Page 17 of 56 FirstFirst ... 7151617181927 ... LastLast

Thread: NI boss targets Republic's Gibson

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    You are manufacturing a hypothetical situation of complications and interpretations ignoring how the statutes are applied in arbitrating declaration issues all over the world by FIFA.
    A national born in another territory of course is entitled to another citizenship. There are plenty of examples of that. That is obvious here but not pertinent and actually irrelevant in his declaration for Ireland.
    What matters to FIFA, first and formost, is that he has an automatic right to Irish citizenship no matter what part of the Island he is born.

I am impressed by how much FIFA go out of their way to protect the civil rights of a young footballer.
    I haven't manufactured anything. FIFA haven't ruled on the issue and it is still under consideration for over 18 months.

DG has a right to Irish citizenship. That is not in dispute. It is open to interpretation whether or not he qualifies to play for the RoI football team. I think he does but it is not cut and dried.

Maik Taylor would not qualify for NI now but the rules are not applied retrospectively. He did qualify when he was first picked.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    That was me that was.
    Your right I apologise but you see my point?!

57 Posts
    Only one change is allowed before age of 21. Darron was already tied before he received a senior cap.
    IF FIFA rule that he is ineligible for us then he will be allowed play for NI. He has however stated it is us or nobody.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by livehead1 View Post
    Your right I apologise but you see my point?!
    No need for apologies I abuse everyone on the site.

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    No need for apologies I abuse everyone on the site.
    thats about all you do!!

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    ...Maik Taylor would not qualify for NI now but the rules are not applied retrospectively. He did qualify when he was first picked.
    Why wouldn't he qualify now? He's a naturalised British citizen. He can pick any of the four British teams provided he hadn't played for someone else in a full international. Don't the four British teams have an exemption?
    Quote Originally Posted by co. down green View Post
    ...The issue is not really about Darron Gibson to be honest, as the IFA are fully aware of his right to represent Ireland, its about the future and trying to change the rules to stop young Irish players from the North of Ireland representing Ireland at international level...
    Their player options are probably double to what they admit too. There are more naturalised British citizens in Britain than there are people in the whole of O6C. That's where they can pick their players from in the unlikely situation of all nationalists, and the odd rotten prod, 'defecting' to Mexico.

And don't give me this 'we want our own players from our own wee country [sic.]'. The IFA have had no problem picking naturalised Britons for years, which sort of damages the poor, victimised IFA picture they are currently portraying. As does the previous booing of these players they claim to love and not want to let go. Won't mention the death threat as that was, according to some on ourweeminds, Uncle Gerry and Martin with a 20p piece, who made that call.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    I haven't manufactured anything. FIFA haven't ruled on the issue and it is still under consideration for over 18 months.
    By FIFA's Legal standards this is a ruling. Why do think they are still considering it? In particular reference to the present situation, Oct 2006.
    "letter from Heinz Tannler, Director of FIFA's Legal Division, and Corina Luck, Head of their General Legal department stated 'the existing situation in Northern Ireland allows players to choose whether they wish to represent Northern Ireland or the Republic of Ireland'."

DG has a right to Irish citizenship. That is not in dispute. It is open to interpretation whether or not he qualifies to play for the RoI football team. I think he does but it is not cut and dried.
    Only by the IFA interpretation, not by FIFA Legal dept. as evident in the letter from Oct 2006 and as evident by the consistent FIFA arbitrations over the years

Maik Taylor would not qualify for NI now but the rules are not applied retrospectively. He did qualify when he was first picked.
    I don't know Maik Taylor's status.
    Darron is ruled eligible now. No matter what FIFA may change in the future he will remain eligible. And he would not be allowed to change even if he wanted to.

26 Posts
    Darron is ruled eligible now. No matter what FIFA may change in the future he will remain eligible. And he would not be allowed to change even if he wanted to.
    Which, to the devastation of many Northern Ireland 'fans', he has no intention of doing!

Why can’t they just leave it? Even if they are successful in proving Gibson should not be playing for us, all that will come out of it is a young 19 year olds dream of playing for the country he always dreamed of will be shattered. He has made it clear he does not want to play for the North so that should be the end of it.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by FarBeag View Post
    Why can’t they just leave it? Even if they are successful in proving Gibson should not be playing for us, all that will come out of it is a young 19 year olds dream of playing for the country he always dreamed of will be shattered. He has made it clear he does not want to play for the North so that should be the end of it.
    In their defence, they are also looking at the wider issue. There are a number of young players born in the North who have chosen to play for us. Of course, this is irritating those north of the border and they would like FIFA to rule that this is not a legal move. This is what is being debated, however badly I believe it has been debated. Mainly down to the fact that I don't see where the debate arises from, he has an Irish passport, therefore he can play for Ireland!

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lopez View Post
    Why wouldn't he [i.e Maik Taylor] qualify now? He's a naturalised British citizen. He can pick any of the four British teams provided he hadn't played for someone else in a full international. Don't the four British teams have an exemption?

Their [i.e. NI's] player options are probably double to what they admit too. There are more naturalised British citizens in Britain than there are people in the whole of O6C. That's where they can pick their players from in the unlikely situation of all nationalists, and the odd rotten prod, 'defecting' to Mexico.

And don't give me this 'we want our own players from our own wee country [sic.]'. The IFA have had no problem picking naturalised Britons for years:
    You are quite correct that Maik Taylor would still qualify, since the specific Exemption to which you refer in FIFA's Regs is still in place.

However, you greatly overstate the actual availability of naturalised Britons who would both play for NI and whom we would also have. The vast majority live in Great Britain, so would inevitably opt first for England, Scotland or Wales who between them offer a wide range of standards. Which explains why in the last 30 years, there have been only two that I can think of whom NI have picked that way, (both keepers, as it happens).
    The first was Trevor Woods who gained a solitary cap as a second half substitute in a game vs Liechtenstein in 1995. Being Jersey-born, had he not been eligible for a British Association, he would not have been eligible for any international team, which is hardly fair imo. (It was the same with Matt Le Tissier, even if England never knew how to use his talent properly!)

The second was Taylor. Although born in Germany (father was in the forces), afaik he was brought up in South Africa, at a time when it was not a member of FIFA, so international football was not an option available to him. And by the time SA was readmitted (1992), Taylor had moved to England, where he was starting his playing career with Farnborough Town.
    Further, it is 8 years since he made his debut for NI; since then, no Naturalized Briton has played for NI under the UK Passport exception, nor even been seriously considered (to my knowledge). Indeed, both Sanchez and the IFA publicly took a hard line on not picking players with some NI connection when the subject was raised a couple of years back.

Anyhow, whilst interesting in its own right, this deviation towards discussing the cases of Taylor and Woods has no real relevance to the Gibson case, since both are specifically covered by a FIFA exemption in a way which Gibson is not (whether he is eligible for the ROI by another means or otherwise)

26 Posts
    Lee Trundle turned down Lawrie Sanchez IIRC.

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by FarBeag View Post
    As the IFA have consistently pointed out, this is nothing personal against Gibson. If he doesn't want to play for NI there is no way we could or would force him (even if he seemed happy enough to play for us as a youth).

However, there may well be other players who aren't actually bothered either way i.e. they just wish to play football, without regard to political considerations, and will pick the most attractive options open to them.

As such the IFA risks a significant dilution of an already small player pool, which in itself would be bad enough. But invariably the players concerned were first discovered and nurtured by the IFA, inc. Gibson, whose professed lifelong affinity to the ROI only is perhaps questionable, considering he has disclosed that a falling out with an IFA coach over being allowed leave from the NI team he was playing for (to attend a trial at MU) was partly behind his switching.

Further, all the Northern players who have been selected, plus those who have been approached but declined, are from the Nationalist community, so that the NI team risks being turned into a de facto Unionist-only team, through no fault of its own and completely contrary to its wishes.

And, of course, we are only facing this situation now because the FAI, under Brian Kerr, unilaterally broke a Gentleman's Agreement, brokered by FIFA in 1950(?), whereby the FAI agreed not to select Northern players and the IFA not to select Southern players (which both had been doing). which again would be bad enough, were it not for the fact that with the Agreement broken, the flow of players is only ever going to be one way, to the disadvantage of only one party (and not the one which broke the Agreement, either).

Or put it another way: how would ROI fans feel if the UK and Irish Government came to some sort of agreement, for purely political (i.e. non-footballing) reasons, which suddenly meant that all ROI citizens were suddenly eligible for a UK Passport, so that a section of your player pool now had the option of representing England? It would not ever be likely to be many players in practice, but even if it was only a few who were attracted by the huge extra money, prestige etc associated with playing for England, that would be significantly to the detriment of your team, especially since it would likely be the better players.
    There would be a serious outcry in the Republic, of that I'm certain.

284 Posts
    Which, to the devastation of many Northern Ireland 'fans', he has no intention of doing!
    I don't know any NI fans who would be "devastated". And even the MU fans would be considerably more upset if for some reason we lost Jonny Evans (or even young Craig Cathcart).

From what I can gather, the reaction has ranged all the way from disappointment Gibson's not available, through not being bothered about him if the player himself is not bothered about us, to a minority(?) who resent him for choosing as he has done.

For myself, whilst I find it disappointing that his preference is for another team, I am in no position to wish him ill; indeed, if it should turn out that FIFA finally considers he should be eligible, then I wish him good luck in his career.
    Equally, should FIFA decide he is not eligible, then I would be quite prepared to welcome him back for consideration for NI (even if it is v.unlikely he would avail of that option)

131 Posts
    18 pages down lads only another 70 to go on this topic and we have outdone OWC.

he has an Irish passport, therefore he can play for Ireland!
    Except that in FIFA's 3 main criteria on eligibility, holding a passport is not mentioned once.

When it comes down to it, FIFA will judge based not on bi-lateral political settlements to which they are not signatories, but to protect the interests of their member associations. Losing the dubious ability to select players outside of the FAI's jurisdiction will do no harm to their credibility long term, losing the ability to select from all sections of the community in NI would do untold damage to the IFA.

Depending on the amount of bile this post attracts, this is probably my first & last on this board/thread.

You are not on OWC now, you are welcome, and thats a fair post. we wont come on saying something like "grow a pair of balls will ye" or use such a terms as "northern prod" etc, as i noticed to me at least a term of the same emotional effect was used to describe a poster on your site from ROI.

EG, in fairness your second last post was a very fair post and for once I couldn't sense any hidden subtext of bitterness. On that fair play.

Why on earth would your post attract any amount of bile? Or, as I've seen one poster on the OWC's mirror thread, have you come here to feel oppressed?

The holder of an Irish passport is a de facto Irish national, citizenship is the means by which FIFA test eligibility, QED. We don't hand out passports/citizenship willy-nilly [anymore], you know.

Quote Originally Posted by eelmonster View Post
    Why on earth would your post attract any amount of bile? Or, as I've seen one poster on the OWC's mirror thread, have you come here to feel oppressed?
    I'm glad you read us It's just a few of the posts I've read on this thread aren't exactly on topic.

The holder of an Irish passport is a de facto Irish national, citizenship is the means by which FIFA test eligibility, QED.
    FIFA test eligibility based on whether the player -
    1) Born in the country
    2) Lives in the country for a period of at least 2 years
    3) parents/grandparents born in country.
    The extra-territorial decree by the Republic on what it thinks an Irish citizen would appear to be irrelevant to the above straightforward rules. As I said there is a lot for OWC to lose in all of this, less so for the FAI.

ps O'Shea don't confuse passion for hatred!!!!
    Since 1880

Fhtb what are your own views on this matter?

I believe you are one of those unique individuals who were born and bred in the south yet support NI so I think we would find your opinion illuminating on this subject?

Page 17 of 56 FirstFirst ... 7151617181927 ... LastLast