Thread: Why was Drogs v Helsingborg thread locked?

Why was Drogs v Helsingborg thread locked?

Why was that thread locked ? Yes - it descended into a debate about Celtic and Larsson - but that was inevitable, given who scored last night.

Every post in the thread dealt with the substantive issue of support for Larsson at the game, and the Irish support of Celtic that caused it. No-one veered off topic from that, no-one got stuck on tangents like politics, no-one doled out personal abuse of other posters. It was just a very interesting thread on a contentious and divisive topic.

So why was it locked ? Are we not allowed to debate contentious issues round here any more.....?

82 Posts
    Read the forum rules on Scottish football Steve.

In fairness, its been done to death so many times on here even I'd lost the will to bait Celtic fans this time

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    So why was it locked ? Are we not allowed to debate contentious issues round here any more.....?
    If only you could only debate them steve, rather than drilling every topic into the ground, then stamping on it with elephants, then referencing it for 3 months, then bringing it up again, then drilling it into the ground again...

You know the rules on Celtic...

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    If only you could only debate them steve, rather than drilling every topic into the ground, then stamping on it with elephants, then referencing it for 3 months, then bringing it up again, then drilling it into the ground again...

You know the rules on Celtic...
    1) I didn't know the 'rules' re Celtic, as I don't bother with any Scottish etc football threads, but I can guess what they are now thanks.

2) Please show me where I was doing as youy have stated in the Drogs v Helsingborg post.

3) Are you familiar with the rule of 'attack the post, not the poster'.....

You = plural

not

you = dcfcsteve

hmmm i read that a few times and its still reads to me you = dcfcsteve.

Personally, I was enjoying the issues. However I dont usually bother reading celtic v EL/whatever threads so might have missed it before.

100 Posts
    Using 'you' and 'steve' in the same sentence really does make it look like that.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Having re-read it, it does look like I'm attacking steve, which (honestly) wasn't my intention.

Sorry dcfcsteve!

From now on I'll be using ye and yis depending on whether I'm talking to a culchie or a jackeen

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Why was that thread locked ? Yes - it descended into a debate about Celtic and Larsson - but that was inevitable, given who scored last night.

Every post in the thread dealt with the substantive issue of support for Larsson at the game, and the Irish support of Celtic that caused it. No-one veered off topic from that, no-one got stuck on tangents like politics, no-one doled out personal abuse of other posters. It was just a very interesting thread on a contentious and divisive topic.

Because this is foot.ie, opinions and debate are strangers on this forum.
    Forzadrogs.....A blog by a Drog with an opinion!

From now on I'll be using ye and yis depending on whether I'm talking to a culchie or a jackeen
    yis sounds rough, please use ye when speaking to me. THanks

100 Posts
    What are the rules on Celtic?

Quote Originally Posted by MeathDrog View Post

The team of which we do not speak

Quote Originally Posted by Drogman. View Post
    Read the last four pages of that thread and point out the sensible posts. I'd guess far less than half. All of which has been done before

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    The team of which we do not speak
    How about we do not speak aout scottish football altogether
    You've got no fans.

Shhhh!

57 Posts
    How about we do not speak aout scottish football altogether
    No - I wish to maintain my right to discuss the latest goings on at Forres Mechanics and Clachnacuddin
    Kom Igen, FCK...

FAO Dodge

Why is it that as soon as you think a thread has become irrelevant or you simply dont agree with it you lock it.Case in point is the fact that you locked the Drogs Vs Helsingborgs thread.You called those who were having a discussion with eirebhoy idiots.Why?Simply because you didnt agree with them?

Is this a democratic board or are the views of those who post on it subject to the ratification of the mods?Freedom of speech my ass!!Nothing racist was said nor was there any personal abuse it was simply a discussion on a topic that is fairly relevant to every Irish person and that is the obsession with all things British!!But Dodge doesnt like it so it must be binned.Ridiculous!!
    Bohs Will Be Back!!!

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by btid1 View Post
    ...Case in point is the fact that you locked the Drogs Vs Helsingborgs thread...
    Already explained.

Is this a democratic board or are the views of those who post on it subject to the ratification of the mods?Freedom of speech my ass!!
    This is Dahamsta's website. Freedom of speech doesn't apply.

Quote Originally Posted by btid1 View Post
    Simply because you didnt agree with them?
    I actually agree with them, but the point is that discussion of celtic isn't allowed (not my decision but it has helped)

Not everybody who "discussed" eirbhoy's positiob was an idiot. Some of the posts were excellent.

At the end though, it turned into.

Celtic are Irish.
    No they're not

yes they are
    how are they

Because of
    Thats stupid

So, we're Irish
    No we're not

Merging this with dcfcsteve's complaint...

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Already explained.

This is Dahamsta's website. Freedom of speech doesn't apply.
    That's mature alright.......It's my ball and I'm going home!!
    Bohs Will Be Back!!!