In fairness Stokes has always been enthusiastic about playing for Ireland at youth and senior level.Givens should really deal with these things in private.
COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
The difference between Stokes & Murphy is Murph will give a 100%, Stokes won't. That's why people aren't getting on Murphy's back.
What is the general view on Murphy up there SunderlandBohs? I really like the look of him and think he has a good future.
Don't know where to stand on the Stokes issue. I'm inclined to think that all three parties (Keane, Givens and Stokes) are all somewhat responsible.
agreed. Stoke's father suggests that Given's doesn't like him. Given's has also fallen out with a couple of other lads.
Suggestion in the times that maybe Stokes was just caught in the middle of a war of words between Keane and the FAI
http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...e-1063434.html
From years of observing father and son.... IMO Anthony is a chip off the old block and therein is the answer to his 'attitude' problem.... anyone remember Stokes snrs comments about how wenger was playing the boy out of position etc.... IMO Wenger getting £2m for him was one of the smartest deals ever
Murphy is well liked up there. Very popular with the fans. One of the unsung heroes last season & got his fair share of goals, some important ones at that mind! A lot of people think he can be a good player for years to come at the club. I don't know if he can make the grand to the prem but I hope he does. He deserves it. A player with the right atitude.
I've got the impresson so far this season that Stokes looks like he's very much in the comfort zone, he's worth 2 million, he's in the Premier League, club with great support, I'm sure he's on bloody good money, working for a manager most Irish players see as some kind of deity. Little bit too comfortable for football at this level.
The solution? Drop the boy, stick him in the reserves and tell him that until he starts scoring goals and working for the team thats it for his Premier League season. Realistically, he should be scoring at least 2 goals every 3 games in the reserve league if he is 'that' good. If that doesn't work, send him out on loan to a Championship or League 1 (or LOI, now THAT would be funny!) club. If 6 months of that doesn't improve him - lights out, Mr Stokes exit stage right.
I think I proper kick up the arse is what he needs, just because his manager needs to see how he responds, and then we'll know if all the hype (because we were all bloody excited when those back-to-back hat-tricks were flying in!) will ever be fulfilled.
Oh, and as regards this injury issue, if Roy is having that kind of an influence on Irish players at Sunderland (i.e. a large contingent regularly missing friendlies) somebody will notice and have a word, its not like Man Utd or Chelsea or one of the other massive clubs that own modern-day football, Sunderland can't rely on their cash and high contacts to get them out of jail.
Givens is a muppet. I'd love to see a new U-21 coach - but who?
Last edited by shaneker; 22/08/2007 at 4:50 PM. Reason: Err...forgot to mention the issue of the thread!
Plenty of good candidates out there. No worse than Sean McCaffrey. Why not Brian Kerr?
Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!
I'd vote for Kerr. Out of his depth at senior level but well proven at under-age and will obviously know Stan, might aid transition fron one team to another (I don't like seeing players yo-yoing between senior side and youth teams, does nothing for players or teams momentum, case in point Stokes and O'Dea).
My point was about attitude.... IMO all Stokes Snr did was 'moan' about how Wenger was playing his son out of position, instead of keeping quiet on the basis that Wenger is a top class manager and knows a bit more about the game than he does.That same 'attitude' seems to have unsurprisingly rubbed off on Anthony...having an inflated attitude only hastened Wengers decision to get rid of Anthony and he got £2m for him which was excellent businness.
Stokes has lots of talent, the big question is does he have the right attitude/work ethic.... I wonder was he looking on last night and maybe he reflected on the fact that Shane Long one of his peers has jumped ahead of him in the race to be our 3rd striker.... I hope he gets the guidance from somewhere to make sure he realises his undoubted talent...
well if you look at the facts, Stokes was the second highest goal scorer at all ages in his first year in Arsenal, second to thierry henry that is. He played as a forward and scored 17 goals in 19 matches.
In his second season he began to play on the wings and didn't do well.
At Falkirk he was played as an out and out striker with Alan Gow a creative striker behind him and Russel Latipy in midfield, so it really suited him- which is why i think he done so well. What was it 14 goals in 18 games or something to that effect?
So maybe Stokes senior had a point?
I still think he can make it, but only as a striker. I don't see how he fits into the Sunderland team though, he needs better service than Murphy or any of the Midfield can provide.
Indeed he may have a point.... it's the 'attitude' in the manner he makes statements that I'd have a problem with... IMO he's bred into his son an unhealthy attitude from an early age and anyone who has observred both of them up close would know what I mean... very talented kid no doubt about that... but IMO he suffers from a huge amount of arrogance...it's one thing to have strong self belief, it's a different matter if you allow that to turn into arrogance... as I say hopefully somelike Keane will be able to mentor and shape him into a top class player who knows how to 'carry' himself properly.
well looks like the matters resolved now anyway..
Keane: 'Stokes row resolved'
Anthony Stokes
Roy Keane says that the argument mid-week between Ireland U-21 boss and Sunderland Football Club has been resolved.
Don Givens was left fuming when Sunderland striker Anthony Stokes failed to show for the U-21 game against Germany on Wednesday.
He rang the 19-year-old striker who told him he thought Roy Keane had sorted the situation out and that he was unavailable because of a groin strain.
Givens was angry because he had no idea the player would not be linking up and the realisation of Stokes' absence came too late for him to call in a replacement.
But today Keane said the situation had been resolved.
He said: "I've spoken to Don Givens and cleared the situation up.
"Anthony had a bit of groin strain and there was a bit of confusion.
"Anthony was expecting us to get in touch with the U-21s to explain the situation.
"We were expecting Anthony to let them know anyway.
"We like to do these things right – for example Paul McShane suffered a head injury against Wigan which meant he could not go away with the senior Irish team and we were quick to let them know, as well as sending them the doctor's report.
"It was unfortunate what happened with Anthony but we've spoken to Don Givens now and the situation has been resolved.
"It won't happen again because, as I say, we like to do things the right way at this club."
...Would love to have heard Roy's call to Don Givens![]()
Last edited by kingeric; 23/08/2007 at 3:33 PM.
I didnt want to bring this up, but years ago when he was over in North London, he would be in certain pubs going on and on about the same thing, and it was basically giving out and bitching, saying if he doesnt get first team football im going to get him out of here etc etc, that was at 17!!!!:8Remind us again which giants of world football this man has managed? Some Dub bar-stooler with a chip . . .
Funnily enough it was in one of the pubs Niall quinn would always frequent after a match many moons ago!
so did stokes family. But there is one glaring difference. I hope I dont need to point it outI must be psychic! Seriously though, compare this guy to the likes of Shane Long. Long's Ma has moved to Reading to help him settle and you never hear boo from any of his family. I was so pleased for that young lad last night. The lads at Reading FC think the world of him. Amazing how much of a difference the right attitude can make.![]()