Page 28 of 44 FirstFirst ... 18262728293038 ... LastLast

Thread: Celtic Discussion

Exclamation ...........................................

Originally posted by Bosco
    who have never been at a real soccer match
    I dont even have a problem with that.

What gets me is out of the remaining nine, 7-8 couldn't give a toss about going ever.

And nearly all nine will go out of their way to knock the LOI, having never been to a game.

I actually probably wouldn't have a problem with the one that is over there, it is most of the remaining nine give them all a bad name. Most have a clue what they are on about.

I say TAR the mothers with the one brush and be done with it .... let 'em burn i tells ya .... BURN ....

I am not a Celtic fan but I was at Parkhead not so long ago for a league match against Partick Thistle. It was a few days after the match against Bayern Munich. The match was v poor - the only excitement being that Thistle went ahead.
    The "famous" Celtic crowd that supports their team through everything could barely be heard. Most of them were leaving 20 minutes before the end of the match because it was raining.
    Like every team many of Celtic's thousands of fans are glory chasers and nothing anyone will say will change that.

having been to parkhead a lot a have seen these kind of matches.
    post european hang over. Thats all. Celtic havent lost in the league at home under Martin O Neill in three years except once against Dundee. You will understand given the timing of the game the lack of atmosphere especially seeing as most teams dont even make the effort to attack. Parkhead has been voted the best atmosphere in "Britain" according to the examiner. I have seen it at first hand and its unreal.

RebelBhoy, I think you're wasting your time trying to engage in a debate about Celtic and our fans with some of these posters hereabouts. A good example is provided by "a face" and his/her view that we Celtic fans should all be tarred with the same brush and burned or whatever. I once tried to discuss the point with him/her and got nowhere. Never mind.

That said, I do have sympathy with Niamh's point; however, football is competing with other offerings in the entertainment business, and success coupled with a quality product breeds demand. If that pulls in "glory hunters", then so be it. I wouldn't however say that this phenomenon accounts for the "many" Celtic supporters who attended the Partick game (I'll not speak for the members of Couch Potato CSC), as the vast majority of those supporters who are old enough followed the club right through the lean years of the 1990s and paid good money for the privilege. Myself included.

PP
    Last edited by Plastic Paddy; 07/01/2004 at 4:53 PM.
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Originally posted by Plastic Paddy
    RebelBhoy, I think you're wasting your time trying to engage in a debate about Celtic and our fans with some of these posters hereabouts.
    You're right there. It just annoys me when i see people and kids wearing Celtic shirts, living nearly a thousnad miles from the place and having no chance of going to a game. What's the point. And they call themselves Celtic 'fans'. I have no problem with real fans, none at all, as most of these real fans also support their locals LOI team. Fair play.But, if evey 'fan' bought an El team jersey, hoe much stronger would he league be getting. They may even go a match...

I know the point you're making, and I have some sympathy. Just out of interest, do you and others hereabouts feel the same way about those in Ireland who follow Premiership clubs?

PP

EVERY team has glory hunters-absolutley EVERY team!
    Burn the Celtic fans ey? You'll be pretty lonley in Cork then
    I support Rebelbohy here!
    As for wearign shirts when you can't see a match being glory hunters-does this include people who are too poor to afford tickets but still were the shirt they saved up for 6 months to buy because they love their team?

Just out of interest, do you and others hereabouts feel the same way about those in Ireland who follow Premiership clubs?
    Yeah,well i do anyway.Its prob worse seeing people walking around in premiership jerseys because it usually means that they are obsessed with the club where as alot of people wearing celtic jerseys in ireland only wear it because of the irish link and don't really care to much about the club
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Originally posted by niamh

Like every team many of Celtic's thousands of fans are glory chasers and nothing anyone will say will change that.
    isnt that a bit harsh when there wasnt any glory for a very long period when rangers dominated the scottish game

The Doldrums of 2nd place eh?

Irish link? What Irish link?

Follow a foreign team all you want, support a team who you can actually really SUPPORT ie go to their games weekly, without fail, be it a top of the table clash or a cup tie against some pub team.

Feck this im off to bed!
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Originally posted by Conor74
    That's football mania for you. It does funny, inexplicable things.
    Ain't that the truth? I think even my bank manager has started looking out for Celtic results now... trips to Europe and all that need financing somehow! As far as he was concerned, Seville = nice loan for PP.

PP - Overdraft CSC

grand job gary, no hassle with your point of view. But just to let ya no Im always at the cross and go to parkhead whenever possible. I dont regard Celtic as a completely foreign club. I think its an identity. Founded by Irish for poor Irish Catholics in the eastend of Glasgow(who are still there) and fly the tricolur over earth they imported from Donegal. Incidentally the tricolour was presented to the club by De Valera when the old one became tattered and nobody in Scotland would make one for the club at the time out of anti Irishness.

The club has around 6-7,000 Irish based season ticket holders(unfortunately I have to make do with the waiting least), add to that a two or three more thousand who travel over on a single ticket, and add to that the irish ex-pats from England and Wales. Then the rest (well nearly) is made up of second and third genereation Irish from Parkhead, Gallowgate, Easterhouse, Coatbridge and East Kilbride (Obviously other areas of west scotland too though) who see Celtic as a way of expressing their Irishness. Im behind them all the way.

I have followed Celtic through the Ninetys which is basically all my life(cant remember being six like!). All through the bankrupcy time and all that, and getting beaten in nearly every old firm. This does not make me less of a city man, just a Celt(or tim) as well. See ya in de shed!

Originally posted by Conor74
    However I salute those like Pastic Paddy who really do support the team, who go to games, but have no time for the 99% in this country who watch the games on RTE and tie it in with some with some quasi republican mythology crap and somehow end up with the idea that they are expressing their nationalism through a British club
    I would be inclined to agree with you here Conor

But

[COLOR=crimson][SIZE=10]I'd rather see them all burn !![/SIZE] [/COLOR]

Click here !!

Some of my mates head over now and then.I presume they see it as an outlet to express they're irishness but when I ask if they'll come with us on the next national team away trip they've no interest.
    Surely you can't get more irish than the Ireland team,I dunno!Maybe it's mindless republicanism there after and not irishness? No problem with republicans and would prob consider me one mesmelf but it is the mindless 'the word according to the Wolfetones/Eire Og/Sibeen/Old Brigade etc etc' type which quite p*sses me off and you get too much of that among irish Celtic fans.Think you should actually know why you support the cause,anyway I digress.
    <insert witty remark>

'Twould take a bloody big fire to burn all us Celtic fans, but probably only a box of Cara and a gallon of red diesel for yous down at the Cross, hey?

PP

'Twould take a bloody big fire to burn all us Celtic fans, but probably only a box of Cara and a gallon of red diesel for yous down at the Cross, hey?

PP
    Yeah .... but i am only a stones throw from the cross.

How far would half of you lot have to travel to even get a smell of the singe ??

And PP ..... did i mention that Sell-Thick are British !!

And that will never ever change !!

Originally posted by thecorner
    isnt that a bit harsh when there wasnt any glory for a very long period when rangers dominated the scottish game
    Do you think they would fill Parkhead regularly if Rangers were trashing them in the league? No they wouldn't. At the time Celtic were points ahead in the league and the ground wasn't even full. United even when they are points ahead will fill Old Trafford.

The one thing I will say though is that I know the odd Irish Celtic fan who have season tickets and went to all the European games last season. There are some genuine ones out there and the rest of the glory hunters must really ****ed them off!!
    Last edited by niamh; 10/01/2004 at 1:21 PM.

Thread mereged with "Quote of the day"

try and keep Celtic related threads here please.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Originally posted by RebelBhoy

Then the rest (well nearly) is made up of second and third genereation Irish from Parkhead, Gallowgate, Easterhouse, Coatbridge and East Kilbride (Obviously other areas of west scotland too though) who see Celtic as a way of expressing their Irishness. Im behind them all the way.
    I know loads of Celtic fans both from Catholic and Protestant descent from other parts of Scotland who have little modern day Irish descent. More like 4 generations ago for most of them and you could probably say that about half of Scotland. These people are Scots - not as you would describe them as 3rd or fourth generation Irish - most of them have probably never been to Ireland save a visit to donegal. The flying of the Tricolour and the singing of the Fields of Athenry doesn't make someone Irish.

There are loads of reasons why that happens - some due to the Irish origins of Celtic but some due to west of Scotland sectarianism - ths is a Scottish problem that bizarrely reflects an Irish problem - but it's Scottish nonetheless. Indeed this mass flying of the tricolour etc and the flipside at Ibrox has really taken off in the last 20-30 years at parkheid and probably reflects the northern Ireland situation - that's all.

Interestingly, enough on the flags at celtic park issue I know a few folk who have wanted to take the saltire to parkhead and have done so only to be sometimes given stick - usually from types telling them this doesn't belong here at Celtic park probably cos it's blue and Scotland is of course a hun, brit country anti-catholic etc - keep up the paranoia.........and keep voting north-brit labour bhoys!!!

Do these types steadfastly refuse to swim in the sea or look at the sky cos it's blue? It's blue-aaaaarggh!!!!!!!!

Jam,

Haven't met before, so hello! As someone who has been critical of certain sections of Parkhead, was heartened to see a four part flag of the flags of Scotland (saltire), Ireland, Spain and the Celtic green and white flag at the last Old firm while watching the game on the box. I think times are changing, particularly as it was traditional to have the Ikurina, which is ironic considering the only Basque to play in an old firm (I may be wrong) wore a blue shirt.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Page 28 of 44 FirstFirst ... 18262728293038 ... LastLast