Page 45 of 114 FirstFirst ... 3543444546475595 ... LastLast

Thread: Anthony Stokes (F free agent b.1988)

Why isn't Stokes in the 1st team squad. Don Givens doesn't have a clue. He has been in that job since I can remember. As Ziggy says: "Simple As"
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

This seems to happen a lot to Givens. I wonder who is to blame...?

If Stokes wasn't in trouble at Sunderland before he probably is now as has just dropped his boss in it.

The club rang the FAI to clear up McShane's injury but nothing was said about Stokes. It comes across to me that 'The Clown' thinks he's to good to play in the U21's now that he's 'a premiership star'. The reason Stokes is not in the senior squad is because he hasn't performed at club level. Rumours have it Derby are interested in a loan deal & I won't be surprised if he's gone within a few days. Looks like we might have another Sean Thornton on our hands. A talent go to waste.

36 Posts
    who the feck is Ziggy?

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post

If Stokes wasn't in trouble at Sunderland before he probably is now as has just dropped his boss in it.
    Quote Originally Posted by SunderlandBohs View Post
    The club rang the FAI to clear up McShane's injury but nothing was said about Stokes. It comes across to me that 'The Clown' thinks he's to good to play in the U21's now that he's 'a premiership star'. The reason Stokes is not in the senior squad is because he hasn't performed at club level. Rumours have it Derby are interested in a loan deal & I won't be surprised if he's gone within a few days. Looks like we might have another Sean Thornton on our hands. A talent go to waste.
    I've the same views as ye here lads, think he is gettin very big-headed and could soon do himself alot of harm.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

1,914 Posts
    There is a little bit more to it

"The Sunderland physio rang the FAI straight after the Wigan game about McShane's injury and I find it hard to understand why if Anthony was injured it wasn't said then," said Givens. "I also find it a little hard to understand if Anthony Stokes is injured what is he doing in Dublin? Surely he should be back at the club getting treatment. What really annoys me is it has denied another player a place in the squad."

Nevertheless Givens was able to call up Patrick Cregg.

Givens has a fair point and it makes good reading

144 Posts
    Givens is an idiot. Roy obviously thinks so too.

We're only waiting for these 2 games at the Cross to tell the chap what we really think of him.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    I've the same views as ye here lads, think he is gettin very big-headed and could soon do himself alot of harm.
    Givens is only just getting big headed?

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post

It doesn't take a genius to work out that Keane told Stokes to say that as Keane cannot be sanctioned for forgettign to report an injury. Keane knows what es doing. Stokes is a good player although played out of position at the moment.
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

Givens may be an idiot but Sunderland told the world that McShane was injured and wouldn't travel. It'd have been easier to add in Stokes than let this rumble on.

Seems like Stokes was at fault tbh

Quote Originally Posted by bwagner View Post
    who the feck is Ziggy?
    Don't pretend you don't know

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Givens may be an idiot but Sunderland told the world that McShane was injured and wouldn't travel. It'd have been easier to add in Stokes than let this rumble on.

Seems like Stokes was at fault tbh
    But he wasn't injured until he fell off that bar stool

Stokes in a real big time Charlie. I could not believe his attitude in the Cork v Sunderland game. It looked like he just came on to argue with everyone. I think an earlier post hit the nail on the head - he thinks he's too good for the u21s. He probably sees Murphy and Keogh in the senior squad and is throwing a strop now over it. I said it yesterday that I don't think he'll last at Sunderland. What bets have him at another club before 31 August?
    'And Crouch must score'

Why isn't Roy O'Donovan in that squad?
    Only turned 22 last week.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

141 Posts
    Stokes went aorund with a face like a slapped a*se in Terryland as well, he looked like he was itching for a row with someone.
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

yep, any time I've seen Stokes play he's just gone around bitching and moaning, whether it be at the ref or at his own teammates...he would want to knuckle down or he'll be joining Thornton in the lower leagues soon enough...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

42 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RiffRaff View Post
    Why does Don Givens always find it necessary to repeat his conversations with players to the media? This could have been dealt with privately. Maybe Stokes was in the wrong, but if thats not the case, it doesnt show the FAI in good light if one of its representatives openly slags off players.

I totally agree with riffraff. Givens has done this numerous times before. Keith Foy springs to mind when he was at forest. He's been there for ages and has done fcek all. Delany is the man behind keeping him there, this is a fact!

Be interesting to know if he's got the attitude off the pitch as well. I've seen some of the quotes in the paper saying that he told RK twice to call the FAI to withdraw him. Now, if that's lies, he surely f***ked.
    'And Crouch must score'

Quote Originally Posted by pateen View Post
    I totally agree with riffraff. Givens has done this numerous times before. Keith Foy springs to mind when he was at forest. He's been there for ages and has done fcek all. Delany is the man behind keeping him there, this is a fact!
    Givens is a mupppet but in this case he appears to be right. But maybe he should not have been so open about it. Either Sunderland or Stokes have fecked up here. If he is injured Sunderland should have called the FAI. If he is not injured and has lied about it, he is in serious bother with both his club and country. Either way someone has ****ed up here and Givens has told the world about it which is unprofessional too.

Don Givens
    Anthony Stokes
    Roy Keane

All guilty in this case in my view.
    In Trap we trust

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RiffRaff View Post
    Why does Don Givens always find it necessary to repeat his conversations with players to the media? This could have been dealt with privately. Maybe Stokes was in the wrong, but if thats not the case, it doesnt show the FAI in good light if one of its representatives openly slags off players.
    I think I can provide an answer to this question for you after researching it using the Google search engine on the Internet.

It is apparently because Don Givens is a grade A plonker.

Page 45 of 114 FirstFirst ... 3543444546475595 ... LastLast