN GREEN
    Last edited by onephillyhughes; 07/09/2007 at 9:02 AM.
    Thursdays are Oriel

102 caps - legend

Fantastic the trials and tribulations of being a football fan but we all love it this crazy addiction. I am doing a research project on the prevalence of mental illness throughout Europe and then doing a comparative analysis with regard to the other continents then collating and presenting the results (please kill me) however today I will be doing nothing but waiting for the under 21 match tonight, then the full international match tomorrow. I will sit day dreaming through meetings thinking of team formations, the loss of finnan, second guessing who will play in midfield and b****ks to everything else even though I’m being paid there will be no work done today! Let’s enjoy the ride lads.

131 Posts
    I backed Ireland a few months ago at 150/1 to win the European Championship. To cover myself the bet was each way so it's looking good. Come on Ireland.

Good stuff lads,Enjoyable reading.I first caught this beautiful sordid bug as a 9/10 year old in our cursed qualifying caimpaign for Espana 82.That match away to Belgium when a dodgy ref broke my heart and robbed us of an oh so crucial point(and proably of a famous win).The image of Eoin Hand with his head in his hands summed up the feelings of a sickened nation.The excitment and anticipation in the build up to the France match and subsequent victory
    against Platini et brought me in touch with emotions I didnt know existed.
    When we get a result I am filled with that lovely warm glow for the whole week afterwards.A great Irish perfromance can give you a feeling no drug can
    (and I have been stupid enough in the past to try most of them!)so yes it is an addiction but its a wonderful shared experience.C'mon lads do the business
    and we can all start learning how to yodle.
    Last edited by cheifo; 07/09/2007 at 9:49 AM.

[QUOTE=Wolfie;765611]
    Spare a though for myself - I've just heard that my sons Christening rehearsel is due to take place at 7.30pm on Wednesday - and the priest has stressed that both parents must be there.

I'm gonna need to think fast........................
    Kick church doors open, wave dodgy copy of dodgy paternity test in the air, a bit of hollering and argy-bargy, storm off in a huff, slam door behind you.

Problem solved.

Sort it all out after saturday.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

[QUOTE=Supreme feet;765581]
    ...that is what being a 'fan' is about - following your team through the good times and bad. There is one word that sustains us, and that word is hope.

Fair play, unbelievable post couldnt have summed it up better...cant wait to get to bratislava in the morning!! people were slagging me at work for wasting a weeks annual leave and a good few hundred quid to see a shoddy irish team in san marino in the cold month of february...Theyll never understand, im a sincere believer that only when you experience the really bad times ala san marino, cyprus , will you be able to revel during the good times
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

171 Posts
    Glad to see that my passionate rant went down well! Eight pints of Shumensko and a few shots of disgusting Bulgarian whiskey can be an effective muse! However, I stand by my sentiments.

[QUOTE=Lionel Ritchie;765870]
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post

Kick church doors open, wave dodgy copy of dodgy paternity test in the air, a bit of hollering and argy-bargy, storm off in a huff, slam door behind you.

Problem solved.

Sort it all out after saturday.
    Thanks for that, Lionel. I could yet call upon the "Lionel strategy" to solve this problem.

1,928 Posts
    I think I'd prefer the upfront IM WATCHING THE MATCH rather than that*
    A good result for you would be to get away to watch the match, she has some doubts about whatever excuse you pulled (red cow jam) but she can't quite work out what it was.

If she did find out but we win, your absolute euphoria will dominate, nothing can effect that. If we lose, the depression can be switched to devastation at missing the rehearsal.

36 Posts
    I agree lads this team is a drug
    I love it to bits , I only watch the english leagues to follow all the Irish.
    Since 88 when I was 8 I just fell in love
    France in 05 or whenever it was , was just a night when I was so proud to be Irish ..The French were in awh of us. (girlfriend is a froggie)
    This is the time now when our young squad are going to get us the results we need !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! anois

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I think I'd prefer the upfront IM WATCHING THE MATCH rather than that*.
    That was my original stance on the issue and may yet end up my final stance also.....................

Terrible PMT this afternoon - Pre Match Tension.

171 Posts
    PMT... I hear ya. I want the match to start NOW!!

There's only one cure for that. It waits for me in the off-licence. Booze shall kill a few hours ...until I get the drabs at around 2am and start wailing inconsolably that we're going to be hammered.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

171 Posts
    I'll probably resort to the same. Expect another passionate dissertation on the merits of footballing loyalty, at around 5 in the morning.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Somebody get Stan a transcript of Supreme Feet's post to read out before the game.

Good man.
    amen.

Quote Originally Posted by irishbaz View Post
    Fantastic the trials and tribulations of being a football fan but we all love it this crazy addiction. I am doing a research project on the prevalence of mental illness throughout Europe and then doing a comparative analysis with regard to the other continents then collating and presenting the results (please kill me) however today I will be doing nothing but waiting for the under 21 match tonight, then the full international match tomorrow. I will sit day dreaming through meetings thinking of team formations, the loss of finnan, second guessing who will play in midfield and b****ks to everything else even though I’m being paid there will be no work done today! Let’s enjoy the ride lads.
    if you are looking for representation from the Americas, then I recommend you stop by my work place. Its like the fookin Cuckoo's nest - but with more drama. i'm laughin here at your comments regarding work, if my company ran a productivity report for this week, I may not get a pay check (american spelling!) on thursday. Between Foot.ie. rte.ie and independent.ie. I feel like i've covered more press than Tommy Gorman. Here's hoping for a great day tomorrow, but regardless, it wont change one thing about how much I love supporting Ireland.

Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 8910