great result for ye lads, sets up what should be a cracker on friday night!hopefully keeps the title race going for a bit longer too,
2-2 , 2 down and only 10 men, they manage to pull it back in the last 3 minutes. The tide is turning Friday could be the night to finally show our home support a bit of fight
great result for ye lads, sets up what should be a cracker on friday night!hopefully keeps the title race going for a bit longer too,
Couldn't believe it. Checked teletext and it said 2-0. Was sure it was final result and was going back to see if there was a report and up pops 2-2. Fabulous. The long trip home won't be so bad now I'd say.![]()
My flabber was well and truly gasted when I heard the result. I checked livescore with about 5 minutes to go and we were losing 2-0. Thought that was that especially with only 10 men. Shame Setanta didn't show the game.
Match report from the official Drogs website. Whoever wrote the article was either drunk or isn't familair with the English language...or both.
http://www.droghedaunited.ie/scripts...?FixtureID=814
Well, this was a quare one and no doubt about it, us two up with 5 minutes to go and we go and concede two late goals...........it bet all . Everything seemed to be going fine, after a fruitless first half where we had most of the possession, O'Flynn gets a straight red for a dreadful tackle on Stuart Byrne and even though we toiled to make the breakthrough against a well-organised galway team the half time respite gave us hope that we would turn our dominance into goals in the second half .. and we did until five minutes to go...........
Gavin Whelan came on for the missing Richie Baker and elsewhere we soldiered on as Dalymount. We moved the ball around well and created numerous half chances, but half-chances they only were and a combination of the final pass going astray and too many obvious balls being played in to the Galway defence left us scoreless and even though we were on top, Galway seemed to have themselves well organised.
So, annyway, scoreless first half, cup of tea, settle down for things to come .......................... Aidan O'Keeffe replaces Tony Grant on 56, Keego replaces Gavin Whelan and suddenly Robbo, who has switched to the right seemed to have plenty of room and he starts to fire over crosses and exchange good passes with Shellyer and it looks like we are on our way and on just on 73 as we were starting to get slightly worried, Shelley sweeps over a wonderful ball which James Keddy blasts into the bottom corner for the first. But Galway, despite our lead looked dangerous on the wings and we seemed to be not too sure of ourselves in the middle, but we pressed on and Keego slid a number of super balls through to Eamon, but to no avail but then on 85 Stuart Byrned tigerishly fought for the ball in the middle, Keego picked it up and beat tow men with a wonderful body swerve to release a killer ball to Eamon who fired it to the net and we thought two up , five to go , surely it's our night but .............on 87 lack of concentration between Garto, Gdan and the defence and there was Murphy to hit a speculative lob which ended in the net and worse was to follow when a speculative shot from O'Brien from outside the box in the last minute snuck in for the equaliser.................................. to our collective and considered exasperation (and not a few instances of the Holy Name being taken in vain by many of my esteemed colleagues) but that's fupall as Ned Skully used to say. And it's a reminder (as if we needed to) that no points will be easily won from now on we'll hafta remember that its a game of two halves and the game isn't over until the final whistkle blows etc etc etc ........but luckit....its another point to add to our lead and another juicy one would be lovely a-Frida above in Dalyer.....chins up !!!!
Nobody knows us, we don't care
Great result, thought the boys on the Eircom League forum were pulling my leg....
It sure does. 9 points from 11 games is catchable.Originally Posted by jamie m
NL 1st Division Champions 2006
NL Premier Division Champions 2010
NL Premier Division Champions 2011
Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi
Ten Years Not Out
El weekly didnt even bother to send a camera. they mentioned the result at the end.
We need a proper el show. to give them their dues they have done a job but we need better than this
drawn away to cork, derry, UCD, drogeheda, ourselves and beat st pats aswell....whats in the tea in terryland? maybe it'll change now that the water's been given the all clear?
I dont remember that but tis a gem all the same.
Final series of games what yee think?
A pessimistic view...
Aug 24 Home 7.45pm Sligo Rovers 1
Aug 31 Away 7.45pm Cork City 0
Sept 7 Home 7.45pm Drogheda Utd 0
Sept 14 Away 8pm Shamrock Rovers 0-1
Sept 28 Home 7.45pm St. Patrick's Ath 0-1
Oct 5 Home 7.45pm Longford Town 1-3
Oct 12 Away 7.45pm Bohemians 1
Oct 19 Away 7.45pm Bray Wanderers 0-1
Oct 26 Home 7.45pm Derry City 0-1
Nov 2 Away 7.45pm Waterford Utd 3?
Nov 9 Home 7.45pm UCD 1-3
An amazing game tonight. The Drogheda report pretty much sums up the game. Wes was playing left back and was struggling. In the first half it was all Drogheda but United did well at the back and there weren't clear cut chances. The sending off didn't have much of an impact on the game as O'Flynn had hardly touched the ball!
When Drogheda changed their right winger they started to get a few more chances and that's where the first goal came from. About 2 mins before 2 shots had been blocked on the line and the follow up hit the post so the goal was coming. At 2-0 it looked like it was all over but then following a mix up in Drogheda's defence Murphy lobbed the ball into the empty goal from 30 yards to give us a chance.
Even at that stage I couldn't see us getting an equaliser but unbelievably Derek equalised with a 25 yard shot to the top corner!
It's hard to believe we got a point but hopefully it will give the players a lift for the final 3rd of the season.
Looking at our away record it shows we can compete with the top teams in the league and we should be able to climb away from the bottom 2.
Bring on Sligo!
I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"
Shellyer can't be used as a nickname surely.
City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.
O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"
G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!
I don't know 2 down with 3 mins left on the clock , down to 10 players and our captain is taken off . So as Roy of the Rovers takes the ball past five , six players .... etc etc etc .
One last thing please stay until the final whistle on Friday as Roy could be wearing his boots again .
I think everyone has to play their part on friday night and that includes us the supporters.Friday is an Official Jersey day so lets see everyone dig out their jersies for the day whatever code they are and were them with pride.
Last night was unreal and I have seen a hell of a lot of gamesbut that even tops Robbie Keanes goal versus Germany. Fair play too all who travelled they will never forget last night and dont mind the begrudgers the team deserved that last night and it was Ironic that Derek Scored the all important goal.
Roll on Friday !!!!!!!!!!!!
We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"