Great to get the usual suspects back when OWC is mentioned.
Geysir, we are all looking forward to Iceland again. Come and say hello. We can chat all about your comments about our last trip there.
Lopez, still reading the books, getting a feel for the place? Odd comment about hanging around with blokes who kill babies? Still by all accounts you are very odd so will let it pass.
We do seem to bring out the worse in you lot don't we?
Anyway, I feel your pain lads over these last few years, all that media coverage we have been getting. Still I'm sure a round of 'Stand Up If You Hate The Brits' over in the Czech Republic will cheer you all up.
And when was the last time you made it to a major competition or even came close mate?
OWC crowd are desperately hanging to the fig leaf that he is still inelligible for Ireland and are talking about getting Germany to lodge a complaint on their behalf as they would hold more sway than NI.
Even SammyG is suggesting that he has never been selected for a competitive match as he's illegal. Completely forgetting the fact that he's a young inexperienced player with a dose of midfielders ahead of him in the pecking order.
The amount of delusion on there would put the Jonestown massacre to shame.
It's quite clear that there is absolutely zero respect for the wishes of nationalists on that site and they are simply expected to put up with the status quo and shut their bloody mouths. Like it or lump it. Sad.
Last edited by Maroon 7; 25/08/2007 at 2:37 AM.
This thread is about Darron Gibson, "Ireland or Nobody", his gradual rise through the ranks of the Ireland team culminating with his debut on the senior team and the objectionable public media focussed attempts by the NI team manager to make political football out of Darron's FIFA's legitimatly sanctioned approved choice.
Do you have a little black book of all those who made what could be perceived as a negative comment towards the NI fans. Harbour resentment? Are you so insecure and touchy?
AFAIR, I highly complemented the NI fans in Finnland and the work of the FFA. A favourable comparison made against perceptions from 8 years ago in Iceland. (Before the FFA was formed?)
Why should I have any negative expectations about the NI away fans now, I would be contradicting myself. Some people do not hold onto a past negative perception in the face of obvious evidence to the contrary.
But when NI come to Reykjavik, I will be as usual sitting with the natives, I don't expect to be as thoroughly satisfied as I was last time with Gudjonson's late strike for victory. Bring warm clothes and a fat wallet![]()
Everybody: May I introduce you to Marty, the grand wizard of ourweeminds?
It was he who allowed (still allows?) racist garbage such as 'Tales from the Underground' on his a*sewipe of a site, so Naitch, this is the man to ask 'why'?
He also decorated the masthead of his site with military regalia at the beginning of the illegal invasion of Iraq. So if he starts claiming politics and sport should be kept apart, you know he's b*ll****ting.
As you can see, he's a bit touchy about us fenians 'reading books' in case we might get educated. Or perhaps, as can be expected, that for someone who hangs around soldiers a lot, books to these people are like kryptonite to superman.
Isn't your sewer working yet?
Listening what's going on your side, a lot less from us gets you going. You know what you are like? Spoilt kids not getting enough attention from your mummy. We pay you no attention; You start throwing your dummy around. Sad, but in a cutesy sort of way, also very funny.
The media coverage I've seen YOU'VE been getting is about the bigoted sh*te on your site, from nominally unionist newspapers. If things have changed, I couldn't give a f*ck.
I'm sure we will, but let's get things straight, it won't be about your team.![]()
Last edited by lopez; 25/08/2007 at 11:29 AM.
This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!
Lionel Richie. Where are you? Marty's back after an absence of three and half years. Great opportunity to ask the Army Groupie why he'd be upset about someone from the 26C playing for NI.
The Good Friday agreement is quite clear on the constitutional status of Northern nationalists, like me. I am as Irish as Bertie Ahern or Bono, and so is an Uachtarán, Ardoyne's own, Mary McAleese.CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES
1. The participants endorse the commitment made by the British and Irish
Governments that, in a new British-Irish Agreement replacing the Anglo-
Irish Agreement, they will:
(vi) recognise the birthright of all the people of Northern Ireland to
identify themselves and be accepted as Irish or British, or both, as they
may so choose, and accordingly confirm that their right to hold both
British and Irish citizenship is accepted by both Governments and would
not be affected by any future change in the status of Northern Ireland
-The Agreement
As the Good Friday Agreement is recognised as international law, it is unlikely FIFA are going to go against it. Therefore the position is that Darren Gibson, Mary McAleese, or me have the right to play for whatever side we wish, as long as we haven't turned out for the others senior international team. Comparing Gibson to James Morrison is not right, as Morrison is playing for he reletives country. Gibson is playing for his country.
Furthermore the IFA has no real choice but to invest as much in under age development for nationalist as unionists
Sucks to be them.
Really, since when? Btw there are plenty of people that post on this site with either no interest or even a dislike for the International team
Well don't read it. No one is forcing you too, but please try not to speak for others in your posts. Others find discussing stuff with him engaging and I find his posts far more interesting than a lot of the tripe posted.
Are you still going on about beggers on that site, and acting like a bunch of British army groupies, ahh you boys are well up to scratch, strange how so many people in that so called country of yours wouldn't phiss on you if you were on fire never mind support you or indeed in Gibsons case play for you. Don't worry about what songs we will be singing in the Czech Republic, I just hope our we don't have a little problem with some of the players and coaching team like what happened to some two bit pub team when they went there to play the Czech Republic a few years ago.
If your going to come over from ourweeminds at least bring maddog over with yer, I enjoyed watching him getting torn to bits.
Go on bring him on for the craic.
Last edited by sylvo; 26/08/2007 at 10:27 PM.
Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.
Forgot completely about that story.Trouble is, compared to some of the sh*te over the years (Neil Lennon, Neil Lennon, and er , Neil Lennon) that was a good news day.
As for Maddog, although being a bit on the simple side, still has enough gumption not to come here for a cyber rumble. Wonder if Army Groupie might stay. I hear the sewer's back working so you might have to wait another 3 1/2 years till he once more emerges, as Tuff says, from an teach mor.![]()
This is not an open and shut case. It is debated at length over on www.ourweecountry.co.uk and is up at 86 pages.
There are 2 relevant articles.
Article 15 of the FIFA Statutes is below. this would indicate that anybody born in NI is eligible to play for the RoI as they are entitled to an Irish passport and Irish nationality.
This was first produced in 2004 in reponse to Qatar doling out passports to Brazilians.
These were amended in 2006 but Article 15 hasn't changed significantly if at all.
Now in 2005 FIFA issued an annex clarifying the statutes. Page 29 Annex 2 lists the criteria for players whose nationality allows them to represent more than one association.
If you read the annex then Darron Gibson does not qualify nor do any NI born players with parents and grandparents born outside the RoI unless they have lived in the RoI for 2 years.
As I see it there are a number of arguments here
1) Darron Gibson can claim his nationality is Irish and only Irish despite being born in the UK it does not mean that you have to take British nationality just that you have a right to it.
2) There is an argument that Irish nationality qualifies you for NI as per Dermot Aherne's intervention on the passport issue. then DG is ineligible under the Annex
3) The Annex was issued in 2005 to clarify 2004 statutes. These were amended in 2006 but I'm not aware of a subsequent Annex so the current one probably doesn't apply (legal argument here).
Ultimately FIFA must rule. This has dragged on for well over 18 months. It is anything but clear cut.
It is highly political. I actually believe FIFA are trying to avoid a ruling.
Statute for eligibility :
VII. ELIGIBILITY TO PLAY FOR ASSOCIATION TEAMS
Article 15 Principle
Any person holding the nationality of a country is eligible to play for
the representative teams of the Association of that country. The
Executive Committee shall decide on the conditions of eligibility
for any Player who has not played international football in accordance with par. 2 below, and either acquires a new nationality or is
eligible to play for the teams of more than one Association due to
his nationality.
With the exception of the conditions specified in par. 3 and 4 below,
any Player who has already represented one Association in a match
(either in full or in part) in an official competition of any category or
any type of football may not play an international match for a representative team of another Association.
If a Player has more than one nationality, or if a Player acquires a new
nationality, or if a Player is eligible to play for several Associations’
teams due to nationality, he may, up to his 21st birthday, request
to change the Association for which he is eligible to play international matches to the Association of another country of which he
holds nationality, subject to the following conditions:
a) He has not played a match (either in full or in part) at “A” international level for his current Association, and if at the time of his
first full or partial appearance in an international match in an
official competition for his current Association, he already had
the nationality of the Association’s team for which he wishes to
play.
He is not permitted to play for his new Association in any competition in which he has already played for his previous Association. A player may exercise this right only once.
4 If a Player who has been fielded by his Association in an international match in accordance with par. 2 above permanently loses the
nationality of that country without his consent or against his will due
to a decision by a government authority, he may request permission to play for another Association whose nationality he already has
or has acquired.
Any Player who has the right to change Associations in accordance
with par. 3 and 4 above shall submit a written, substantiated request
to the FIFA general secretariat. The Players’ Status Committee shall
decide on the request. The procedure will be in accordance with the
Rules Governing the Procedures of the Players’ Status Committee
and the Dispute Resolution Chamber. Once the player has filed his
request, he is not eligible to play for any Association team until his
request has been processed.
ANNEX 2
ELIGIBILITY TO PLAY FOR ASSOCIATION TEAMS FOR PLAYERS WHOSE
NATIONALITY ENTITLES THEM TO REPRESENT MORE THAN ONE ASSOCIATION
Article 1 Conditions
1. A player who, under the terms of Art. 15 of the Regulations Governing
the Application of the FIFA Statutes, is eligible to represent more
than one Association on account of his nationality, may play in an
international match for one of these Associations only if, in addition to
having the relevant nationality, he fulfil s at least one of the following
conditions:
a) he was born on the territory of the relevant Association;
b ) his biological mother or biological father was born on the territory
of the relevant Association;
c) his grandmother or grandfather was born on the territory of the
relevant Association;
d) he has lived on the territory of the relevant Association for at least
two years without interruption.
2. Notwithstanding par. 1 of this article, Associations sharing a common
nationality may make an agreement under which item d) of par. 1 of
this article is deleted completely or amended to specify a longer time
limit. Such agreements must be lodged with and approved by FIFA.
GSpain, the discussion has moved on
As has been repeated quite a few times in this thread since it was first mentioned, the famous Annex 2 applies to Naturalization issues only.
http://www.fifa.com/aboutfifa/federa...sid=92699.html
There is nothing furthur that FIFA have to add to their letter to the IFA in OCT 2006
Naturalisation is a different matter than having the right to citizenship from birth. The former is open to abuse from many countries, not just Qatar. Britain with Zola Budd, Germany with numerous athletes with as much connection to the country as the children of gastarbeiter that were continually denied citizesnship. Ireland too, but that was with Cat food factory owners.
I would argue that NI are breaking the principles of the agreement against naturalisation by going to England and picking up players with no connection with NI - principally this is no different than Qatar.
If they got a special dispensation in their favour, then we'll have one in ours for Gibson et al. That's what the eejits on ourweeminds.co.uk need to decide. They can't have their cake and eat it. Half decent professionals like Maik Taylor who make a difference, or someone who doesn't want to play for them and probably never will. Who's it to be? Because Taylor has never 'lived on the territory of the [IFA] for at least two years without interruption'. If FIFA decide against Gibson, I for one hope the FAI, and indeed lawyers acting for Gibson, do their utmost to have Taylor ruled ineligible too. It's the least the little spiteful f*ckers on ourweeminds deserve.
Either let's talk about proper citizenship law which is non-discriminatory (just as Darren Gibson is entitled to Irish citizenship at birth so too is the loyalist road sweeper from the Waterside), or talk 'footballing juristdiction' which means Maik Taylor's NI career should be ended because he is as clearly a mercenary as the Qatar Brazilians