Page 16 of 115 FirstFirst ... 614151617182666 ... LastLast

Thread: Anthony Stokes (F free agent b.1988)

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy View Post
    he is unbelievably talented . . . check out his personal website . . . www.anthonystokes.net
    Whoever did that site must have got the photographs mixed up. They posted one of Theo Walcott instead.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts

114 Posts
    So how does this Stokes fella qualify for us then? Anyone know anything about him? Not sure I agree with English lads declaring for us.
    I am not aware of any "English lads" ever declaring for us. Unless you happen to be unaware of the Irish diaspora, and believe no Irish live outside our borders.

As for Stokes, do you consider Dublin too West British to qualify also?

Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    I am not aware of any "English lads" ever declaring for us. Unless you happen to be unaware of the Irish diaspora, and believe no Irish live outside our borders.
    We get some fairly idiotic comments on here but saying that to a guy who lives in Oxford, takes some beating!

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    We get some fairly idiotic comments on here but saying that to a guy who lives in Oxford, takes some beating!
    Why? Do you think that everyone who lives in Oxford is imbued with the brains of the good & the great ?

Meanwhile I am struggling a little with the problem of "English lads" declaring for us - a) given Stokes is a Dubliner and b) defining 2g as English.

Frankly, don't think excuses can be made for those living in Oxford, or indeed in Dublin.

Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    Why? Do you think that everyone who lives in Oxford is imbued with the brains of the good & the great ?

Meanwhile I am struggling a little with the problem of "English lads" declaring for us - a) given Stokes is a Dubliner and b) defining 2g as English.

Frankly, don't think excuses can be made for those living in Oxford, or indeed in Dublin.
    Tuff Paddy was being sarcastic in replying to tricky_colour's post.

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Tuff Paddy was being sarcastic in replying to tricky_colour's post.
    Yeah, got it

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse View Post
    I wouldn't want Celtic to pay a couple of million for him now anyway. Football is littered with players who signed for clubs on the basis of a short good spell and then did feck all.

I have high hopes for Stokes but I'd want to see how he did for at least a season before he went anywhere. He's played less than 10 senior games remember.
    Spot on. Celtic wouldn't be a good move. Look at David Fernandez and Derek Riordan, Careers just stall there if your not getting your game. Also dont think he should hang around Scotland. He looks like he has way too much ability and potential to stay there long term. He's doing well because he's playing in a weak enough team and still managing to be clinical etc. Heard there's four or five Premiership teams lining up bids. Personally think somewhere like Villa would be a great move. They need strikers, Baros should be on his way out, Sutton is hardly in his prime and being managed by Martin O'Neill will get the best out of him. Keano is well up for bringing him to Sunderland apparently...Could be interesting maybe?

http://www.falkirkfc.co.uk/falkirk-n...s-academy.html

nice gesture from stokes.

was at the B international match the other night and noticed only himself and Stephen Hunt had the decency to stop and sign autographs for the young kids at the match. stokes was there 10 mins on his own and even had to be asked to taken away by the chief of security for the fai...

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingeric View Post
    http://www.falkirkfc.co.uk/falkirk-n...s-academy.html

nice gesture from stokes.

was at the B international match the other night and noticed only himself and Stephen Hunt had the decency to stop and sign autographs for the young kids at the match. stokes was there 10 mins on his own and even had to be asked to taken away by the chief of security for the fai...
    Didn't one of the players give his jersey to a young lad?

131 Posts
    I'd like to see Stokes get a move to a decent Championship club preferrably not Sunderland though as he would be in competition with other Irish strikers for places.

It would be very interesting to see how many goals he'd score compared to his main competition for places in the Ireland squad (I'd list Elliot, Clarke, Lee and maybe Murphy in this bracket).

We have an abundance of goalscoring talent coming through the ranks at the moment moreso than I can ever remember before. I can see the likes of Keane, Doyle, Clarke, Dixon, Long, Stokes, Rooney, Keogh and Elliot (if he can get himself back to being fit and back in form) fighting for the 2 available forward positions in Ireland teams in the not too distant future.

Formation for 2008 .... 4-1-5
    "A silent mouth is sweet to hear"

Er . . . that was a complete joke of a post by me, fishing for a bite and fair play to Paddy Garcia he swallowed it whole. Good man!
    And as for "English lads" declaring for us . . . remind me how Paul Butler qualified for us again? Oh yeah, he MARRIED an Irish girl and was subsequently one of the biggest disgraces to ever get a green jersey.
    I am all for Irish people of all birthplaces playing for Ireland but we really do need to realise that we have been used on numerous occasions by footballers wanting to further their careers.
    There's one guy currently playing for us who couldn't actually tell me where his Irish grandparent was from and had never even been to Ireland before declaring for us. In fact, he would probably struggle to find Dublin on a map. (And people on here love the guy).
    Rant over. And for the record, I've been aware of Stokes for more than three years now and know he's a Dub.
    I think your disgust is aimed at the wrong target.

It's getting boring now. You see that Falkirk are winning and anyone other than Stokes scoring and it's a suprise.

Looking at the scorers charts in Scotland, it doesn't exactly look as though it's hard to score up there

646 Posts
    Richie Foran - pen 45, pen 49
    Surely people must be sitting up and taking notice at this stage?

Quote Originally Posted by Soper View Post
    Looking at the scorers charts in Scotland, it doesn't exactly look as though it's hard to score up there
    Well if you look at the amount of players that have hit 20 SPL goals over the years then you'll probably find it must be tough as they're all top players.

Stokes missed the first 5 games of the season yet is top scorer in the SPL and is still only 18.

Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson
    Surely people must be sitting up and taking notice at this stage?
    His 3rd goal of the season and 2 of them penos.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 25/11/2006 at 3:34 PM.

Would they be happier if he had gone on loan to somewhere like Finn Harps

Give the kid a chance, maybe with a lot of hard work one day in the future he
    just may turn out for the mighty blues

20 Posts
    He's doing everything he can at Falkirk. He has really seized his chance there. Strachan put it best when he said that Stokes had really gone there with something to prove. He won't be there next year. He'll move as I doubt he will go back to Arsenal either.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

Have to hand it to him

You have to hand it to him and he's banging in the goals no matter what league!

I have been reading the match reports and it sounds like another good goal for stoksey. It seems the sending of was very harsh aswell, second booking after been taking down in the box, booked for diving. Have to watch the Spl on setanta tomorrow.

Its great to see young irish talent doing well.
    Last edited by kingeric; 26/11/2006 at 5:27 PM.

Page 16 of 115 FirstFirst ... 614151617182666 ... LastLast