Page 43 of 44 FirstFirst ... 3341424344 LastLast

Thread: Celtic Discussion

Quote Originally Posted by Pat O' Banton
    Not really you are judging the club without taking into account their background. So for example would you say that London Irish, are simply representing Ingerland when they play in Europe? Is there no reason for Irish people to support them from an Irish perspective? To parapharse from another thread are we saying that people, football clubs or a miriad if other institutions exist in isolation without a history or an identity and does this history and identity not shape the person or institution? Or are you saying that as soon as people leave Ireland and set up institutions to represent or look after Irish people they still have no right to claim any sort of Irish identity?

London Irish rugby club's fans also sing the Irish national anthem as well as getting stuck into a right ould chucky-oke in stadiums abroad, which seems to be a problem for some on here Pat when its done by fans of a certain football club.

Even been to London Irish games where the team has run on to the pitch to the tune of ''Sean South of Garryown'' and ''the Boys of the old brigade''.
    (Those flipping bigoted rich city working, stockbroker belt living, building company owning, golf playing, tory voting Republicans)
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Yeah,met a Grand Master of the Or*nge Lodge,playing for their OB's team in Budapest in '97?Wasn't a happy bunny,esp.after we took a picture with a huge tricolour behind him.......
    I can honestly say that after a diet of WT concerts at the National and one drunken night trying to tip over mister Metropoleeetan poleeesman's metro at the Galty, this sort of Irishman was a bit of a shock to the system.
    Quote Originally Posted by sylvo
    London Irish rugby club's fans also sing the Irish national anthem as well as getting stuck into a right ould chucky-oke in stadiums abroad, which seems to be a problem for some on here Pat when its done by fans of a certain football club.

Even been to London Irish games where the team has run on to the pitch to the tune of ''Sean South of Garryown'' and ''the Boys of the old brigade''.
    (Those flipping bigoted rich city working, stockbroker belt living, building company owning, golf playing, tory voting Republicans)
    The Powergen Cup final was a classic example of this disgusting behaviour. Loads of English people and 'barstoolers' waving tricolours. Why? I didn't see one Butchers' apron, sorry, Union Jack or SGF with 'London Irish' on it.There were even some coming over from Ireland. Don't they know this sort of thing is killing the local game. Lots of 'Fields' aswell. What's the matter lads. Don't you know that's a Provo song?
    Last edited by lopez; 12/01/2005 at 6:14 PM.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by SAINTS4EVER
    Don't know who your friends are, but they're VERY wrong. I've been season ticket holder at easter road for past 5 years. These songs are NOT sang at Hibs matches. So stop coming on here with your bull sh*t

Wasnt there a campaign last season to ban all national and regional flags at Easter Road (meaning Irish flags but it would have been considered racist to say so publically) because tricolours were being waved by a section of the Hibs fans when the were playing the Mini Huns who were bringing Red Hand and Union flags to the derby games.

For all the 'wannabe H*ns' who come on.....try here
    Good craic that site-specially the phycobable.....will see me on there as liam_1916 though haven't posted for a while......
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    Signed a couple of young Icelandic lads to who should make first team appearances by the end of the season looking good......

Dav re. oldfirmfans.com try looging on during a certain summer month....very rare to find talk of football among the 'banter'
    Are a few twisted sicko's on there specially since they took away the 'no Sunday jokes' rule.....still good to see the eejit who asked if he could make fun of the Ibrox disaster get shouted down by both sides;
    right back to geography work.........
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    Signed a couple of young Icelandic lads to who should make first team appearances by the end of the season looking good.....
    Given that a couple of young Icelandic lads probably aren't that great really I'd dispute that point Liam. Sure, they could turn out to be the next Pele and Maradona but I'd be sceptical and to be honest if this pair are on course for a fast track to the first team then it says more about the dearth of real talent in the current Celtic squad than anything else.

Personally I've lost interest in Celtic in the last year or 18 months because the majority (not all I stress) of their Irish support are muppets of the highest order. In fact they turned me off the club so much that I now watch out for Dundee United instead! I mean, I just can't affiliate myself with these people who so slavishly believe the notion that passionate support of a Scottish club (and again I know they were established to help Scottish-based Irish) is an expression of Irishness. And while I come from quite a republican background and would still have sympathies in that direction I find the sectarion bile a bit off-putting too.

I've met some great Irish Celtic fans. Seriously top class people. But I would honestly say that the average Irish Celtic fan talks more crap than the average Irish Arsenal fan. Or Liverpool fan. Man Yoo fans are a whole other story!
    Last edited by sadloserkid; 21/01/2005 at 1:31 PM. Reason: spelling error

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    Signed a couple of young Icelandic lads to who should make first team appearances by the end of the season looking good......

Dav re. oldfirmfans.com try looging on during a certain summer month....very rare to find talk of football among the 'banter'
    Are a few twisted sicko's on there specially since they took away the 'no Sunday jokes' rule.....still good to see the eejit who asked if he could make fun of the Ibrox disaster get shouted down by both sides;
    right back to geography work.........
    Got this from the huddleboard.com

The two of them are pencilled in to play against Kilmarnock for the Youth team at the weekend. The match is kicking off at half past 10 in the morning at Barrowfield if anyone fancies going up to Celtic Park early and catching this match and a couple of hours in the pub before the first team game

Plenty of other lads ahead of them that might get a look in towards the end of the season depending on how the title chase is progressing. Rocco Quinn, Maloney & Beattie (if they are back), Ross Wallace etc....

http://69.93.29.242/hb/showthread.php?t=64568

some clips of them within the above thread for those interested.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

It seems Bjarnason was only signed to keep Finnbogason company. They both look a bit old fashioned.
    Attached Images Attached Images

2,796 Posts
    Anyone remember Johannes Evaldson, an Icelandic Celt, from the 70s? In fact, I think there might have been two Icelandics there at the time.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
    Anyone remember Johannes Evaldson, an Icelandic Celt, from the 70s? In fact, I think there might have been two Icelandics there at the time.
    Wasn't born till 88 (aye I'm not a fascist) so that'd be a no
    However I am looking foward to these two lads making their debut though from what I've heard they haven't played since September and htat was only part time so they have a lot of fitness training to be getting on with!

Now to get this thread up to 1000 posts..........who are Celtic's best back four?

The two Icelandic lads would have played for the U-19's on Saturday but the game was prosponed due to a frozen pitch.

Might have a new signing:

Taken from Cybertims website.

Marcin Burkhardt from Amica Wronki is on the verge of signing for Celtic, he hopes to be in Glasgow this week for his medical.
    Amica have already gave permission for Midfielder Burkhardt to join the Hoops and hope to tie up the deal shortly.

Burkhardt is best known for scoring against England in the U21 game back in Sept 2004.

Stay on Cybertims for more details.

MC/AMC, 21 years old, 9 international caps, 1 international goal, 6 ft 1, 66 league games for Amica, 6 goals.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    Might have a new signing:

Taken from Cybertims website.

Marcin Burkhardt from Amica Wronki is on the verge of signing for Celtic, he hopes to be in Glasgow this week for his medical.
    Amica have already gave permission for Midfielder Burkhardt to join the Hoops and hope to tie up the deal shortly.

Burkhardt is best known for scoring against England in the U21 game back in Sept 2004.

Stay on Cybertims for more details.

MC/AMC, 21 years old, 9 international caps, 1 international goal, 6 ft 1, 66 league games for Amica, 6 goals.
    Sounds good! Will like to see him in the hoops

I think Cybertims got it a little wrong, I translated a paragraph on a Polish site and it looks like its just another trial.

Henchoz's agent says Celtic have tabled an offer. MON was at the Hearts match last night to Hartley, who scored his 13th goal of the season.

52 Posts
    Ahh, such nice lads:

Celtic fans have reacted furiously to an invitation to former striker Maurice Johnston who defected to bitter rivals Rangers in 1989 to play in a charity match later this month.
    1989? Isnt it time to 'let it go'?

http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/news?slu...ters&type=lgns.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

Quote Originally Posted by Metrostars
    Ahh, such nice lads:
    1989? Isnt it time to 'let it go'?
    I don't know if people ever will. It was a very strange time indeed, people wandering about stunned (I'm not exaggerating) grown men of both persuasions crying in public and supporters of 'diddy teams' (like me) smugly saying "about time too..."
    I wonder just how big the bhoycott will be?
    don't worry, they couldn't hit an elephant at this dis......

Don't agree with any 'boycott'.......instead of confirming your own 'prejudices',why not ask the question here or here? You might get a more realistic answer?
    That second link isn't very enlightening. Is it part of some anti-Celtic conspiracy or something? That's it! The USAF hate you as well and are trying to write you out of exsitance. That has to be the simplest solution so it must be true!
    don't worry, they couldn't hit an elephant at this dis......

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Smith
    That second link isn't very enlightening. Is it part of some anti-Celtic conspiracy or something? That's it! The USAF hate you as well and are trying to write you out of exsitance. That has to be the simplest solution so it must be true!
    First one isn't much better. Love the thread about Robert McCartney (he didn't keep nice company, you know; there's no police force here; it doesn't mean he deserved to die). No doubt the same people giving out about summary executions in Palestine and Euskadi.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

This doesn't look favourably on the Supporters Association, a bit sad I think and maybe time to move on.

I can't say I hate the guy myself but I can understand why the (Scottish) Celtic fans do. You couldn't get a bigger kick in the teeth and it was a humiliating experiance for the club and the supporters at the time.

Still it was a long time ago and seeing as this is for charity I would have thought it wouldn't be a problem.....obviously underestimated how much hatred there still is for him from the fans.

Page 43 of 44 FirstFirst ... 3341424344 LastLast